Tax Alert - Brace Yourself: No GST/HST ITCs for Orthodontists

October 11, 2017

Tax-2017-IT-ITCs-To-Orthodontists_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Orthodontists have been dealt a tough blow in a recent court decision that resulted in an Ontario-based orthodontist being denied input tax credits (ITCs) in respect of GST/HST incurred on certain expenses and fixed assets consumed in conjunction with perceived supplies of zero-rated orthodontic appliances. In Dr. Brian Hurd Dentistry Professional Corporation versus Her Majesty the Queen, 2017 GTC 42 (“the Hurd case”), the court held that the taxpayer, an orthodontist, did not make multiple supplies of exempt orthodontic treatments and zero-rated orthodontic appliances but, instead, a single supply of an orthodontic treatment that is entirely exempt from GST/HST pursuant to the Excise Tax Act. The result of this decision is that dentists and orthodontists may no longer be eligible to claim ITCs on orthodontic supplies and treatments on the basis that they are not making taxable supplies in the course of commercial activities for GST/HST purposes.

The court’s decision follows a GST/HST Ruling from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) in 2004 that provided direction to orthodontists on the treatment of orthodontic supplies and treatments. In that ruling, the CRA provided guidance suggesting orthodontists that separately identify supplies of zero-rated orthodontic appliances from exempt orthodontic treatments could calculate ITCs using “an estimate of 35% of the cost to the patient of the orthodontic treatment to represent the ‘consideration’ for the supply of the orthodontic appliance.” An important consideration in the Hurd case was that, in the view of the judge, Dr. Hurd did not sufficiently identify the consideration of the zero-rated appliances separately from the exempt dental services in patient contracts and billings. Also noteworthy is the judge’s comment about the CRA’s 2004 Ruling: “I believe it to be incorrect and misleading to taxpayers … In the end, the CRA policy statement is simply wrong and more importantly misleading and cannot be defended in the manner [the Minister] would have me do. I simply reject it and I do not intend to follow it.” The court dismissed the taxpayers’ appeal and, by doing so, denied $22,440 of ITCs on the basis that the taxpayer was making a single supply of exempt health care services to patients and had no commercial activities to support the claiming of ITCs.

Although not specifically addressed as part of this decision, it is expected that Revenu Quebec will view the application of Quebec sales tax (QST) in the same manner and deny input tax refunds (ITR) claimed in relation to the supply of orthodontic appliances as part of the single supply of an exempt orthodontic treatment.

As a result of this recent decision, dentists and orthodontists with practices that claim ITCs or ITRs are urged to contact a BDO Indirect Tax specialist to determine how best to treat future GST/HST filings as well as retroactive filings, as this court decision may extend as far back as four years and possibly even further.

Should you have any questions on this matter and how it may impact you, please contact Shelley Smith, Indirect Tax Practice Leader, or a trusted BDO advisor.

Author

Morcombe_Brian_website2016_1.jpg

Brian Morcombe

Partner, Indirect Tax

Learn more about our Indirect Tax team.


The information in this publication is current as of September 28, 2017.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

BDO Canada LLP, a Canadian limited liability partnership, is a member of BDO International Limited, a UK company limited by guarantee, and forms part of the international BDO network of independent member firms.

Alerte fiscale - Préparez-vous... Pas de CTI aux fins de la TPS/TVH/TVQ pour les orthodontistes

11 octobre 2017

Tax-2017-IT-ITCs-To-Orthodontists_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Les orthodontistes ont récemment subi un coup dur. En effet, dans une décision rendue par le tribunal, un orthodontiste de l’Ontario s’est vu refuser les crédits de taxe sur les intrants (CTI) aux fins de la TPS/TVH pour certaines dépenses et immobilisations qu’il aurait utilisées afin d’effectuer des fournitures d’appareils orthodontiques détaxés dans le cadre de traitements orthodontiques. Dans l’affaire Dr Brian Brian Hurd Dentistry Professional Corporation c. Sa Majesté la Reine (2017 GTC 42), ci-après « le dossier Hurd », le tribunal a déclaré que le contribuable, un orthodontiste, n’avait pas effectué une fourniture exonérée de traitements orthodontiques distincte de la fourniture détaxée d’appareils orthodontiques, mais plutôt une fourniture unique d’un traitement orthodontique entièrement exonérée aux fins de la TPS/TVH en vertu de La Loi sur la taxe d’accise. De ce fait, les dentistes et les orthodontistes pourraient ne plus avoir droit de demander des CTI pour les appareils orthodontiques et les traitements au motif qu’ils n’effectuent pas de fournitures taxables, ce qui inclut les fournitures détaxées, aux fins de la TPS/TVH dans l’exercice de leurs activités commerciales.

Il convient de noter que la décision du tribunal à propos de la TPS/TVH a été rendue après l’interprétation publiée en 2004 par l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) qui fournissait des directives aux orthodontistes sur les fournitures d’appareils et de traitements orthodontiques. En bref, dans cette interprétation, l’ARC laisse entendre aux orthodontistes qu’ils peuvent calculer les CTI en utilisant une estimation de 35 % du coût des traitements orthodontiques pour représenter la « contrepartie » de la fourniture attribuable aux appareils orthodontiques lorsque ceux-ci sont facturés séparément de la fourniture exonérée du traitement orthodontique. Un élément important du dossier Hurd est que, aux yeux du juge, le Dr Hurd n’a pas séparé suffisamment la contrepartie reçue pour les appareils détaxés de celle reçue pour les services dentaires exonérés dans les contrats et les factures de ses clients. De plus, il faut souligner que le juge a formulé le commentaire suivant au sujet de l’interprétation de l’ARC de 2004 : « [TRADUCTION] Je crois qu’elle est inexacte et de nature à induire les contribuables en erreur... Tout bien pesé, l’interprétation de l’ARC est tout simplement erronée et qui plus est trompeuse. Je ne peux le défendre comme [le ministre] souhaiterait que je le fasse. Je le rejette purement et simplement et je n’entends pas le suivre. » Le tribunal a rejeté l’appel du contribuable. Ce faisant, il l’a privé de 22 440 $ en CTI au motif que le contribuable effectuait une fourniture unique de services de santé exonérée au profit de ses patients et n’exerçait aucune activité commerciale justifiant la demande de CTI.

Même si la question n’est pas abordée expressément dans le cadre de cette affaire, on s’attend à ce que Revenu Québec applique la taxe de vente du Québec (« TVQ ») de la même manière et refuse les remboursements de la taxe sur les intrants (RTI) qui seront réclamés par rapport à la fourniture d’appareils orthodontiques faisant partie d’une fourniture unique d’un traitement orthodontique exonérée.

Du fait de cette récente décision, les dentistes et les orthodontistes de cabinets qui demandent les CTI ou les RTI sont invités à communiquer avec un spécialiste des taxes indirectes de BDO pour établir comment comptabiliser les déclarations TPS/TVH/TVQ à venir ainsi que les déclarations antérieures (étant donné que cette décision du tribunal pourrait remonter à quatre ans, voire plus).

Si vous avez des questions sur ce sujet et la manière dont il pourrait avoir une incidence sur vous, veuillez communiquer avec Shelley Smith, chef des services en taxes indirectes, ou un conseiller BDO de confiance.

Collaborateur

Brian Morcombe, Associé, Taxes à la consommation

Apprenez-en plus sur nos services en taxes indirectes.


L’information présentée est à jour en date du jeudi 28 septembre 2017.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L/LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses associés, employés et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.

BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, une société à responsabilité limitée constituée au Canada, est un cabinet membre de BDO International Limited, une société à responsabilité limitée par garantie du Royaume-Uni, et fait partie du réseau international de BDO de cabinets membres indépendants.