2018 Fall Economic Statement

November 21, 2018



On November 21, 2018, the Honourable Bill Morneau presented the federal government’s 2018 Fall Economic Statement. In the 2018 Federal Budget, the government stated that they would conduct detailed analysis of US tax reform to assess any potential impacts on Canada. In this Economic Statement, the government responded and announced measures to improve the competitiveness of the Canadian tax system as it relates to investments by Canadian businesses.

Download Now

 

How does the Fall Economic Statement impact key industries? Some of our industry leaders provided insight:

Mike Gillespie, Partner, National Manufacturing Leader:
In its latest fiscal update, the federal government is responding to recent US Tax Reforms. Many of the issues being addressed are consistent with feedback provided by Canada’s manufacturing community.  Key among them include: allowing the full cost of machinery and equipment used in the manufacturing and processing of goods to be written off immediately for tax purposes, the introduction of the Accelerated Investment Incentive, accelerating support for business innovation by providing an additional $800M to the Strategic Innovation Fund, and removing barriers to trade within Canada.

Peter Matutat, Partner, National Technology & Life Sciences Leader:
In an attempt to increase the competitiveness of the Canadian tax system, the latest fiscal update by the federal government has provided the Technology sector with some measures to help stimulate investment. Key among them include: an injection of an additional $800M to the Strategic Innovation Fund to help companies with R&D, the Accelerated Investment Incentive, which will allow businesses of all sizes to write off a larger share of the cost of newly acquired assets in the year the investment is made. There will also be a contribution of $50M towards increasing venture capital available to cleantech companies under the Venture Capital Catalyst Initiative, and removing barriers to trade within Canada.

Énoncé Économique De L’automne 2018

21 novembre 2018

Le 21 novembre 2018, l’honorable Bill Morneau a dévoilé l’Énoncé économique de l’automne 2018 du gouvernement fédéral. Dans le budget fédéral de 2018, le gouvernement avait annoncé qu’il procèderait à une analyse détaillée de la réforme fiscale américaine pour en déterminer les répercussions pour le Canada. Par l’intermédiaire de cet Énoncé économique, le gouvernement affiche ses couleurs et présente des mesures pour améliorer l’attrait du régime fiscal canadien au chapitre des investissements par les entreprises canadiennes.

télécharger

Quelles sont les répercussions de l’Énoncé économique de l’automne sur les principaux secteurs? Lisez les réflexions de quelques-uns de nos chefs sectoriels :

Mike Gillespie, associé et chef national, services au secteur de la fabrication :

Le dernier Énoncé économique du gouvernement fédéral se veut une riposte à la récente réforme fiscale américaine. Bon nombre des annonces abondent dans le sens des commentaires qui émanaient du secteur canadien de la fabrication. Mentionnons notamment : la possibilité de déduire immédiatement, aux fins de l’impôt, le coût complet du matériel et de l’équipement utilisés pour la fabrication et la transformation des biens, la mise en place de l’Incitatif à l’investissement accéléré, l’accélération du soutien à l’innovation en entreprise grâce à l’ajout de 800 M$ au Fonds stratégique pour l’innovation, et l’élimination des obstacles au commerce au sein du Canada.

Peter Matutat, associé et chef national, services au secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie :
Afin d’améliorer l’attrait du régime fiscal canadien, le plus récent Énoncé économique du gouvernement fédéral a annoncé des mesures pour stimuler les investissements dans le secteur des technologies. Parmi les principales mesures, mentionnons : l’ajout de 800 M$ au Fonds stratégique pour l’innovation afin d’aider les entreprises en matière de recherche et développement et l’Incitatif à l’investissement accéléré, qui permettra aux entreprises de déduire une grande part du coût des biens nouvellement acquis lors de l’année pendant laquelle un investissement est effectué. Notons également l’apport de 50 M$ pour augmenter le capital de risque à l’intention des entreprises des technologies propres par l’intermédiaire de l’Initiative de catalyse du capital de risque et l’élimination des obstacles au commerce au sein du Canada.