2018 Federal Budget: Equality and Growth

February 27, 2018


On February 27, 2018, the Honourable Bill Morneau presented his third budget as Minister of Finance. The 2018 Federal Budget, entitled “Equality and Growth,” focuses on:

  1. Improving the economic success of women and advancing Canada’s gender equality goals.
  2. Enhancing innovation funding to improve the competiveness of the Canadian business environment.
  3. Continuing with its agenda of changing the tax rules for private companies by introducing new measures that impact the taxation of passive investments.

The federal government announced that the deficit for the 2017-18 fiscal year is $19.4 billion, which is lower than the $28.5 billion deficit predicted in last year’s budget. This is due to the enhanced performance of the Canadian economy over the past fiscal year. For the 2018-19 fiscal year a deficit of $18.1 billion is forecast, which includes a $3 billion contingency reserve. A significant concern for the Canadian business community is the balancing of the budget and a plan for the elimination of the deficit, yet this budget contains no mention of a plan for a return to surplus.

The key issues in the 2018 Budget for Canadian businesses include:

1. Gender Equality

The government has made it a priority to address gender inequality in Canadian society and promoting the economic success of women. The government has indicated that the Budget measures have gone through a gender-based analysis with the goal of allocating government resources more equitably and efficiently. The Budget includes measures such as a new Women Entrepreneurship Strategy designed to increase the number of businesses owned by women and an enhanced parental leave Employment Insurance benefit for the second parent.

2. Innovation

There is significant concern in the Canadian business community that the renegotiation of NAFTA and the reduction of U.S. corporate tax rates as part of U.S. Tax Reform may have a negative impact on Canadian business competiveness. There was very little acknowledgement of these concerns in the Budget with the government only indicating that it will monitor the impact of the U.S. tax reforms on Canada. The budget did contain new funding to support innovation in Canada with $2.6 billion to be spent over five years to transform Canada’s innovation programs. No changes were announced to the Scientific Research and Experimental Development tax credit program.

3. Private Company Taxation

The government introduced rules intended to limit the ability to build a passive investment portfolio owned by a private corporation. The rules announced are a significant improvement over the original proposals released in July 2017 and the revised proposals in October 2017. The small business deduction will be reduced by $5 for every $1 of investment income above the new annual $50,000 investment income limit and will be eliminated when annual investment income is $150,000 or higher. 

Download our full report of the 2018 Federal Budget for additional information.

Download Full Report

Interested in learning more about the 2018 budget?

For a comprehensive discussion of the federal budget, watch our on demand webinar.

Watch Now

Budget fédéral de 2018 : Égalité et croissance

27 février 2018

NTL_16Feb18_Social_Flag-Budget_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Le 27 février 2018, l’honorable Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances, a présenté son troisième budget. Le budget fédéral de 2018, intitulé « Égalité et croissance » cible :

  1. L’amélioration de la réussite économique des femmes et l’avancement des objectifs liés à l’égalité des sexes au Canada.
  2. L’augmentation du financement consacré à l’innovation pour améliorer le caractère concurrentiel du milieu des affaires au Canada.
  3. La poursuite de l’ordre du jour du gouvernement en ce qui a trait aux changements des règles fiscales pour les sociétés privées en introduisant de nouvelles mesures qui auront une incidence sur l’imposition du revenu de placement passif.

Le gouvernement fédéral a annoncé que le déficit pour l’année fiscale 2017-2018 s’élève à 19,4 milliards de dollars, ce qui est inférieur au déficit de 28,5 milliards de dollars prévu dans le budget de l’an dernier. Cela est attribuable à la performance accrue de l’économie canadienne au cours de la dernière année fiscale. Pour l’année fiscale 2018-2019, un déficit de 18,1 milliards de dollars est prévu. Ce dernier comprend une réserve pour éventualités de 3 milliards de dollars.  L’une des grandes préoccupations de la communauté d'affaires canadienne est le retour à l’équilibre budgétaire et un plan pour éliminer le déficit. Pourtant, ce budget ne fait aucune mention d’un plan pour un retour vers un excédent budgétaire.

Les grands enjeux du budget de 2018 à l’égard des entreprises canadiennes comprennent:

Égalité des sexes

Le gouvernement met la priorité sur la lutte contre l’inégalité entre les sexes au sein de la société canadienne et met de l’avant la réussite économique des femmes.  Le gouvernement a indiqué que les mesures du budget ont fait l’objet d’une analyse comparative entre les sexes dans le but d'affecter les ressources gouvernementales plus équitablement et plus efficacement. Le budget comprend des mesures comme la « nouvelle stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat », qui vise à accroître le nombre d'entreprises détenues par des femmes, de même que la bonification des prestations parentales pour le parent n'ayant pas donné naissance.

Innovation

La communauté d’affaires canadienne craint que la renégociation de l’ALENA et la réduction des taux d'imposition des sociétés aux États-Unis dans le cadre de la réforme fiscalité américaine puisse nuire à la concurrence des entreprises canadiennes. Le budget traite très peu de ces préoccupations, et le gouvernement indique uniquement qu’il surveillera l’incidence des réformes fiscales américaines sur le Canada. Le budget contenait 2,6 milliards de dollars de nouveaux fonds pour soutenir l’innovation au Canada à dépenser sur cinq ans pour transformer les programmes d’innovation du Canada. Le gouvernement n’a annoncé aucun changement au programme de crédit d’impôt pour la recherche scientifique et le développement expérimental.

Imposition des sociétés privées

Le gouvernement a introduit des règles visant à limiter la capacité à établir un portefeuille de placements passif détenu par une société privée. Les règles annoncées constituent une amélioration importante par rapport aux propositions initiales publiées en juillet 2017 et aux propositions révisées d’octobre 2017. La déduction accordée aux petites entreprises sera réduite de 5 $ par 1 $ de revenu de placement supérieur au nouveau seuil annuel de 50 000 $ et sera éliminée lorsque le revenu de placement annuel sera de 150 000 $ ou plus. 

Téléchargez notre résumé du budget fédéral

Vous aimeriez en apprendre plus sur le budget de 2018?

Participez gratuitement à notre webinaire du 1er mars 2018 (en anglais seulement) qui prendra la forme d’une table ronde sur les répercussions du budget fédéral en cliquant sur le bouton ci-dessous. Nous vous invitons également à prendre part à notre événement qui aura lieu à Montréal le 2 mars.

Inscrivez-vous maintenant