Summary of NAFTA Round 1 Negotiations

August 30, 2017

NTL-Firm_25Aug17_Website_NAFTA-Round-1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Round 1 negotiations: August 16-20

Canada, Mexico and the United States wrapped up round 1 of NAFTA negotiations in Washington, and though few details were given surrounding topics of discussion, all countries have made it clear they intend to expedite talks to avoid potential complications caused by Mexico’s presidential vote next summer and the U.S. midterm elections in the fall. All three countries have also agreed there is an immediate need to modernize and update NAFTA, given the dramatic advancements in technology we have seen since NAFTA’s inception in 1994.

“The scope and volume of proposals during the first round of the negotiation reflects a commitment from all three countries to an ambitious outcome and reaffirms the importance of updating the rules governing the world’s largest free trade area,” a joint statement said.

“Whether negotiators will be able to stick with the expedited schedule remains unclear, as there are some big issues at play, and currently some differing – and in some cases conflicting – viewpoints,” said Dean Elliott, Managing Partner, Central Group and Markets Strategic Lead. President Trump has also stated multiple times at recent rallies that he would likely terminate NAFTA altogether if a deal can’t be reached, though these statements have been met with little reaction from both Canada and Mexico. 

NAFTA Fast Facts

  • NAFTA came into effect on January 1, 1994 after being signed by Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, Mexican President Carlos Salinas de Gortari and U.S. President George H.W. Bush

  • In 2016, trilateral trade among the countries reached nearly US$1 trillion—more than a threefold increase since 1993

  • Approximately 400,000 people and over $2.4 billion worth of goods and services cross the Canada-United States border daily

  • Approximately 1.9 million Canadian jobs are related to Canadian exports to the United States

SIGN UP FOR REGULAR NAFTA UPDATES

What we know

Round 1 of negotiations featured a number of ‘detailed conceptual presentations’ from each country along with discussions on approximately 24 topics, though few details have been made available surrounding the specifics of these topics.

This lack of information leaves a number of question marks surrounding future negotiations and how an updated NAFTA could impact small and medium-sized business (SMB) owners in particular. All three countries have agreed to focus on improving trade opportunities and modernizing agreements to benefit SMBs, though what this will look like remains to be seen.

To date, there has been much speculation surrounding what changes will be implemented in two key areas: procurement and Chapter 19.

Potential Impacts

Procurement

Both Canada and Mexico want to reduce the U.S. ‘Buy American’ mentality and expand procurement obligations to give their companies more opportunities to bid on U.S. government contracts. The Canadian government is reportedly “working on a number of fronts to improve and secure government procurement market access for Canadian suppliers.” Similarly, the Trump administration wants to provide U.S. companies with expanded opportunities to bid on government contracts in Canada, however, they are firm in their intent to maintain protectionist policies that would prevent Canada from doing the same.

Carrie Gallo, Partner and National Public Sector Leader believes that in addition to the issue above, governments may also be looking to reshape and regulate the procurement process. For example, the government's ability to request that a select number of vendors be able to bid on public sector contracts for goods and services valued under the NAFTA dollar limit, may change. "Increasing the NAFTA limit to account for such things as inflation will streamline the RFP process, reduce the cost of sale and ultimately reduce the costs to governments," said Gallo.

She also believes data privacy and cloud storage could be a potential source of conflict during negotiations. As more and more organizations and governments transition to cloud storage technologies, the question of how and where that data is stored – and who has the right to access it – has come into play. Currently, Canada has stringent rules and regulations surrounding the storage of personal data and have made it clear this is an area they would like to continue protecting. The U.S. would like to see fewer regulations, and in a list of NAFTA objectives, are urging Canada and Mexico to “refrain from imposing measures in the financial services sector that restrict cross-border data flows or that require the use or installation of local computing facilities.”

Chapter 19

Chapter 19 has been at the centre of a heated debate between Canada and the U.S. for years – and has once again sparked conflict between the two countries. Similar to free-trade agreement negotiations in 1987 that nearly broke down over the dispute-settlement provision, Canada has remained steadfast in its desire to uphold Chapter 19, a stance strongly supported by the country’s manufacturing sector, however, the U.S. has been adamant about getting rid of the clause.

“For manufacturers, it is clear Chapter 19, the dispute-settlement mechanism that decides the rights and wrongs of trade disagreements, cannot be eliminated as the U.S. requested. In the past, the government has said it is a potential deal breaker, and our members tend to agree,” said Dennis Darby, President and CEO of the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters.

Foreign Affairs Minister Chrystia Freeland has also said publicly that if Chapter 19 remains a sticking point, Canada is willing to walk away from negotiations. Her statement was supported by Mexico, who agree it is vitally important to uphold impartiality in trade dispute settlements.

What is Chapter 19?

Chapter 19 is a dispute-resolution mechanism that is integral to how countries settle trade disputes. If an industry in Country A believes that competitors in Country B are selling products at below-market prices, they can appeal to an independent panel of trade experts from both countries, rather than appealing only to the courts in Country A or Country B, which would likely result in a biased decision. The U.S. government has argued that Chapter 19 is unfair to Americans – while the Canadian government sees it as a vital defense against protectionism.

What’s next?

NAFTA negotiations resume September 1 in Mexico City. "We will continue to watch the negotiation process with great interest to get a deeper insight into what the ramifications might be for our clients,” Elliot said. “Our countries are deeply integrated and vital as trading partners and it will definitely be interesting to see where future negotiations lead.”

Round 2: Talks reconvene September 1-5 in Mexico City
Round 3: Scheduled for late September in Ottawa
Round 4: Scheduled for October in Washington

In total, it is anticipated there will be seven rounds of negotiations.

Stay in the loop – register to receive NAFTA updates as they happen.

SIGN UP FOR NAFTA UPDATES


For more information on NAFTA, contact us today or read our other NAFTA insights:
NAFTA 2.0: Key Issues and Next Steps
Summary of NAFTA Round 2 Negotiations (Mexico City, September 1-5)
Summary of NAFTA Round 3 Negotiations (Ottawa, September 23-27)
Summary of NAFTA Round 4 Negotiations (Washington, October 11-15)
NAFTA Renegotiation Impact on Immigration
NAFTA Renegotiation Impact on the Retail Industry
NAFTA Renegotiation Impact on Government Procurement

Have your say

To ensure the needs of Canadian businesses and business owners are properly represented, the Canadian government will continue holding public forums to discuss NAFTA with Canadians, industry stakeholders and business representatives from key sectors that are vital to our country’s prosperity.

Learn more.

Sommaire de la première ronde de négociations de l’ALÉNA

30 août 2017

NTL-Firm_25Aug17_Website_NAFTA-Round-1_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Première ronde de négociations : Du 16 au 20 août

Le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis ont conclu la première ronde de négociations de l’ALÉNA à Washington, et bien que très peu de renseignements sur les sujets abordés aient filtré, tous les pays ont clairement manifesté leur intention d’éviter les complications éventuelles engendrées par les élections présidentielles du Mexique de l’été prochain et les élections de mi-mandat aux États-Unis à l’automne. Les trois pays ont également convenu du besoin immédiat de mettre à jour et de moderniser l’ALÉNA en raison des progrès spectaculaires réalisés en matière de technologies depuis la création de l’ALÉNA en 1994.

« La portée et la longueur des textes proposés durant la première ronde de négociations témoignent de l’engagement des trois pays à conclure un accord ambitieux et de l’importance de mettre à jour les règles régissant la plus grande zone de libre-échange au monde », indique une déclaration commune.

« Il est difficile de déterminer si les négociateurs seront en mesure de respecter le calendrier accéléré, car il y a des enjeux majeurs à résoudre et des points de vue différents, parfois conflictuels », a affirmé Dean Elliott, associé directeur, Groupe du centre et chef, stratégie des marchés. Le président Trump a aussi mentionné à plusieurs reprises lors de rassemblements récents qu’il prévoit abolir l’ALÉNA si un accord ne peut être conclu, mais ces déclarations n’ont suscité que peu de réactions de la part du Canada et du Mexique.

Faits saillants sur l’ALÉNA

  • L’ALÉNA est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 1994 après avoir été signé par le premier ministre Brian Mulroney, le président mexicain Carlos Salinas de Gortari et le président américain George H.W. Bush
  • En 2016, le commerce trilatéral entre les pays a atteint près d’un billion de dollars américains, soit plus de trois fois plus que le plafond de 1993
  • Environ 400 000 personnes et des biens et services d’une valeur de plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars traversent chaque jour la frontière canado-américaine
  • Environ 1,9 million d’emplois canadiens sont liés aux exportations canadiennes vers les États-Unis

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR OBTENIR DES MISES À JOUR RÉGULIÈRES SUR L’ALÉNA

 

Ce que nous savons

La première ronde de négociations a regroupé des exposés théoriques détaillés de chaque pays et des discussions sur environ 24 sujets dont on ne connaît pas les détails.
Ce manque d’information suscite des points d’interrogation au sujet des futures négociations et des répercussions éventuelles de la mise à jour de l’ALÉNA, en particulier sur les propriétaires de petites et moyennes entreprises. Les pays ont convenu de se concentrer sur l’amélioration des possibilités d’échanges commerciaux et la modernisation des ententes afin qu’elles soient avantageuses pour les PME, même si on ne sait toujours pas ce qui reste à voir.

À ce jour, on a beaucoup spéculé sur les changements qui seront adoptés pour deux enjeux principaux : l’approvisionnement et le chapitre 19.

Incidences potentielles

Approvisionnement

Le Canada et le Mexique veulent réduire les mesures favorisant les achats aux États-Unis et élargir les exigences d’approvisionnement pour que leurs entreprises aient davantage d’occasions de soumissionner sur les contrats du gouvernement américain. Le gouvernement du Canada « travaille actuellement à plusieurs niveaux pour améliorer l’accès des fournisseurs canadiens aux marchés publics ». De même, l’administration Trump entend fournir aux entreprises américaines plus d’occasions de soumissionner sur les contrats du gouvernement canadien, tout en ayant la ferme intention de maintenir les politiques protectionnistes qui empêcheraient le Canada de faire de même.

Carrie Gallo, associée et chef national, Secteur public croit qu’en plus de la question ci-dessus, les gouvernements pourraient aussi envisager de remanier et réglementer le processus d’approvisionnement. Par exemple, la capacité des gouvernements à demander qu’un nombre déterminé de fournisseurs puissent soumissionner sur les contrats du secteur public pour des biens et services d’une valeur inférieure à la limite de l’ALÉNA, pourrait changer. « La hausse de la limite de l’ALÉNA pour tenir compte d’éléments comme l’inflation permettra de rationaliser le processus de demande de proposition, de réduire le coût de vente, et ultimement, de réduire les coûts pour les gouvernements », a déclaré madame Gallo.

Elle croit également que la protection des données et le stockage infonuagique pourraient représenter une source de conflit pendant les négociations. En effet, de plus en plus d’organisations et de gouvernements effectuent la transition vers les technologies de stockage infonuagique, et la méthode et l’endroit de conservation des données, ainsi que les personnes qui ont le droit d’y accéder, entrent en jeu. Actuellement, le Canada applique des règles et procédures strictes sur le stockage des données personnelles et a fait savoir clairement qu’il tient à continuer de les protéger. Les États-Unis souhaitent avoir moins de réglementation, et dans une liste des objectifs de l’ALÉNA, exhortent le Canada et le Mexique à « s’abstenir d’imposer des mesures dans le secteur des services financiers qui restreignent la circulation transfrontalière de données ou qui nécessitent l’utilisation d’installations informatiques locales ».

Chapitre 19

Le chapitre 19 est au cœur d’un débat houleux entre le Canada et les États-Unis qui perdure depuis des années et qui a de nouveau déclenché un conflit entre les deux pays. Comme lors des négociations sur l’accord de libre-échange en 1987 qui ont failli échouer sur la disposition concernant le règlement des différends, le Canada est demeuré ferme quant à son désir de maintenir le chapitre 19; une position qui a reçu un appui solide de la part du secteur de la fabrication du pays. Cependant, les États-Unis persistent à vouloir éliminer cette disposition.

« Pour les fabricants, il est clair que le chapitre 19, le mécanisme de règlement des différends qui détermine le bien-fondé des désaccords commerciaux, ne peut être éliminé comme les États-Unis l’ont demandé. Par le passé, le gouvernement a mentionné qu’il s’agissait d’un point de discorde possible et nos membres abondent dans le même sens », a souligné Dennis Darby, président et premier dirigeant de Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada.

La ministre des Affaires étrangères, Chrystia Freeland, a également déclaré publiquement que si le chapitre 19 demeure un point d’achoppement, le Canada pourrait abandonner les négociations. Sa déclaration a été appuyée par le Mexique, qui convient qu’il est impératif de maintenir l’impartialité pour le règlement des désaccords commerciaux.

Qu’est-ce que le chapitre 19?

Le chapitre 19 est un mécanisme de règlement des conflits qui fait partie intégrante de la méthode de règlement des désaccords commerciaux entre les pays. Si un secteur du pays A croit que les concurrents du pays B vendent des produits à un prix inférieur à la valeur du marché, ils peuvent faire appel à un groupe spécial indépendant réunissant des spécialistes du commerce des deux pays plutôt que les seuls tribunaux du pays A ou du pays B, ce qui risquerait d’entraîner une décision partiale. Le gouvernement américain soutient que le chapitre 19 est injuste pour les Américains, alors que le gouvernement canadien considère qu’il s’agit d’une mesure de défense essentielle contre le protectionnisme.  

Quelle est la prochaine étape?

Les négociations de l’ALÉNA reprendront le 1er septembre à Mexico. « Nous continuerons de surveiller le processus de négociation avec beaucoup d’intérêt, afin de mieux comprendre les ramifications éventuelles pour nos clients, a mentionné Dean Elliot. Nos pays sont très intégrés, et ce sont des partenaires commerciaux essentiels. Il sera intéressant de voir où mèneront les futures négociations ».

Deuxième ronde : Les discussions reprennent du 1er au 5 septembre à Mexico
Troisième ronde : Prévue pour la fin septembre à Ottawa
Quatrième ronde : Prévue pour le mois d’octobre à Washington

Au total, sept rondes de négociations sont prévues.

INSCRIVEZ-VOUS POUR OBTENIR DES MISES À JOUR RÉGULIÈRES SUR L’ALÉNA
 

Exprimez-vous Afin de veiller à ce que les entreprises canadiennes et leurs propriétaires soient adéquatement représentés, le gouvernement canadien continuera d’organiser des forums publics pour discuter de l’ALÉNA avec les Canadiens, les intervenants de l’industrie et les représentants d’entreprises de secteurs jouant un rôle prépondérant dans la prospérité de notre pays.
En savoir plus. 

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’ALÉNA, communiquez avec nous dès aujourd’hui.