Carbon Tax Rebate for farmers

January 14, 2022

decorative

The federal government’s 2021 fall economic update on Dec. 14 proposed to return fuel charge proceeds directly to farming businesses in backstop jurisdictions (that is, provinces that do not meet the federal stringency requirements—currently Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta) through a refundable tax credit, starting with the 2021-2022 fuel charge year. This measure recognizes that many farmers use natural gas and propane in their operations.

Eligible farming businesses

The return of fuel charge proceeds would be available to corporations, individuals, partnerships, and trusts that:

  • Are actively engaged in either the management or day-to-day activities or earning income from farming (e.g., raising animals and harvesting plants in a controlled environment)
  • Incur farming expenses of $25,000 or more that are attributable to backstop jurisdictions

Credit amount

The refundable credit amount will be determined by multiplying a payment rate as specified by the Minister of Finance and will be claimed in income tax returns.

The payment rate is set at $1.47 for 2021 and $1.73 for 2022, per $1,000 in eligible farming expenses, for the fuel charge year. Any credit claimed would be required to be included in taxable income.

Eligible farming expenses

The total farming expenses must be at least $25,000 to be eligible. Eligible farming expenses for this credit are those amounts deducted in calculating income from farming for income tax purposes, excluding any deductions arising from mandatory and optional inventory adjustments and transactions with non-arm’s length parties.

Eligible farming expenses must also be attributable to one or more backstop jurisdictions. For businesses operating in multiple jurisdictions, eligible farming expenses would be apportioned by jurisdiction.

How BDO can help

Our BDO tax professionals understand the uncertainty and challenges your business is facing. We can help you assess how this proposal will affect your farming business and provide guidance in determining your next steps.

To learn about how this proposal applies to you or your farming business, please contact:

Kurt Oelschlagel, FCPA, FCA, TEP - BDO National Agriculture Tax Leader


The information in this publication is current as of January 13, 2022.

This publication has been carefully prepared, but it has been written in general terms and should be seen as broad guidance only. The publication cannot be relied upon to cover specific situations and you should not act, or refrain from acting, upon the information contained therein without obtaining specific professional advice. Please contact BDO Canada LLP to discuss these matters in the context of your particular circumstances. BDO Canada LLP, its partners, employees and agents do not accept or assume any liability or duty of care for any loss arising from any action taken or not taken by anyone in reliance on the information in this publication or for any decision based on it.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Remboursement de la taxe sur le carbone pour les agriculteurs

14 janvier 2022

Dans la mise à jour économique de l'automne de 2021 datant du 14 décembre, le gouvernement fédéral a proposé de retourner les produits issus de la redevance sur les combustibles directement aux entreprises agricoles dans les administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité (c.-à-d. les provinces qui ne répondent pas aux exigences de rigueur du modèle fédéral, soit l'Ontario, le Manitoba, la Saskatchewan et l'Alberta) au moyen d'un crédit d'impôt remboursable, et ce, à compter de l'exercice 2021-2022 de la redevance sur les combustibles. Par cette mesure, le gouvernement reconnaît que de nombreux agriculteurs utilisent le gaz naturel et le propane dans leurs activités.

Entreprises agricoles admissibles

Le remboursement des produits de la redevance sur les combustibles sera offert aux sociétés, aux particuliers, aux sociétés de personnes et aux fiducies qui :

  • participent activement à la gestion ou aux activités quotidiennes de production de revenu agricole (c.-à-d. l'élevage et la récolte de plantes dans un environnement contrôlé);
  • qui engagent des dépenses agricoles totales de 25 000 $ ou plus attribuables à des administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité.

Montant du crédit

Le montant du crédit remboursable sera déterminé en multipliant le taux du paiement établi par le ministre des Finances et sera demandé dans les déclarations de revenus.

Ce taux est établi à 1,47 $ pour 2021 et à 1,73 $ pour 2022 pour chaque tranche de dépenses agricoles admissibles de 1 000 $ pour l'exercice pertinent de la redevance sur les combustibles. Tout crédit demandé devrait être inclus dans le revenu imposable.

Dépenses agricoles admissibles

Pour être admissibles, les dépenses agricoles doivent s'élever à au moins 25 000 $. Les dépenses agricoles admissibles au titre de ce crédit correspondent aux montants déduits dans le calcul du revenu provenant de l'agriculture aux fins de l'impôt, à l'exception des déductions découlant de rajustements de l'inventaire obligatoires et optionnels et d'opérations avec des parties ayant un lien de dépendance.

Les dépenses agricoles admissibles doivent également être attribuables à une ou à plusieurs administrations assujetties à un filet de sécurité. Pour les entreprises qui exercent leurs activités dans plusieurs administrations, les dépenses agricoles admissibles seront réparties par territoire.

Comment BDO peut vous aider

Nos spécialistes en fiscalité comprennent toute l'incertitude et tous les défis auxquels votre entreprise fait face. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer l'incidence de cette proposition sur votre entreprise agricole et à déterminer les prochaines étapes à suivre.

Pour savoir comment cette proposition s'applique à vous et à votre entreprise agricole, veuillez communiquer avec :

Kurt Oelschlagel, FCPA, FCA, TEP - Chef national de la gamme des Services au secteur de l'agriculture


L'information présentée est à jour en date du 13 janvier 2022.

Cette publication a été préparée avec soin. Cependant, elle n'est pas rédigée en termes spécifiques et doit seulement être considérée comme des recommandations d'ordre général. On ne peut se référer à cette publication pour des situations particulières et vous ne devez pas agir ou vous abstenir d'agir sur la base des informations qui y sont présentes sans avoir obtenu de conseils professionnels spécifiques. Pour évoquer ces points dans le cadre de votre situation particulière, merci de contacter BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP. BDO Canada s.r.l./S.E.N.C.R.L./LLP, ses partenaires, collaborateurs et agents n'acceptent ni n'assument la responsabilité ou l'obligation de diligence pour toute perte résultant d'une action, d'une absence d'action ou de toute décision prise sur la base d'informations contenues dans cette publication.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.