Tax Alert - CPTPP Offers Canadian Companies Opportunity to Lower Duty Costs and Expand Globally

November 08, 2018

Tax_Alert_07Nov18_Website_Ratification-of-CPTPP_LandingPage_679x220.png

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP), a new free trade agreement between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam, will be one of the largest of its kind in the world. The CPTPP will provide enhanced access to key Asian markets.

At the end of October 2018, Canada and Australia became the fifth and sixth countries, respectively, to ratify the CPTPP, joining Japan, Mexico, New Zealand and Singapore, who ratified the agreement earlier this year. Canada is now the only G7 country to have a free trade agreement with all of its G7 partners. For Canadian companies who import goods from these countries or want to export and expand on the global market, this is exciting news.

Now that the six partner countries meet the predetermined threshold, the CPTPP will provisionally go into effect on December 30, 2018 for these countries. It is expected that five remaining countries — Brunei, Chile, Malaysia, Peru, and Vietnam will ratify the agreement in their individual countries in 2019. Note: A country will be able to participate fully in CPTPP, 60 days after ratification by the country.

You can find more information on the CPTPP and the full text of the agreement here.

Canadian importers and exporters looking to take advantage of this new agreement need to be aware that changes in material sourcing may affect the ability to qualify their goods under other Free Trade Agreements such as the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) or the newly negotiated United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA).

This news should be a call to action for all Canadian importers and exporters to:

  1. Review current and future supply chains for duty cost reduction opportunities
  2. Review current and future sales opportunities in CPTPP party countries
  3. Understand how free trade agreements could potentially impact a change in sourcing

Undoubtedly, the Canadian customs and trade landscape continues to change at a record pace. BDO Customs & International Trade can provide concise answers to questions your company may have about the CPTPP and other Free Trade Agreements.

Please contact a member of our Customs and International Trade practice for assistance.

Brian Morcombe
Partner, Indirect Tax
Charmaine Goddeeris
Senior Manager, Customs & International Trade

Watch this webinar on demand to explore how you can manage the impact of Canadian tariffs on products you bring into Canada.


The information in this publication is current as of November 7, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale - Le PTPGP réduit les frais douaniers et permet aux sociétés canadiennes de prendre de l’essor à l’échelle mondiale

08 novembre 2018

Tax_Alert_07Nov18_Website_Ratification-of-CPTPP_LandingPage_679x220.png

L’Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP), un nouvel accord de libre-échange entre l’Australie, le Brunei, le Canada, le Chili, le Japon, la Malaisie, le Mexique, la Nouvelle-Zélande, le Pérou, Singapour et le Vietnam, sera l’un des plus importants au monde. Le PTPGP élargira l’accès aux principaux marchés de l’Asie.

À la fin d’octobre 2018, le Canada et l’Australie sont devenus les cinquième et sixième pays, respectivement, à ratifier cet accord, emboîtant le pas au Japon, au Mexique, à la Nouvelle-Zélande et à Singapour, qui l’ont fait plus tôt cette année. Le Canada est actuellement le seul pays du G7 à disposer d’un accord de libre-échange avec tous ses partenaires du G7. Il s’agit d’une excellente nouvelle pour les sociétés canadiennes qui importent des biens de ces pays ou qui désirent réaliser des exportations et prendre de l’essor sur le marché mondial.

Maintenant que les six pays membres satisfont au seuil prédéterminé, le PTPGP entrera en vigueur provisoirement le 30 décembre 2018 pour ces pays. Les cinq autres pays (le Brunei, le Chili, la Malaise, le Pérou et le Vietnam) devraient ratifier l’accord dans leur pays respectif en 2019. Remarque : Un pays pourra participer pleinement au PTPGP 60 jours après sa ratification.

Vous trouverez d’autres renseignements sur le PTPGP de même que le texte intégral de l’accord ici.

Les importateurs et exportateurs canadiens qui désirent tirer parti de ce nouvel accord doivent savoir que l’approvisionnement de matériaux peut avoir une incidence sur l’admissibilité de leurs biens à d’autres accords de libre-échange comme l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) ou le nouvel Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada (AEUMC) nouvellement conclu.

Ce nouvel accord devrait être un appel à l’action pour tous les importateurs et exportateurs canadiens à :

  1. analyser les composantes de leurs chaînes d’approvisionnement actuelles et futures pour trouver des possibilités de réduction des coûts;
  2. examiner les occasions de ventes actuelles et futures dans les pays membres du PTPGP;
  3. comprendre l’incidence potentielle des accords de libre-échange sur un changement d’approvisionnement.

À n’en pas douter, le domaine des douanes et du commerce au Canada continue d’évoluer à un rythme effréné. L’équipe de Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international de BDO peut fournir des réponses concises aux questions de votre entreprise sur le PTPGP et sur d’autres accords de libre-échange.

Pour obtenir du soutien, veuillez communiquer avec un membre de nos Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international.

Brian Morcombe
Associé, Services des taxes indirectes
Charmaine Goddeeris
Directrice principale, Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international

Visionnez ce webinaire pour savoir comment gérer l’incidence des droits de douane canadiens sur les produits que vous importez au Canada.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 7 novembre 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.