Tax Alert—B.C. Employer Health Tax: Effective January 1, 2019

January 09, 2019

Tax_09Jan19_Website_BC-EHT_LandingPage_679x220.png

British Columbia’s Bill 44, Budget Measures Implementation (Employer Health Tax) Act, 2018, received Royal Assent on November 8, 2018. As a result of passing the bill into law, the Employer Health Tax (EHT) took effect January 1, 2019 and registration for the EHT is now open.

The EHT is a new annual employer payroll tax introduced to replace Medical Services Plan premiums.  B.C.’s NDP government proposed the tax in the February 2018 Budget and further implementation details were released in July 2018. Bill 44 provides final implementation details, which include defining key terms (such as ‘B.C. remuneration’ and ‘permanent establishment’), clarifying treatment under special circumstances (e.g., non-resident employers, employers with payroll in more than one province,  associated employers), outlining administration and enforcement rules, and providing an appeals process.

Employers other than charitable or non-profit employers (including associated employers)

The EHT applies to employers who pay B.C. remuneration in excess of $500,000 during a calendar year.  If the B.C. remuneration is:

  • $500,000 (exemption amount) or less during a calendar year, no EHT is payable by the employer for that calendar year
  • Greater than $500,000 and not more than $1,500,000 (notch rate amount) during a calendar year, the employer must pay EHT equal to 2.925% of the amount by which the B.C. remuneration exceeds $500,000
  • Greater than $1,500,000 during a calendar year, the employer must pay EHT equal to 1.95% of the total B.C. remuneration paid by the employer during the calendar year

For an employer who has a permanent establishment in B.C. for only part of the calendar year, both the exemption amount and the notch rate amount must be prorated.

Where employers are associated with one another at the end of the calendar year, the $500,000 exemption amount must be shared between the entire associated group. However, it is possible to choose the allocation of the exemption amount between associated employers in the group. If the B.C. remuneration of the associated group is greater than $1,500,000, the $500,000 exemption is not available, and each employer in the group pays 1.95% of the respective employer’s B.C. remuneration.  

The definition of an associated group applies Section 256 of the Canadian Income Tax Act (ITA) with modifications that extend association rules to include individuals, partnerships, and trusts by deeming them to be a corporation with one class of voting shares and deeming share ownership as follows:

  • Sole proprietors—the individual owns all the shares of the corporation
  • Partnerships—each partner owns shares in the same proportion in which he or she shares the income or loss of the partnership
  • Trusts—each beneficiary owns shares in the same proportion in which he or she shares the income or loss of the trust

In cases where the modified rules associate an employer with a charitable or non-profit employer, the employer is not required to share the exemption with the charitable or non-profit employer.

Unlike the ITA, which allows corporations to elect out of the association rules in certain circumstances, employers cannot elect out of association rules for EHT purposes.

The associated employer rules also include an anti-avoidance rule to deem employers to be associated with each other at the end of the calendar year where it is reasonably considered that either the separate existence of two or more employers at the end of the calendar year or the transfer of a business in whole or in part from one employer to another employer in a calendar year was undertaken or arranged primarily for the purpose of reducing the amount of EHT by any one of the employers for the calendar year.

The EHT is deductible from business income for income tax purposes.    

B.C. remuneration

B.C. remuneration includes all remuneration paid by the employer to:

  • its employees who report for work at a permanent establishment of the employer in B.C.;
  • its employees who do not report for work at a permanent establishment of the employer, if the remuneration is paid from or through a permanent establishment of the employer in B.C.; and
  • any of its former employees who, when last employed by the employer, either reported for work at a permanent establishment of the employer in B.C., or did not report for work at a permanent establishment of the employer but were paid from or through a permanent establishment of the employer in B.C.

Where an employee reports for work at a permanent establishment of the employer in B.C. and also outside of B.C. at any time during a calendar year, all remuneration paid to the employee during the calendar year is regarded as B.C. remuneration.

However, if the commissioner is satisfied that an employee reported for work at a permanent establishment of an employer outside B.C. for all or substantially all of the calendar year, none of the remuneration paid to the employee is regarded as B.C. remuneration for that calendar year. 

Remuneration

Generally, remuneration includes all payments, benefits, and allowances received or deemed to be received by an individual that are required under sections 5, 6, or 7 of the ITA, or would be required if the individual were resident of Canada. Without limitation, these include salaries and wages, bonuses, taxable benefits, commissions, stock option benefits, and other similar amounts. For a definitive determination of items included in employment income, consult the ITA. The Canada Revenue Agency  (CRA) Employer’s Guide–Payroll Deductions and Remittances is also a good source of information.

Remuneration paid by employers who are status First Nations individuals carrying on business on a reserve is not subject to the EHT. Remuneration paid to status First Nation individuals working for a business situated on a reserve is also excluded from the EHT.

Reporting for work at permanent establishment

An employee reports for work at a permanent establishment of the employer if the employee comes to the permanent establishment in person to work or otherwise can reasonably be considered to be attached to the permanent establishment. 

Permanent establishment

Generally, an employer’s permanent establishment is any fixed place of business, including, without limitation, an office, agency, branch, factory, farm, gas or oil well, mine, timberland, warehouse, or workshop.

The final legislation also includes a detailed list of deeming provisions for permanent establishments.  Many of the provisions for B.C. EHT purposes are similar to B.C.’s definition of permanent establishment for the allocation of provincial income for income tax purposes; however, there are differences that could broaden the scope of taxation for EHT purposes.

Under the deeming rules, a permanent establishment could be:

  • The place designated in the corporation’s charter, articles of incorporation, constitution, or bylaws as being its head office or registered office
  • The jurisdiction where the employer carries on business through an employee or agent having general authority to contract for that employer
  • The jurisdiction where the employee or agent of the employer has a stock of merchandise owned by that employer and fills orders received by the employee or agent from the stock of merchandise
  • Land or premises owned or leased by the employer
  • The place where and during the time when the employer uses substantial machinery or equipment;
  • In the case of an insurance corporation, each jurisdiction in which the corporation is registered or licensed to do business
  • Where the employer does not otherwise carry on business in Canada in the calendar year, any place where the employer produces, grows, mines, creates, manufactures, fabricates, improves, packs, preserves, processes, or constructs, in whole or in part, any thing in Canada, whether or not the employer exports that thing before selling it
  • Where the employer has no fixed place of business, the principal place in which the employer conducts business, and in each place from which the employer carries on or transacts a substantial portion of the business

Non-resident employers

The final rules provide guidance for “non-resident employers” (employers without a deemed permanent establishment in B.C.) who send their employees to provide services in B.C. under an agreement for the benefit of a B.C. resident person. For the period services are provided in B.C., such employees will be deemed to report for work at a permanent establishment of the B.C. resident and deemed to be employed by that B.C. resident. For the period, the B.C. resident will also be deemed to have paid remuneration to the employee in an amount equal to the remuneration paid by the non-resident employer to the employee in respect of the services provided by the employee for the benefit of the B.C. resident.  The employee’s remuneration will be regarded as B.C. remuneration, unless it can be supported that an employee is reporting for work at a permanent establishment of the employer outside B.C. for all or substantially all of the calendar year.

Note that non-resident employers include out-of-province employers as well as out-of-country employers.

Charitable or non-profit employers

Special rules apply to charitable and non-profit organizations.  EHT for these organizations is calculated on a by-location basis. Each qualifying location is eligible for a $1,500,000 exemption.

For each qualifying location with B.C. remuneration:

  • Of $1,500,000 (exemption amount) or less, the EHT for the location will be zero
  • Greater than $1,500,000 and not more than $4,500,000 (notch rate amount), the EHT for the location will be calculated as 2.925% x (total payroll for the location - $1,500,000)
  • Greater than $4,500,000, the EHT will be calculated as 1.95% x (total payroll for the location)

Both the exemption amount and the notch rate amount must be prorated for an employer who has a permanent establishment for only part of the calendar year. 

The EHT Act provides further details on qualifying locations and B.C. remuneration for charitable or non-profit employers.  

A charitable or non-profit employer does not include an organization within the government reporting entity as defined in the Budget Transparency and Accountability Act.

Administration

Employers subject to EHT are required to file and pay their EHT online using eTaxBC. Registration is now open to receive an EHT account number and must be completed by May 15, 2019, if instalments are required in 2019; otherwise by December 31 of the first year in which the liability arises.

Employers with an EHT liability of more than $2,925 for the previous year are required to make instalment payments on June 15, September 15, and December 15 each year, based on the lesser of:

  • 25% of the previous year’s tax; or
  • 25% of the current year’s estimated tax.

For 2019, instalments are required if the above threshold is likely to be met for the 2019 calendar year, with the first instalment due June 15, 2019. Employers will need to file their annual EHT return and pay any balance due by March 31 in the year following the calendar year.

If an employer ceases to have a permanent establishment in B.C., the annual return should be filed within 90 days of that date.

Penalties can be charged for failure to file a return by the due date, calculated as 5% of the EHT outstanding on the due date, plus an additional 1% for every month that the return is late. Penalties may also be imposed for repeated failure to file a tax return, failure to provide information and/or records, interfering with inspection or audit, and/or gross negligence.

Interest may be imposed on penalties, unpaid instalments, unpaid taxes, and/or excess refunds.

Our comments

The B.C. EHT imposes another tax on affected B.C. businesses. Many businesses voiced concerns to the B.C. government about the impact of the EHT on B.C.’s tax competitiveness. However, through the passing of Bill 44, the government has effectively moved ahead with plans to replace Medical Services Plan premiums with the EHT.

Although the EHT rate is capped at 1.95%, the remuneration subject to the tax is not capped, which could represent a significant cost for affected companies as their B.C. remuneration increases. And, though the EHT will not apply to employers with payrolls below the $500,000 threshold ($1,500,000 for charitable or non-profit employers), this threshold is arguably low, which will impact many small businesses. Managing costs and identifying cost-saving opportunities will therefore be a must for business owners. 

While hiring independent contractors could reduce payroll costs, businesses should be aware that the commissioner may deny any resulting tax benefit should the transaction be considered an avoidance transaction. Hiring contractors should be arranged for bona-fide purposes other than to obtain a tax benefit, and independent contractor/employee criteria should be carefully reviewed to reflect the proper characterization of worker status.  

For private companies, shareholders may want to consider paying dividends and reducing employment remuneration. However, due to the interplay of factors such as CPP, RRSP, and new income-splitting rules, any changes in shareholder remuneration strategy should be discussed with your BDO tax advisor.

Where companies do business outside of B.C., revisiting the organization’s global and national payroll and service delivery models for mobile employees could also help reduce costs.  For companies with inbound international assignees to B.C. and/or with assignees from other provinces to B.C., the EHT may increase total assignment costs—B.C., Canadian, and foreign employers should review the impact the EHT will have on its global mobility programs. 

While Bill 44 provides detailed implementation guidelines, more clarification will likely be needed. Employers may ask the B.C. Ministry of Finance for a technical interpretation for further guidance.

Take action

Additional clarifications included in the final legislation provide little relief from the EHT for B.C. employers.  Companies should:

  • Familiarize themselves with the new B.C. EHT rules
  • Review and assess what the impact will be on their business, including revisiting their payroll and service delivery models, so that they can make plans and adjust
  • Plan for their upcoming EHT liability, register with the eTaxBC service, make instalments during the year (if required), file the annual return, and pay any remaining balance due by March 31 of the following year

BDO can help

Please contact us today for a deeper discussion on the B.C. EHT, and for practical assistance with registration and instalment payments. 

JOANNE SUN
Partner, Expatriate Tax Services & Leader, Immigration Services
 
GREG HAMILTON
Partner, Canadian Tax


The information in this publication is current as of January 8, 2018.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

Alerte Fiscale — Colombie-Britannique : L’impôt-Santé Des Employeurs Est Entrée En Vigueur Le 1er Janvier 2019

09 janvier 2019

Tax_09Jan19_Website_BC-EHT_LandingPage_679x220.png

Le projet de loi 44 de la Colombie-Britannique, Budget Measures Implementation (Employer Health Tax) Act, 2018, a reçu la sanction royale le 8 novembre 2018. À la suite de l’adoption de ce projet de loi, l’impôt santé des employeurs (ISE) est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2019, et les inscriptions à l’ISE sont à présent ouvertes.

L’ISE est un nouvel impôt annuel sur la masse salariale exigible de l’employeur qui vise à remplacer les contributions au régime provincial de services médicaux. Le gouvernement néo-démocrate de la Colombie-Britannique a proposé cet impôt lors du budget de février 2018 et a publié les détails de la mise en œuvre en juillet 2018 (articles en anglais seulement). Le projet de loi 44 renferme les derniers détails de mise en œuvre, notamment les définitions des principaux termes et expressions (p. ex. la « rémunération en Colombie-Britannique » et l’« établissement stable »), la clarification de la question du traitement dans des circonstances particulières (p. ex. employeurs non résidents, employeurs dont la masse salariale est dans plus d’une province, employeurs associés), la description des règles administratives et d’exécution ainsi que la mise en place de procédures d’appel.

Employeurs autres que des organismes de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif (y compris les employeurs associés)

L’ISE s’applique aux employeurs qui versent une rémunération en Colombie-Britannique supérieure à 500 000 $ au cours de l’année civile. Dans le cas où la rémunération en Colombie-Britannique : 

  • est de 500 000 $ (montant de l’exemption) ou moins au cours d’une année civile, aucun ISE n’est payable par l’employeur pour l’année civile donnée;
  • est supérieure à 500 000 $ et de 1 500 000 $ ou moins au cours d’une année civile, l’employeur doit verser un ISE égal à 2,925 % du montant de la rémunération en Colombie-Britannique qui excède 500 000 $;
  • est supérieure à 1 500 000 $ au cours d’une année civile, l’employeur doit verser un ISE égal à 1,95 % de la rémunération en Colombie-Britannique totale versée pendant l’année civile.

Pour un employeur qui a un établissement stable en Colombie-Britannique pendant une partie de l’année civile seulement, le montant de l’exemption et les montants des seuils qui déterminent les taux applicables seront calculés au prorata.

Si des employeurs sont associés à un ou plusieurs autres employeurs à la fin de l’année civile, le montant de l’exemption de 500 000 $ doit être réparti entre tous les employeurs membres du groupe d’employeurs associés. Cependant, il y a possibilité de choisir le montant de l’exemption qui sera réparti entre les employeurs associés du groupe. Si la rémunération en Colombie-Britannique du groupe d’employeurs associés est supérieure à 1 500 000 $, celui-ci ne peut se prévaloir de l’exemption de 500 000 $, et chaque employeur du groupe paie 1,95 % de sa rémunération en Colombie-Britannique respective.

La définition d’un groupe d’employeurs associés est fondée sur l’article 256 de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu (LIR), auquel les modifications nécessaires ont été apportées pour étendre les règles d’association aux particuliers, aux sociétés de personnes et aux fiducies en les considérant comme une société ayant une seule catégorie d’actions avec droit de vote et en considérant les actionnaires détenant des actions comme suit :

  • Entreprise individuelle — Une seule personne détient toutes les parts de la société de capitaux.
  • Société de personnes — Chaque associé de la société de personnes détient des parts dans la même proportion qu’il partage les revenus et les pertes de la société de personnes.
  • Fiducie — Chaque bénéficiaire détient des parts dans la même proportion qu’il partage les revenus et les pertes de la fiducie.

Dans les cas où les règles modifiées associent un employeur à un employeur d’un organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif, l’employeur n’est pas tenu de partager l’exemption avec l’employeur de l’organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif.

Contrairement à la LIR, qui permet aux sociétés de se soustraire aux règles d’association dans certaines circonstances, les employeurs ne peuvent pas se soustraire aux règles d’association aux fins de l’ISE.

Les règles relatives aux employeurs associés comprennent également une disposition anti-évitement, en vertu de laquelle les employeurs sont réputés être associés l’un à l’autre à la fin de l’année civile lorsqu’il est raisonnable de considérer que l’existence distincte de deux employeurs ou plus à la fin d’une année civile ou que le transfert d’une entreprise en tout ou en partie d’un employeur à un autre au cours d’une année civile a été entrepris ou organisé principalement en vue de réduire le montant de l’ISE pour un des employeurs pour cette année civile.

L’ISE est déductible du revenu d’entreprise aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu.    

Rémunération en Colombie-Britannique

La rémunération en Colombie-Britannique comprend toute la rémunération que l’employeur verse à :

  • ses employés qui se rapportent au travail dans un établissement stable de l’employeur en Colombie-Britannique;
  • ses employés qui ne se rapportent pas au travail dans un établissement stable de l’employeur, si la rémunération est versée par un établissement stable de l’employeur en Colombie-Britannique ou par son entremise.
  • l’un de ses anciens employés qui, au moment de son dernier emploi chez l’employeur, s’est rapporté au travail à un établissement stable de l’employeur en Colombie-Britannique ou ne s’est pas rapporté au travail à celui-ci, mais a été payé par un établissement stable de l’employeur en Colombie-Britannique ou par son entremise.

Lorsqu’un employé se rapporte pour le travail dans un établissement stable de l’employeur en Colombie-Britannique et aussi à l’extérieur de la Colombie-Britannique à un moment quelconque au cours d’une année civile, la rémunération totale versée à l’employé au cours de l’année civile est considérée comme une rémunération en Colombie-Britannique.

Toutefois, si le Commissaire estime qu’un employé s’est rapporté au travail dans un établissement stable d’un employeur à l’extérieur de la Colombie-Britannique pour la totalité ou la presque totalité de l’année civile, aucune portion de la rémunération versée à l’employé n’est considérée comme une rémunération en Colombie-Britannique pour l’année civile en question. 

Rémunération

En règle générale, la rémunération comprend tous les versements, prestations et indemnités reçus ou réputés reçus par un particulier et qui sont exigés en vertu des articles 5, 6 ou 7 de la LIR, ou qui seraient exigés si le particulier était résident du Canada. Il s’agit notamment des traitements et salaires, des primes, des avantages imposables, des commissions, des avantages découlant d’options d’achat d’actions et d’autres montants semblables. Pour déterminer avec certitude ce qui constitue un revenu d’emploi, consultez la LIR. Le Guide de l’employeur - Les retenues sur la paie et les versements de l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) est également une source de renseignements.

N’est pas assujettie à l’ISE la rémunération versée par les employeurs qui sont des membres inscrits des Premières nations et qui exploitent une entreprise dans une réserve. La rémunération versée aux membres inscrits des Premières nations qui travaillent pour une entreprise située dans une réserve est également exclue de l’ISE.

Se rapporter au travail à un établissement stable

Un employé est réputé « se rapporter au travail à un établissement stable de l’employeur » s’il s’y rend en personne pour y travailler ou s’il est autrement raisonnable de considérer que l’employé y est rattaché. 

Établissement stable

En général, l’établissement stable d’un employeur est une installation fixe d’affaires, notamment un bureau, une agence, une succursale, une usine, une ferme, un puits de gaz ou de pétrole, une mine, un terrain forestier, un entrepôt ou un atelier.

Le texte final de la loi comprend également une liste détaillée de présomptions d’établissements stables. Un grand nombre de dispositions aux fins de l’ISE de la Colombie-Britannique sont semblables à la définition d’un établissement stable en Colombie-Britannique en matière de répartition du revenu provincial aux fins de l’impôt sur le revenu; toutefois, certaines différences pourraient en élargir la portée aux fins de l’ISE.

Selon les présomptions législatives, un établissement stable serait :

  • L’emplacement désigné comme siège social dans la charte de société, les statuts constitutifs, la constitution ou les règlements administratifs de la société.
  • Le territoire où l’employeur exerce ses activités par l’entremise d’un employé ou d’un mandataire ayant l’autorité générale de contracter au nom de cet employeur.
  • Le territoire où l’employé ou le mandataire de l’employeur possède un stock de marchandises appartenant à l’employeur et remplit les commandes reçues à partir de ce stock de marchandises.
  • Les terrains ou bâtiments appartenant à l’employeur ou loués par celui-ci.
  • L’emplacement où l’employeur fait le plus grand usage des machines ou du matériel.
  • Dans le cas d’une compagnie d’assurance, chaque territoire sur lequel elle est enregistrée ou détient un permis pour faire des affaires.
  • Lorsque l’employeur, au cours de l’année civile, n’exploite pas autrement d’entreprise au Canada, tout endroit où il produit, cultive, exploite, crée, confectionne, fabrique, améliore, emballe, conserve, transforme ou construit, en tout ou en partie, tout bien au Canada, que l’employeur exporte ou non ce bien avant sa vente.
  • Lorsque l’employeur n’a pas d’installation fixe d’affaires, l’endroit principal où il mène ses activités et chaque endroit à partir duquel il exerce une part importante de l’activité de l’entreprise.

Employeurs non résidents

Les règles finales fournissent des lignes directrices à l’intention des « employeurs non résidents » (employeurs qui n’ont pas d’établissement stable réputé en Colombie-Britannique) qui envoient des employés en Colombie-Britannique pour y fournir des services en vertu d’un accord au profit d’un résident de cette province. Pour la période où les services sont rendus en Colombie-Britannique, ces employés seront réputés se rapporter au travail dans un établissement stable du résident de la Colombie-Britannique et réputés être employés par celui-ci. Pour cette période, le résident de la Colombie-Britannique sera également réputé avoir versé à l’employé une rémunération égale au montant de la rémunération que l’employeur non résident a versée à l’employé pour les services rendus par l’employé au profit du résident de la Colombie-Britannique. La rémunération de l’employé sera considérée comme une rémunération de la Colombie-Britannique, à moins qu’il ne soit possible de prouver qu’il se rapporte au travail dans un établissement stable de l’employeur à l’extérieur de la Colombie-Britannique pour la totalité ou la presque-totalité de l’année civile.

Il est à noter que les employeurs non résidents peuvent être des employeurs de l’extérieur de la province ou des employeurs de l’extérieur du pays.

Employeurs de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif

Des règles particulières relatives à l’ISE s’appliquent aux employeurs qui sont des organismes de bienfaisance ou des organismes sans but lucratif. En effet, l’ISE est calculé en fonction de chaque emplacement individuel. Chaque emplacement admissible a droit à une exemption de 1 500 000 $.

Pour chaque emplacement admissible ayant une rémunération en Colombie-Britannique :

  • de 1 500 000 $ (montant de l’exemption) ou moins, l’ISE de l’emplacement sera de zéro;
  • supérieure à 1 500 000 $ et de 4 500 000 $ ou moins, l’ISE pour l’emplacement sera calculé comme suit : 2,925 % x (masse salariale totale pour l’emplacement - 1 500 000 $);
  • supérieure à 4 500 000 $, l’ISE sera calculé comme suit : 1,95 % x (masse salariale totale pour l’emplacement).

Lorsqu’un employeur qui a un établissement stable pendant une partie de l’année civile seulement, le montant d’exemption et le montant du seuil auquel le taux est applicable doivent être calculés au prorata. 

La Loi sur l’impôt santé des travailleurs fournit des renseignements plus complets sur les emplacements admissibles et la rémunération en Colombie-Britannique pour les employeurs d’organismes de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif.  

La définition d’employeur d’organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif exclut un organisme faisant partie d’une entité gouvernementale, comme définie dans la Budget Transparency and Accountability Act.

Administration

Les employeurs assujettis à l’ISE sont tenus de déposer et de payer leur ISE en ligne au moyen du service « eTaxBC ». Les inscriptions pour recevoir un numéro de compte de l’ISE sont à présent ouvertes. Celles-ci doivent être complétées au plus tard le 15 mai 2019, si des acomptes provisionnels sont exigés en 2019; sinon, au plus tard le 31 décembre de la première année au cours de laquelle l’employeur est tenu de payer l’ISE.

Les employeurs dont l’impôt à payer au titre de l’ISE est supérieur à 2 925 $ pour l’année précédente sont tenus de verser des acomptes provisionnels le 15 juin, le 15 septembre et le 15 décembre de chaque année, selon le montant le moins élevé entre :

  • 25 % de l’ISE de l’année précédente;
  • 25 % de l’ISE estimatif de l’année en cours.

Pour 2019, les acomptes provisionnels sont exigibles si le seuil de 2 925 $ est susceptible d’être atteint au cours de l’année civile 2019. Le premier versement est exigible le 15 juin 2019. Les employeurs devront produire leur déclaration annuelle d’ISE et payer tout solde dû au plus tard le 31 mars de l’année suivant l’année civile.

Si un employeur cesse d’avoir un établissement stable en Colombie-Britannique, la déclaration annuelle doit être produite dans les 90 jours qui suivent.

Des pénalités peuvent être imposées en cas de défaut de production de la déclaration à la date d’échéance, soit 5 % de l’ISE impayé à la date d’échéance, plus 1 % pour chaque mois de retard. Des pénalités peuvent également être imposées en cas d’omission répétée de production de déclaration, d’omission de fournir des renseignements et/ou des documents, d’entrave à l’inspection ou à la vérification, et/ou de négligence grave.

Des intérêts pourraient être exigés sur les pénalités, les acomptes provisionnels impayés, les impôts impayés ou les remboursements excédentaires.

Commentaires de BDO

L’ISE de la Colombie-Britannique ajoute un autre impôt aux entreprises de la Colombie-Britannique visées. De nombreuses entreprises ont fait part de leurs inquiétudes au gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique quant à l’incidence de l’ISE sur le caractère concurrentiel de la province en matière de fiscalité. Malgré tout, avec l’adoption du projet de loi 44, le gouvernement a bel et bien décidé d’aller de l’avant dans son projet de remplacer les contributions au régime de services médicaux par l’ISE.

Bien que le taux de l’ISE soit plafonné à 1,95 %, le montant de la rémunération assujettie à l’impôt n’est pas plafonné, ce qui pourrait représenter un coût important pour les entreprises visées à mesure que leur rémunération en Colombie-Britannique augmente. Même si l’ISE ne s’applique pas aux employeurs dont la masse salariale est inférieure au seuil de 500 000 $ (1 500 000 $ pour les organismes de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif), on peut soutenir que ce seuil est trop bas, ce qui aura des répercussions sur un grand nombre de petites entreprises. Il est donc essentiel que les propriétaires d’entreprises contrôlent leurs coûts et saisissent les occasions de réduire les coûts. 

Même si l’embauche d’entrepreneurs indépendants peut réduire les charges salariales, les entreprises doivent savoir que le Commissaire peut refuser tout avantage fiscal qui en découlerait si l’opération est considérée comme une opération d’évitement. L’embauche d’entrepreneurs doit être fondée sur des objectifs réels, et non seulement afin d’obtenir un avantage fiscal. Les critères pour un entrepreneur indépendant par rapport à ceux d’un employé doivent être soigneusement analysés pour veiller à la qualification exacte du statut du travailleur. 

Dans le cas de sociétés privées, les actionnaires peuvent envisager de verser des dividendes et de réduire le salaire. Toutefois, comme il faut tenir compte des incidences corollaires entre le Régime de pension du Canada, le REER et les nouvelles règles en matière de fractionnement du revenu, il est plus avisé de discuter avec votre conseiller en fiscalité de BDO avant d’apporter tout changement à votre stratégie de rémunération des actionnaires.

Les entreprises qui font des affaires à l’extérieur de la Colombie-Britannique peuvent réduire les coûts si elles réexaminent leur service de paie national et mondial et leur modèle de prestation de services par des employés mobiles. Dans le cas des entreprises qui ont des employés internationaux travaillant en Colombie-Britannique ou des employés d’autres provinces travaillant en Colombie-Britannique, l’ISE peut augmenter le coût total associé aux affectations. Par conséquent, les employeurs de la Colombie-Britannique, du Canada et de l’étranger devraient examiner les incidences de l’ISE sur leurs programmes de mobilité mondiale. 

Le projet de loi 44 fournit certes des lignes directrices détaillées sur la mise en œuvre, mais il reste encore quelques points à éclaircir. Les employeurs peuvent demander au ministère des Finances de la Colombie-Britannique une interprétation technique pour obtenir des précisions.

Mesures à prendre

Les clarifications supplémentaires qui figurent dans le texte de loi final offrent peu d’allègement en matière d’ISE pour les employeurs de la Colombie-Britannique. Les entreprises doivent :

  • Se familiariser avec les nouvelles règles d’ISE.
  • Étudier et évaluer les incidences sur leurs activités, y compris la revue de leurs modèles de paie et de prestation de services, afin de dresser des plans et s’adapter.
  • Planifier leurs obligations futures au titre d’ISE, s’inscrire au service eTaxBC, verser des acomptes provisionnels au cours de l’année (le cas échéant), produire la déclaration annuelle et payer tout solde restant dû au plus tard le 31 mars de l’année suivante.

BDO peut vous aider

Nous vous invitons à communiquer avec nous dès aujourd’hui pour entamer une discussion plus approfondie au sujet de l’ISE et pour bénéficier de notre aide pratique en matière d’inscription et de paiements échelonnés. 

JOANNE SUN
Associée et chef de la gamme des Services en fiscalité des personnes expatriées, Services-conseils en immigration

GREG HAMILTON
Associé, Fiscalité canadienne


L’information présentée est à jour en date du 8 janvier 2018.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n’est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d’ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d’agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n’acceptent ni n’assument la responsabilité ou l’obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d’une action, d’une absence d’action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d’informations contenues dans cette publication.