2018 Ontario Budget: A Plan for Care and Opportunity

March 28, 2018

NTL_16Mar18_Social_Flag-Budget_ON_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

On March 28, 2018, the Honourable Charles Sousa presented his seventh budget as Minister of Finance ahead of the upcoming election on June 7, 2018. This budget focuses on:

  1. Healthcare
  2. Childcare
  3. Seniors

Currently, Ontario has a surplus of $600 million forecasted for 2017-18, but it’s anticipated there will be a deficit of $6.7 billion in 2018-19 followed by deficits of $6.6 billion and $6.5 billion in each of the following fiscal years.

New Programs and Initiatives

The Ontario government promised to invest in new programs and expand on the following initiatives:

1. Healthcare

The government will introduce a new Drug and Dental Program in summer of 2019. It will reimburse 80 percent, up to a maximum of $400 per single person, $600 per couple and $700 for a family of four, of eligible prescription drug and dental expenses each year for those without benefits through their employer or not covered by OHIP+ or other government programs.

2. Childcare

The budget allocated more spending for childcare by introducing free preschool childcare for children aged two-and-a-half until they’re eligible for kindergarten, which will begin in 2020.

3. Seniors

Ontario will introduce a Healthy Home Program starting in 2019-20, which will provide a benefit to offset the cost of home maintenance for eligible households led by seniors 75 and over. The budget also proposes providing seniors with more access to home and community healthcare services through a $650 million investment over three years.

Download our full 2018 Ontario budget for additional information.

DOWNLOAD REPORT

Budget de l’Ontario de 2018 : Un plan axé sur le mieux-être et l’avenir

28 mars 2018

NTL_16Mar18_Social_Flag-Budget_ON_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 28 mars 2018, l’honorable Charles Sousa, ministre des Finances, a présenté son septième budget avant les élections qui se tiendront le 7 juin 2018. Ce budget met l’accent sur les enjeux suivants :

  1. Soins de santé
  2. Services de garde d’enfants
  3. Aînés

À l’heure actuelle, l’Ontario prévoit disposer d’un surplus de 600 millions de dollars pour 2017-2018, mais devrait accuser un déficit de 6,7 milliards de dollars en 2018-2019, suivi de déficits de 6,6 milliards de dollars et de 6,5 milliards de dollars pour chacun des exercices suivants.

Le gouvernement ontarien a promis d’investir dans de nouveaux programmes et d’élargir les initiatives suivantes :

1. Soins de santé

Le gouvernement proposera un nouveau programme pour les médicaments et les soins dentaires qui entrera en vigueur à l’été 2019. Il remboursera 80 % des frais liés aux médicaments sur ordonnance et aux soins dentaires admissibles, jusqu’à un maximum par année de 400 $ par personne célibataire, 600 $ pour un couple et 700 $ pour les familles de quatre personnes. Ce programme s’adresse à tous ceux qui ne sont pas couverts par un régime d’avantages sociaux fourni par leur employeur ou qui ne sont pas couverts par l’Assurance-santé Plus ou d’autres programmes gouvernementaux.

2. Services de garde d’enfants

Le budget a affecté davantage de fonds aux services de garde d’enfants en instaurant l’enseignement préscolaire gratuit aux enfants âgés de deux ans et demi jusqu’à leur admission à la maternelle à compter de 2020.

3. Aînés

L’Ontario lancera le programme Bien chez soi pour les aînés en 2019-2020, qui fournira une aide financière pour compenser les coûts d’entretien des habitations pour les ménages admissibles dirigés par au moins une personne âgée de 75 ans ou plus. Le budget propose d’offrir aux aînés un meilleur accès à des services de santé à domicile et en milieu communautaire grâce à un investissement de 650 millions de dollars sur trois ans.

Téléchargez notre rapport complet sur le budget de l’Ontario de 2018 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

TÉLÉCHARGEZ LE RAPPORT