Tax Alert – What Will Change In The Move From NAFTA To USMCA?

October 05, 2018

NTL_04Oct18_Website_Tax-Alert_USMCA_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On Sept. 30, 2018, Canada agreed to a last-minute deal to replace the existing North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). This new 21st century trade agreement, set for implementation in the year 2020, will bear the name United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA) and will maintain tariff-free access to goods as in the original NAFTA. The USMCA still requires signature by all parties involved and ratification by each country’s government. The finalization of USMCA is expected to take several months.

The newly agreed upon USMCA brings closure to key sticking points between all three parties during the negations such as:

  • Vehicle North American Content Requirements
  • Section 232 U.S. Import Tariffs on Canadian Manufactured Automobiles
  • Canadian Dairy and Agricultural Quotas
  • Chapter 19 Dispute Resolution
  • Sunset Clause
  • Intellectual Property
  • Online Shopping
  • Steel and Aluminum Industries

What has changed? What has remained the same? What does it mean to your business? We explore the impact of the USMCA below.

Vehicle North American Content Requirements

Under the current NAFTA, most vehicles require 62.5% content (materials) from either the U.S., Canada or Mexico to qualify for duty-free entry into one of the other party countries. This content threshold will rise to 75% and must contain at least 70% North American steel and aluminum content under the USMCA. There will also be a new labour content provision that requires 40% to 45% of auto parts manufacturers’ activities be carried out by workers who make US$16 or more per hour. The rise in labour and material content requirements will be phased in over a three- to five-year period.

Potential or anticipated impact:

North American vehicle manufacturers will immediately be reviewing their supply chain to ensure that their suppliers will be able to provide them with materials that will allow them to meet the increased North American material content threshold of 75% so that their vehicles will continue to qualify for duty-free treatment under the USMCA. This is a win for Canada and the U.S., but more of an issue for Mexico.

Section 232 U.S. Import Tariffs on Canadian Manufactured Automobiles

The USMCA secures a commitment from the U.S that they will provide at least a 60-day exemption period on any future tariffs, including those on automobiles, under section 232 of the Trade Expansion Act of 1962. This would allow time for negotiation with the U.S. before any such additional tariffs are entered into force. The U.S. government will allow a quota of vehicles to enter duty free before the additional tariffs are applied if negotiations still result in the application of section 232 tariffs.

Potential or anticipated impact:

The vehicle quotas proposed far exceed any future foreseeable amounts that Canadian vehicle manufacturers are forecasting to export to the U.S. It appears that the threat of a negative impact of additional section 232 tariffs on future imports of Canadian manufactured vehicles is very slight now.

An Overview of the New NAFTA: USMCA

Canadian Dairy and Agricultural Quotas

Under the USMCA, U.S. dairy farmers will gain broader access to the Canadian market without severe tariff penalties. Canada has also agreed that it will limit their dairy exports globally so as not to compete with the U.S. in the global market.

The lesser publicized aspect of the concessions made by the Canadian dairy and agricultural industry under the new USMCA are the ones from the Canadian poultry industry. U.S. egg farmers will be allowed to export an additional 10 million dozen eggs the first year USMCA is implemented. Starting in year two, it will increase by 1% each year for the next 10 years.

Potential or anticipated impact:

More imports of U.S. dairy and eggs into the Canadian market will mean price and volume competition for the Canadian dairy and egg farmers. For Canadian consumers, this could mean they will be paying a lower price at the register for these types of products. Unfortunately, Canadian dairy and egg farmers could see a significant decrease in revenue in the coming years. The federal government plans to compensate dairy farmers, and will work with them in the future to determine how much compensation they will receive.

Chapter 19 Dispute Resolution

The mechanism for NAFTA parties to resolve disputes involving countervailing and anti-dumping will remain the same using binational panels.

Potential or anticipated impact:

None.

Sunset Clause

When the current NAFTA agreement was finalized in 1994, it did not have an expiration date or ‘sunset clause.’ The U.S. had requested that any type of new trilateral agreement expire every five years during the recent NAFTA negotiations. However, it withdrew this request in the final moments of the negotiations. The USMCA will expire in 16 years with a provision that requires review of the deal every six years.

Potential or anticipated impact:

None.

Intellectual property

Canada will extend the patent protection for prescription drugs, specifically biologics like Humira (used to treat Crohn’s disease and arthritis), to 10 years from eight years under the USMCA. This will allow U.S. companies to sell their medications in Canada for an additional two years without fear that Canadian companies can manufacture and distribute cheaper generic versions.

Potential or anticipated impact:

Drug costs will rise for Canadian patients, drug plans, and businesses since U.S. pharmaceutical companies can sell their higher priced brand name versions into the Canadian market for an additional two years. Canadian manufacturers of generic brands will also lose two years’ worth of revenue while they wait for U.S. patents to expire in order to gain a share of the Canadian market.

Online shopping

Under the USMCA, the de minimus threshold for online shopping imports will increase to C$150 from C$20 before attracting both Canadian duties and taxes. Import shipments below a new C$40 threshold will enter Canada duty and tax-free. Shipments above C$40 will attract GST/HST but be duty free. Shipments above C$150 will attract both GST/HST and duty.

Potential or anticipated impact:

Currently, GST/HST and duties apply to shipments whose value exceeded C$20. For the Canadian consumer, an increase to this de minimus threshold means they will be able to purchase more or higher priced online items and not pay additional duties and taxes.

It will be interesting to see if U.S. online retailers reduce their Canadian prices to C$149.99 from C$150 in order to attract more Canadian consumers.

There may also be an impact on Amazon.ca Prime sales that are fulfilled in Canada as vendors may have to collect GST/HST on goods valued below C$40, whereas non-resident vendors may be able to sell into the Canadian market without attracting GST/HST. Canadian retailers that sell low-priced goods will likely be negatively affected.

Steel and Aluminum Industries

The USMCA does not bring immediate relief to U.S. importers of Canadian originating steel and aluminum or Canadian importers of U.S. originating steel and aluminum, which was a highly anticipated outcome at the conclusion of the negotiations. It is expected that over the coming weeks the U.S. and Canada will further discuss eliminating these tariffs or instituting a quota-type regime.

Potential or anticipated impact:

The U.S. section 232 tariffs and Canada’s July 1 surtaxes will remain in place until further notice from either the U.S. or Canadian government. This means, if nothing changes, a Canadian importer of C$10 million of U.S. originating steel could be expecting a bill of an additional C$2.5 million of Canadian surtax.

The new USMCA will require Canadian businesses to take immediate action to determine the impact to their bottom line before it takes effect in 2020. The already challenging customs and trade landscape continues to change at a record pace. We can provide concise answers to questions your company has about these changes in order to mitigate duty exposure while remaining a compliant importer or exporter.

On-demand Webinar: Watch this webinar to explore how you can manage the impact of Canadian tariffs on products you bring into Canada.

Please contact a member of our Customs and International Trade practice for assistance.

Brian Morcombe
Partner, Indirect Tax

Charmaine Goddeeris
Senior Manager, Customs & International Trade

 

 

 

 


The information in this publication is current as of October 6, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte Fiscale– Quels Sont Les Changements Entre l’ALENA et l’AEUMC?

05 octobre 2018

NTL_04Oct18_Website_Tax-Alert_USMCA_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 30 septembre 2018, le Canada a conclu un accord de dernière minute pour remplacer l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) actuellement en vigueur. Ce nouvel accord commercial du 21e siècle, dont la mise en œuvre est prévue pour 2020, s’intitulera Accord États-Unis-Mexique-Canada (AEUMC) et continuera à permettre l’échange de biens en franchise de droits de douane comme dans l’ALENA initial. L’AEUMC devra être signé par toutes les parties concernées et être ratifié par le gouvernement de chacun des pays. Ce nouvel accord devrait être finalisé dans quelques mois.

Il met fin aux principaux points opposant les trois parties dans le cadre des négociations, notamment ceux ci-dessous :

  • Exigences de contenu nord-américain pour les véhicules
  • Droits de douane américains sur les automobiles produites au Canada
  • Quotas sur les produits laitiers et agricoles canadiens
  • Règlement des différends en vertu du chapitre 19 de l’ALENA
  • Clause d’extinction
  • Propriété intellectuelle
  • Achats en ligne
  • Secteurs de l’acier et de l’aluminium

Quelles sont les modifications? Qu’est-ce qui demeure inchangé? Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour votre entreprise? Voici notre analyse des incidences de ce nouvel accord.

Exigences de contenu nord-américain pour les véhicules

Selon l’ALENA, la plupart des véhicules doivent contenir 62,5 % de matériaux provenant des États-Unis, du Canada ou du Mexique pour demeurer exempts de droits de douane dans l’un de ces pays. En vertu de l’AEUMC, le seuil du contenu en matériaux de ces produits sera porté à 75 %, et au moins 70 % du contenu des matériaux en acier ou en aluminium devra provenir de l’Amérique du Nord.

Une nouvelle disposition relative à la main-d’œuvre exigera que 40 % à 45 % des activités de fabrication de pièces d’automobile soient réalisées par des travailleurs gagnant au moins 16 $US de l’heure. Les exigences plus élevées imposées à l’égard du contenu en matériaux et de la main-d’œuvre seront mises en place graduellement sur une période de trois à cinq ans.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :   

Les fabricants de véhicules nord-américains réviseront immédiatement leur chaîne d’approvisionnement pour s’assurer que leurs fournisseurs seront en mesure de leur fournir des matériaux qui leur permettront de satisfaire au seuil accru exigeant que 75 % du contenu des matériaux provienne de l’Amérique du Nord pour que leurs véhicules demeurent exempts des droits de douane en vertu de l’AEUMC. Il s’agit d’un gain pour le Canada et les États-Unis, mais d’un aspect problématique pour le Mexique.

Droits de douane américains sur les automobiles produites au Canada

L’AEUMC garantit que les États-Unis s’engagent à accorder une période d’exemption d’au moins 60 jours avant d’imposer tout droit tarifaire futur, y compris ceux sur les automobiles, en vertu de l’article 232 de la Trade Expansion Act de 1962. Cela donnera aux pays le temps de négocier avec les États-Unis avant que des droits de douane additionnels soient appliqués. Le gouvernement américain permettra l’entrée exempte de droits de douane d’un certain quota de véhicules avant l’application des droits de douane supplémentaires si les négociations aboutissent au maintien de l’application de l’article 232.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

Les quotas de véhicules proposés dépassent largement les quantités que les fabricants de véhicules canadiens prévoient exporter aux États-Unis dans les années à venir. Les conséquences négatives des droits de douane supplémentaires conformément à l’article 232 sur les importations futures de véhicules fabriqués au Canada ne semblent pas très défavorables pour le moment.

Aperçu du nouvel ALENA : l’AEUMC

Quotas sur les produits laitiers et agricoles canadiens

En vertu de l’AEUMC, les producteurs laitiers américains auront un accès élargi au marché canadien sans se voir imposer de sévères pénalités en matière de droits de douane. Le Canada a également convenu de limiter ses exportations de produits laitiers à l’échelle mondiale afin de ne pas concurrencer les États-Unis sur le marché international.

Parmi les concessions consenties par le secteur laitier et agricole canadien en vertu de l’AEUMC, mentionnons celle faite par les producteurs du secteur de la volaille du Canada, qui a été moins médiatisée. Les producteurs d’œufs américains pourront exporter 10 millions de douzaines d’œufs supplémentaires la première année de la mise en œuvre de l’AEUMC. À compter de la deuxième année, leur exportation augmentera de 1 % chaque année au cours des dix prochaines années.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

La hausse des importations de produits laitiers et d’œufs américains sur le marché canadien entraînera une concurrence à l’égard des prix et des volumes pour les producteurs d’œufs et de produits laitiers canadiens. Pour les consommateurs canadiens, cela pourrait se traduire par un prix inférieur à la caisse pour ces types de produits. Malheureusement, les producteurs d’œufs et de produits laitiers canadiens pourraient connaître une diminution importante de revenus au cours des années à venir. Le gouvernement fédéral prévoit indemniser les producteurs laitiers et travaillera de concert avec eux pour déterminer la compensation nécessaire.

Règlement des différends en vertu du chapitre 19

Le mécanisme de règlement des différends des parties prenantes à l’ALENA dans des dossiers liés aux droits compensateurs et antidumping restera inchangé et les parties continueront de faire appel aux groupes spéciaux binationaux.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

Aucune.

Clause d’extinction

Lorsque l’ALENA actuellement en vigueur a été finalisé en 1994, il n’était pas assorti d’une date d’expiration ou d’une clause d’extinction. Au cours des récentes négociations relatives à l’ALENA, les États-Unis ont demandé que tout nouveau type d’accord trilatéral arrive à échéance après cinq ans. Ils ont toutefois retiré cette demande à la fin des négociations. L’AEUMC arrivera à échéance dans 16 ans et comportera une disposition exigeant un examen de l’entente tous les six ans.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

Aucune, aux fins fiscales.

Propriété intellectuelle

Le Canada prolongera la protection par brevet des médicaments sur ordonnance, en particulier les médicaments biologiques comme Humira (utilisé pour traiter la maladie de Crohn et l’arthrite), qui passera de huit à dix ans en vertu de l’AEUMC. Les sociétés américaines pourront ainsi vendre leurs médicaments au Canada pour deux années supplémentaires sans craindre que les sociétés canadiennes puissent produire et distribuer des versions génériques à moindres coûts.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

Les patients, les régimes d’assurance médicaments et les entreprises du Canada subiront une hausse des coûts des médicaments étant donné que les sociétés pharmaceutiques américaines pourront vendre leurs médicaments d’origine à prix plus élevé sur le marché canadien deux années supplémentaires. Les fabricants de marques génériques canadiens perdront également l’équivalent de deux années de revenus étant donné qu’ils devront attendre l’expiration des brevets américains pour obtenir une part du marché canadien.

Achats en ligne

En vertu de l’AEUMC, le seuil minimum pour les achats en ligne de produits importés passera de 20 $CA à 150 $CA avant que des droits de douane ne s’appliquent et à 40 $CA avant que des taxes ne soient imposées à leur égard. Les expéditions de produits importés d’une valeur égale ou inférieure au nouveau seuil de 40 $CA entreront au Canada sans que des taxes ne leur soient imposées. La TPS/TVH sera appliquée sur les expéditions de plus de 40 $CA, mais elles seront en franchise de droits de douane jusqu’à 150 $CA. Ainsi, la TPS/TVH et des droits de douane seront exigés pour les expéditions de plus de 150 $CA.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

À l’heure actuelle, la TPS/TVH et les droits de douane s’appliquent aux expéditions dont la valeur dépasse 20 $CA. Pour les consommateurs canadiens, une hausse du seuil minimum signifie qu’ils seront en mesure d’acheter des produits en ligne en plus grand nombre ou pour un prix plus élevé sans payer de droits de douane et de taxes supplémentaires.

Il sera intéressant de voir si les détaillants en ligne américains réduiront leurs prix à 150 $CA ou moins pour attirer davantage de consommateurs canadiens.

Cet accord pourrait également avoir une incidence sur les ventes de Amazon Prime qui seront exécutées au Canada, car les vendeurs pourraient devoir percevoir la TPS/TVH sur les biens de 40 $CA ou moins alors que les fournisseurs non-résidents pourraient être en mesure de les vendre sur le marché canadien sans percevoir la TPS/TVH. Les détaillants canadiens qui vendent des produits à faible prix subiront probablement des conséquences négatives.

Secteurs de l’acier et de l’aluminium

L’AEUMC n’entraînera pas d’allégement immédiat pour les importateurs américains d’acier et d’aluminium canadien ou les importateurs canadiens d’acier et d’aluminium américain, un résultat qui était fort attendu à la conclusion des négociations. Au fil des semaines à venir les États-Unis et le Canada devraient continuer à discuter de l’élimination de ces droits de douane ou de l’institution d’un régime de quotas.

Incidence potentielle ou prévue :

Les gouvernements américain et canadien continueront d’imposer respectivement des droits de douane conformément à l’article 232 de la Trade Expansion Act de 1962 et des surtaxes en vigueur depuis le 1er juillet, et ce, jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Si la situation reste telle quelle, un importateur canadien d’acier américain d’une valeur de 10 millions de dollars canadiens pourrait s’attendre à devoir payer une surtaxe d’environ 2,5 millions de dollars canadiens.

Le nouvel accord fera en sorte que les entreprises canadiennes devront prendre des mesures immédiates pour déterminer l’incidence des changements sur leur résultat net avant qu’il n’entre en vigueur en 2020. Les questions liées au commerce et aux douanes déjà épineuses continuent d’évoluer à un rythme effréné. Nous pouvons fournir des réponses concises aux questions que vous vous posez sur ces changements et réduire l’exposition de votre entreprise aux droits de douane tout en vous permettant de continuer à respecter la réglementation liée à l’importation ou à l’exportation.

Webinaire sur demande : Visionnez ce webinaire pour savoir comment gérer l’incidence des droits de douane canadiens sur les produits que vous importez au Canada

Pour obtenir du soutien, veuillez communiquer avec un membre de nos Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international.

Brian Morcombe
Associé, Services en taxes indirectes          
 

Charmaine Goddeeris
Directrice principale, Services-conseils en matière de douanes et de commerce international

 

 

 

 


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 6 octobre 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.