Summary of NAFTA Round 3 Negotiations

October 2017

NTL-Firm_25Aug17_Website_NAFTA-Round-1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Round 3: September 23 to 27, 2017, Ottawa

The year-end deadline for a new NAFTA is fast approaching but little progress has been made in the first three rounds of talks. The latest meeting saw no discussion of the most contentious issues, namely, Rules of Origin and Chapter 19, on the Review and Dispute Settlement in Antidumping and Countervailing Duty matters. The one bright spot in this iteration of talks was the unanimous agreement that SMEs are key contributors to all three economies and should be recognized as accordingly in the modernized NAFTA.

What we know

According to a trilateral statement published following the negotiations, Canadian Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland, Mexican Secretary of the Economy Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal and United States Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer are now working from consolidated texts in most areas and have made “meaningful advancements” in the areas of telecommunications, competition policy, digital trade, good regulatory practices and customs and trade facilitation. Consistent with the previous two rounds, few details have been made public.

All three governments put through proposals in the area of market access to government procurement opportunities and how businesses might be able to bid on government contracts beyond their own borders. They will start to unpack these initial offers in round 4.

The most substantive advances came in the area of SMEs. The modernized NAFTA will include a chapter on how to support and develop these economic engines by stimulating and enhancing information sharing between SMEs in the three countries and the creation of a NAFTA Trilateral SME Dialogue, which will involve the private sector, non-government organizations and other stakeholders. The negotiators are also looking at customs and trade facilitation, digital trade, and good regulatory practices to help grow SMEs in all three countries.

Sign up for NAFTA updates

Sticking Points

Rules of Origin

Right out of the gate, in the first round of negotiations in Washington back in August, U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer made it clear the U.S. wants to increase the North American content requirement and add a specific American content requirement for goods and services to be entitled to preferential tariff treatment under NAFTA. He revisited Rules of Origin in round 3 but has yet to offer any concrete numbers.

Paul Boucher, BDO’s Special Advisory Services Lead said, “Changes to the Rules of Origin content percentages will have the single most important impact on automotive suppliers and related manufacturing companies. The move from a North American content formula to a country specific content formula will actually increase the overall cost of components.

Additionally, the integrated supply chain that has been developed over decades providing an efficient, low cost source of high quality parts will be compromised which will add additional costs to system. The increased costs of supplying automotive components will ultimately be paid for by the U.S. consumer when they purchase a vehicle.”

If we look at auto manufacturing, under the existing rules of origin, vehicles must have at least 62.5 percent North American content to qualify for duty-free movement between Canada, the U.S. and Mexico. A review of several reports in the U.S. suggests Americans want to raise that to 70% with a specific U.S. content requirement ranging from 35% to 50%. They also want to add steel and electronics to the list of auto parts that must meet Rules of Origin requirements.

In an article in the Windsor Star the day after round 3 concluded, Flavio Volpe, president of the Automotive Parts Manufacturers’ Association in Canada, reported his members were “not worried” about the U.S. ‘America First’ strategy because he believes the Trump administration recognizes that “America First hurts American interests and American corporate investments... The last thing you want to do is hurt your own.”

The tightening of content rules is aimed at preventing products made by third-party, low-cost countries benefitting from the ‘Made in North America’ label. However, it also touches on a shared concern of both Canada and the U.S.: less stringent labour standards and lower pay in Mexico. In Ontario, which has just raised the minimum wage, this is a real source of contention. Mexico has drawn investment based on weak union rules and capitalizing on low wages. This area of discussion was a gap in the initial agreement, and there is still no clear way forward. Canada has said it will come forward in support of its unionized workers in negotiating NAFTA.

Chapter 19

The context: NAFTA’s Chapter 19 is a dispute settlement process that allows binational arbitration panels to make binding decisions on complaints about illegal subsidies and dumping. Canada is determined to keep Chapter 19 in the new NAFTA. The U.S. (which has lost many of these cases) is set on eliminating it.

With tensions around Chapter 19 already high, at the midpoint of Round 3 discussions, the U.S. Commerce Department announced a 220 percent tariff on Canadian aerospace behemoth Bombardier’s C Series jets imported into the U.S. Since January, the U.S. has been making good on its ‘America First’ promise with a significant spike in anti-dumping and countervailing cases against its G20 trade partners.

The U.S. Commerce Department’s astronomical duty on Bombardier only reinforces Minister Freeland and Canada’s position to keep the dispute-settlement mechanism in the new NAFTA, which could extend NAFTA negotiations well beyond the December 2017 deadline.

What’s Next

Round 4 of negotiations will take place from October 11 to 15, 2017, in Washington, D.C. In the interim, negotiators plan to complete work on competition issues.

There are local town-halls hosted by Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Andrew Leslie, scheduled for October 10th at the Town Hall at the Munk School of Global Affairs, and October 11th at the Town Hall at McMaster University.

BDO would also like to get your take on how negotiations are going. Have your say by taking part in our survey: NAFTA – What are Canadian Businesses Thinking About?

Sommaire de la troisième ronde de négociations de l’ALENA

10 octobre 2017

NTL-Firm_25Aug17_Website_NAFTA-Round-1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

L’échéance pour la signature d’un nouvel ALENA, fixée à la fin de l’année, approche à grands pas. Néanmoins, peu de progrès ont été réalisés au cours des trois premières rondes de discussion. La dernière réunion n’a fait l’objet d’aucune discussion sur les sujets les plus litigieux, notamment les Règles d’origine et le Chapitre 19, Examen et règlement des différends en matière de droits antidumping et compensateurs. Le point positif de cette itération de discussions : une entente unanime sur le fait que les PME sont les principaux contributeurs des trois économies, et qu’elles doivent être reconnues ainsi dans l’ALENA modernisé.

Ce que nous savons

Selon une déclaration trilatérale publiée à la suite des négociations, Chrystia Freeland, ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal, secrétaire mexicain de l’Économie et Robert Lighthizer, représentant au Commerce pour les États-Unis, travaillent désormais à partir de textes consolidés dans la plupart des domaines. Des « progrès considérables » ont été réalisés dans les domaines des télécommunications, de la politique de la concurrence, du commerce numérique, des bonnes pratiques de réglementation, ainsi que du régime douanier et de la facilitation des échanges. Comme ce fut le cas pour les deux rondes précédentes, peu de détails ont été rendus publics.

Les trois gouvernements ont soumis des propositions qui ont trait à l’accès à des projets de marchés publics et à la manière dont les entreprises pourront soumissionner pour l’obtention de contrats gouvernementaux au-delà de leurs frontières. Ils commenceront à dévoiler ces offres initiales à la quatrième ronde.

Le progrès le plus significatif touche le secteur des PME. L’ALENA modernisé comprendra un chapitre sur les moyens de soutenir et de développer ces moteurs économiques en stimulant et en améliorant le partage d’information entre les PME de ces trois pays, et en créant un dialogue trilatéral des PME de l’ALENA, mobilisant le secteur privé, des organisations non gouvernementales et d’autres intervenants. Les négociateurs évaluent le régime douanier et la facilitation des échanges, le commerce électronique et les bonnes pratiques de réglementation, pour contribuer à la croissance des PME de ces trois pays.

Inscrivez-vous pour obtenir des mises à jour sur l’ALENA
 

Points d’opposition

Règles d’origine

En lever de rideau, à la première ronde de négociations, tenue à Washington en août dernier, le représentant au Commerce des États-Unis Robert Lighthizer a souligné que les États-Unis veulent augmenter les exigences en matière de contenu nord-américain et ajouter une exigence particulière concernant le contenu américain des biens et services, qui lui ferait profiter d’un traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu de l’ALENA. Il a réexaminé les Règles d’origine lors de la troisième ronde, mais n’a toujours pas de données concrètes à présenter.

Paul Boucher, chef des services-conseils spéciaux de BDO, a déclaré : « Les pourcentages de contenu des Règles d’origine auront le plus de répercussions sur les fournisseurs du secteur de l’automobile et sur les entreprises manufacturières connexes. La transition entre une formule de contenu nord-américain vers une formule de contenu précise à un pays fera augmenter, en fait, le coût global des pièces.

De plus, la chaîne d’approvisionnement intégrée, développée au fil des décennies, source efficace et à faible coût de pièces de haute qualité, sera menacée, ce qui ajoutera des coûts supplémentaires au système. L’augmentation des coûts reliés à la distribution des pièces automobiles sera payée, au bout du compte, par les consommateurs américains, lorsqu’ils achèteront un véhicule ».

En ce qui concerne les fabricants automobiles, en vertu des Règles d’origine, les véhicules doivent être composés d’au moins 62,5 pour cent de contenu nord-américain pour avoir le droit de circuler librement entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique. Une étude de plusieurs rapports publiés aux États-Unis suggère que les Américains souhaitent faire passer ce chiffre à 70 %, dont une exigence de contenu américain entre 35 et 50 %. Ce pays veut également ajouter l’acier et les composantes électroniques aux pièces d’auto assujetties aux exigences des Règles d’origine.

Dans un article du Windsor Star publié le lendemain de la conclusion de la troisième ronde, Flavio Volpe, président de l’Association des fabricants de pièces d’automobile au Canada, a affirmé que ses membres ne « craignaient pas » la stratégie « l’Amérique d’abord », car il croit que l’administration Trump reconnaît que « Les États-Unis affectent d’abord les intérêts américains et les investissements des entreprises américaines… La dernière chose qu’un pays veut faire est de se nuire lui-même ».

Le resserrement des règles sur le contenu vise à empêcher que des produits fabriqués par des pays tiers, générant peu de coûts, profitent de l’étiquette « Fabriqué en Amérique du Nord ». Toutefois, il cible aussi une préoccupation partagée par le Canada et les États-Unis : des normes moins strictes en matière de main-d’œuvre et des salaires inférieurs au Mexique. En Ontario, où le salaire minimum vient d’augmenter, il s’agit d’une véritable source de conflit. Le Mexique a attiré des investissements pour tirer parti des réglementations timides en matière de syndicalisation et des faibles salaires. Cet aspect était une lacune du premier accord, et la piste de solution n’est toujours pas claire. Le Canada a déclaré qu’elle la corrigera, en négociant l’ALENA d’une manière qui appuie les travailleurs syndiqués.

Chapitre 19

Le contexte : Le chapitre 19 de l’ALENA est un processus visant le règlement de différends, qui permet aux groupes spéciaux d’arbitrage binationaux de prendre des décisions contraignantes à la suite de plaintes concernant les subventions et le dumping illégaux. Le Canada est déterminé à maintenir le chapitre 19 dans le nouvel ALENA. Les États-Unis (qui ont perdu de nombreuses causes en cette matière) travaillent à l’éliminer.

Dans un contexte où les tensions au sujet du chapitre 19 étaient déjà élevées, au cœur des discussions de la troisième ronde, le département américain du Commerce a annoncé qu’il imposerait une tarification de 220 pour cent aux avions C Series du géant de l’aéronautique canadien Bombardier importés aux États-Unis. Depuis janvier, les États-Unis ont bien mis en application leur promesse « l’Amérique d’abord », comme le montre la hausse importante de causes d’antidumping et de compensations contre ses partenaires commerciaux du G20.

La tâche astronomique du département américain de Commerce qui touche Bombardier ne fait que renforcer la position de la ministre Freeland et du Canada, en faveur du maintien du mécanisme de règlement de différends dans le nouvel ALENA, ce qui pourrait prolonger les négociations bien au-delà de l’échéance du mois de décembre 2017.

Prochaines étapes

La quatrième ronde de négociations aura lieu du 11 au 15 octobre 2017, à Washington D.C. Entre-temps, les négociateurs s’attendent à achever le travail en ce qui a trait aux enjeux de concurrence.

Des séances de discussion locales sont prévues, animées par le secrétaire parlementaire du ministère des Affaires étrangères, Andrew Leslie. Une assemblée est prévue le 10 octobre à la Munk School of Global Affairs, et une autre le 11 octobre à l’Université McMaster.

BDO aimerait aussi savoir ce que vous pensez du déroulement des négociations. Exprimez-vous en participant à notre sondage : NAFTA – What are Canadian Businesses Thinking About? (ALENA – À quoi les entreprises canadiennes pensent-elles?)

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.