Tax Alert - Canada Continues to Move Forward with the MLI Adoption

June 12, 2018

Harry Chana, Partner, International Tax Practice Leader |
On May 28, 2018, Canada moved closer to ratifying the Multilateral Instrument (MLI) by tabling the Notice of Way and Means Motion (NWMM) in the House of Commons. See our previous communication on the MLI entitled ‘Tax Alert - Canada Signs the Multilateral Instrument to Modify its Tax Treaties’ for additional background information.
 
The MLI will allow signatory countries to modify their bilateral tax treaties more efficiently rather than having to renegotiate individual tax treaties. The MLI incorporates the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development’s (OECD) anti-base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) provisions. Some of the MLI provisions are mandatory, while other provisions are optional. The mandatory provisions relate to the minimum standards established by the OECD (standards that all participating countries have agreed to adopt). Countries are free to choose among the optional provisions.

Update on the Minimum Standard Provision

Canada has committed to adopting the following minimum standards:
  • The treaty preamble, which states the treaty purposes, clarifies that the covered tax treaty intends to eliminate double taxation without creating opportunities for non-taxation or reduced taxation through tax evasion or avoidance.
  • The anti-abuse rule, also known as the principal purpose test (PPT), has the effect of denying a benefit under a tax treaty where one of the principal purposes of any arrangement or transaction was to obtain a benefit under the treaty.
  • Canada confirmed its commitment, under the MLI, to implement the minimum standard with respect to the dispute resolution features of its tax treaties.
  • Canada confirmed its commitment to adopt mandatory binding arbitration as a mechanism to ensure the effective and timely resolution of treaty-based disputes.
As bilateral treaties are renegotiated, Canada will seek to introduce a more comprehensive limitation of benefits (LOB) article. Currently, Canada only has a handful of treaties with a LOB clause; the one with the United States has the most comprehensive LOB.

Optional Provisions Canada Will Adopt

Canada intends to adopt the following MLI optional provisions:
  • A 365-day holding period for shares of Canadian companies held by non-resident companies to obtain the lower treaty withholding tax rates on dividends. The holding period test essentially discourages short-term share transfer transactions and the ability to access treaty withholding tax rates.
  • A 365-day test period for non-residents who realize capital gains on the disposition of shares or other interests that derived their value from Canadian immovable property. Currently, Canadian domestic legislation has a 60-month look-back rule to tax taxable Canadian property (TCP).  Generally, our tax treaties do not have a similar look-back. This provision will align Canadian domestic law with our tax treaties to allow Canada to tax certain transaction that were previously exempted under treaty provisions.
  • Incorporate the MLI provision for resolving dual resident entity cases. This provision employs an effective approach to resolving dual resident cases to prevent potential double taxation, while providing protection against companies and other entities that attempt to manipulate their tax residence to avoid or reduce their taxes.
  • Canada intends to adopt a provision of the MLI that will allow certain treaty partners to move from an exemption system as their method of relieving double taxation, to a foreign tax credit system.

Impact on Canadian Companies

The MLI will significantly impact Canadian companies that operate internationally and how cross-border transactions are structured. For example, transactions structured with the main purpose of obtaining treaty benefits will not meet the minimum standard provisions (i.e. the preamble or the PPT) of the MLI and treaty benefits will be denied. Documentation around the business purpose of the transaction will be crucial. This will add an additional layer of complexity on cross-border tax transactions.
 
In addition, with the optional provisions being adopted, additional analysis must be undertaken, which was not previously required. For example, dividend payments normally subject to a 25% withholding tax reduced to 5% or 15% under most treaties are now subject to a holding period test. Canadian companies will need to document how this holding period test was met — no guidance is provided on this as of yet or whether the Canada Revenue Agency may amend their NR301, NR302 or NR303 forms to address this point.

Next Steps

This NWMM is a critical step for Canada to adopt the MLI. The following are the next steps for fully adopting the MLI:
  • A bill must be introduced to implement the MLI into Canadian domestic law (known as an Implementation Bill).
  • The Implementation Bill must be approved by Parliament and receive Royal Assent.
  • An Order in Council is then needed to notify the OECD that the ratification procedures in Canada are complete.
  • The MLI may come to force as early as 2019.
Once the MLI comes into force, there are up to 75 tax treaties with Canada that could be affected by the MLI measures. The MLI will not impact Canada’s tax treaty with this US, as the US is not a participant in the MLI.
 
Please contact a member of our International Tax Team or your local BDO advisor with questions about the MLI and its impact.

Harry Chana
International Tax Practice Leader
The information in this publication is current as of June 11, 2018.
 
This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte fiscale - Progression du Canada en vue de l’adoption de l’IM

12 juin 2018

Harry Chana, Associé et chef des Services en fiscalité internationale et Services transactionnels en fiscalité |



Le 28 mai 2018, le Canada a fait un pas de plus vers la ratification de l’Instrument multilatéral (IM) en déposant un avis de motion de voies et moyens à la Chambre des communes. Nous vous invitons à lire notre publication précédente sur le sujet, intitulée Tax Alert - Canada Signs the Multilateral Instrument to Modify its Tax Treaties (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires.

L’IM permettra aux pays signataires de modifier leurs conventions fiscales bilatérales plus efficacement , sans avoir à les renégocier une à une. L’IM comprend les mesures de prévention de l’érosion de la base d’imposition et du transfert de bénéfices (BEPS) de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE). Certaines dispositions de l’IM sont obligatoires alors que d’autres sont facultatives. Les dispositions obligatoires portent sur les normes minimales établies par l’OCDE (normes que tous les pays participants ont convenu d’adopter). Quant aux dispositions facultatives, les pays sont libres d’adopter celles qu’ils désirent.

Mise au point sur les dispositions liées aux normes minimales

Le Canada a pris l’engagement d’adopter les normes minimales suivantes :

  • Préambule de convention fiscale : Il doit mentionner l’objectif de la convention, préciser que la convention fiscale en question vise à éliminer la double imposition sans créer d’occasions de non-imposition ou de réduction de l’imposition par le biais de l’évasion fiscale ou l’évitement fiscal.
  • Règle anti-abus : Aussi appelée règle du critère de l’objet principal, cette règle a pour effet de refuser un avantage en vertu d’une convention fiscale lorsque l’objet principal d’un arrangement ou d’une opération visait à obtenir un avantage en vertu de cette convention.
  • Procédures de règlement des différends dans les conventions fiscales conclues par le Canada, notamment un arbitrage obligatoire et contraignant à titre de mécanisme pour assurer le règlement efficace et rapide des différends liés aux conventions fiscales.

Au moment de renégocier une convention bilatérale, le Canada cherchera à introduire une disposition de limitation des avantages plus exhaustive. À l’heure actuelle, seul un petit nombre de conventions conclues par le Canada comportent une disposition de limitation des avantages; la convention signée avec les États-Unis est celle qui prévoit la disposition de limitation des avantages la plus détaillée.

Dispositions facultatives qu’adoptera le Canada

Le Canada entend adopter les dispositions facultatives de l’IM suivantes :

  • Période de détention de 365 jours dans le cas d’actions de sociétés canadiennes détenues par des sociétés étrangères dans le but de bénéficier du taux de retenue d’impôt réduit sur les dividendes prévu par une convention. Le critère de la période de détention vise principalement à décourager les opérations de transfert d’actions à court terme et à empêcher l’application des taux d’imposition prévus aux conventions;
  • Critère d’une période de 365 jours pour les non-résidents qui réalisent des gains en capital sur la disposition d’actions ou d’autres participations dont la valeur découle de biens canadiens immeubles. À l’heure actuelle, la législation canadienne prévoit une règle du retour en arrière de 60 mois pour l’imposition de tout bien canadien imposable. En règle générale, nos conventions fiscales ne comportent pas une telle règle du retour en arrière. Cette disposition viendra harmoniser les conventions fiscales avec les lois canadiennes afin de permettre au Canada d’imposer certaines opérations qui étaient auparavant exemptées en vertu des dispositions figurant dans les conventions;
  • Intégration de la disposition de l’IM concernant la résolution des cas d’entités ayant une double résidence. Cette disposition apporte une approche efficace pour régler les cas de double résidence afin d’éliminer la possibilité de double imposition tout en apportant une protection contre les tentatives des sociétés et d’autres entités de modifier leur lieu de résidence aux fins de l’impôt dans le but d’éviter ou de réduire leurs impôts;
  • Disposition de l’IM qui permettra à certains pays ayant conclu des conventions fiscales avec le Canada de passer d’un régime d’exemption à un régime de crédits pour impôt étranger à titre de méthode d’allégement de la double imposition.

Conséquences sur les entreprises canadiennes

L’IM aura des conséquences importantes sur les entreprises canadiennes qui mènent des activités à l’étranger et sur la structuration des opérations transfrontalières. Par exemple, les opérations structurées avec comme objet principal de tirer un avantage en vertu d’une convention fiscale ne respecteraient pas les dispositions liées aux normes minimales (c.-à-d. le préambule ou la règle du critère de l’objet principal) de l’IM et l’avantage en question serait refusé. Il sera primordial de conserver des documents prouvant la fin commerciale d’une opération. Cette exigence viendra complexifier davantage les opérations transfrontalières.

De plus, l’adoption prochaine des dispositions facultatives signifie que des analyses supplémentaires devront être faites, analyses qui jusqu’à présent n’étaient pas requises. Par exemple, les dividendes habituellement assujettis à un taux de retenue d’impôt de 25 %, réduit à 5 % ou 15 % en vertu de la majorité des conventions, doivent maintenant respecter le critère de la période de détention. Les entreprises canadiennes devront consigner la méthode employée pour remplir ce critère. À ce jour, aucune ligne directrice n’est fournie à cet égard et l’Agence du revenu du Canada n’a pas indiqué si elle comptait modifier ses formulaires NR301, NR302 et NR303 pour aborder cette question.

Prochaines étapes

L’avis de motion de voies et moyens constitue une étape cruciale pour l’adoption de l’IM par le Canada. L’adoption complète de l’IM suppose maintenant la réalisation des étapes suivantes :

  1. Dépôt d’un projet de loi pour transposer l’IM dans les lois canadiennes, c’est-à-dire un projet de loi d’exécution;
  2. Approbation par le Parlement et sanction royale du projet de loi d’exécution;
  3. Décret pour informer l’OCDE de la réalisation des procédures de ratification au Canada;
  4. Entrée en vigueur de l’IM possible dès 2019.

Lorsque l’IM prendra effet, jusqu’à 75 conventions fiscales conclues par le Canada pourraient être touchées par les mesures de l’IM. L’IM n’aura aucune incidence sur la convention fiscale entre le Canada et les États-Unis puisque ce pays ne participe pas à l’IM.

Veuillez communiquer avec un membre de nos Services en fiscalité internationale ou avec votre conseiller BDO local si vous avez des questions sur l’IM et ses répercussions.

Harry Chana
Chef des Services en fiscalité internationale


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 11 juin 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.