M&A Summary Q2 2019 - Technology & Life Science

August 07, 2019

Deal volumes involving Canadian technology businesses were slightly down during the last four quarters ended Q2-19 (L4Q19), with 319 deals announced or closed during the period (93 of which came during Q2-19). This represents a moderate decrease from the 329 transactions announced or closed in 2018. Although there has been a decline in the L4Q19 period, the past three quarters have been quite strong relative to historical periods.

Continuing a trend from prior periods, the popularity and attractiveness of vertical market software businesses servicing niche markets remains strong. These businesses garner a lot of attention due to their sticky revenue base, courtesy of the tailored approached of developers and industry expertise of sales people and account managers. Outlined below are four vertical market software deals from Q2-19.

One of the most interesting deals in this sector is the acquisition of Intelex Technologies by Industrial Scientific. Intelex is a leader in the environmental, health & safety, and quality management space. Announced on the 6th of June, Intelex is to be acquired for CA$762m (US$570m), one of Canada's five largest tech company exits in the last 10 years and the highest purchase price of any global EHSQ software vendor. It reflects the potential for cloud computing, internet-connected devices and IT/OT systems to revolutionize industrial business models, just as warehouse robotics from Amazon has transformed the retail sector. Furthermore, it demonstrates Canada's continuing development into one of the global leaders in technology.

Select Technology Transactions - Q2 2019
Target Buyer Date Transaction Description
Wave Financial Inc. "Blue Fountains International, ULC (Subsidiary of H&R Block)" 6/11/2019 Wave Financial Inc. has been acquired by H&R Block (NYSE: HRB) on June 11, 2019 for $538 million CAD. Wave Financial Inc. is based in Toronto, ON and provides cloud-based integrated software and tools for small businesses which include accounting, payroll, payment, and receipt management tools. H&R Block, Inc. is based out of Kansas City, MO and provides assisted income tax return preparation and virtual tax preparation services and products. This acquisition strengthens H&R Block's growth trajectory and expands their reach within the large and growing SMB market.
Intelex Technologies Inc. Industrial Scientific Corporation 6/6/2019 Intelex Technologies Inc. has been acquired by Industrial Scientific Corporation on June 6, 2019 for $762 million CAD. Intelex Technologies Inc. is based out of Toronto, ON and develops web and mobile software solutions for environmental, health, safety and quality management in North America. Industrial Scientific Corporation is based out of Pittsburgh, PA and develops and manufactures gas detection products and accessories. The acquisition strengthens Industrial Scientific Corporation's offering, allowing delivery of a one-stop shop for Environmental, Health, Safety and Quality automation solutions.
Chronogolf Inc. Lightspeed POS Inc. (TSX:LSPD) 5/30/2019 Chronogolf Inc. has been acquired by Lightspeed POS Inc. on May 30, 2019 for $18 million CAD. Chronogolf Inc. provides cloud-based CRM software tools that enable golf courses to identify and understand their customers, attract new players and optimize their tee-time sheet with relevant statistics and data analytics. Lightspeed POS Inc. is a leading cloud-based POS software solutions for SMBs based in Montreal, QC servicing customers globally. The acquisition enables Lightspeed to further penetrate the golf industry with a solution created specifically for this industry.
Smooch Technologies Inc. Zendesk, Inc. (NYSE: ZEN) 5/22/2019 Smooch Technologies Inc. has been acquired by Zendesk, Inc. on May 22, 2019. Smooch Technologies Inc. is based out of Montreal, QC and develops a cloud-based, omni-channel messaging platform for SMB and enterprise clients. Zendesk, Inc. is based out of San Francisco, CA and provides customer support SaaS products to organizations of all sizes. This acquisition enables Zendesk to expand its customer support by leveraging Smooch Technologies omni-channel messaging solutions.

Buyer Target Geography

Deals announced

Deals involving Cadnadian Business

Please contact our Corporate Finance team to learn more about these transactions.

Résumé en fusion et acquisition T2 2019 - Technologies et sciences de la vie

10 septembre 2019

Les volumes des transactions ciblant des entreprises canadiennes du secteur de la technologie ont légèrement diminué au cours de la période des quatre derniers trimestres terminée au T2 2019 (4DT 2019), 319 transactions ayant été annoncées ou conclues pendant la période (dont 93 au T2 2019). Il s’agit d’une faible baisse par rapport aux 329 transactions annoncées ou conclues en 2018. Bien que les 4DT 2019 aient accusé un recul, le rendement des trois derniers trimestres était assez élevé par rapport aux périodes antérieures.

Poursuivant la tendance amorcée au cours des périodes précédentes, les sociétés de logiciels de secteurs verticaux axés sur les marchés de niche demeurent très populaires et attrayantes. Grâce à leur source de revenus constants, l’approche sur mesure des développeurs et de l’expertise sectorielle du personnel de vente et des directeurs de compte, ces entreprises retiennent l’attention. Quatre transactions visant des sociétés de logiciels de secteurs verticaux du T2 2019 sont présentées ci-dessous.

L’acquisition de Intelex Technologies par Industrial Scientific constitue l’une des transactions les plus intéressantes dans ces secteurs. Intelex est un chef de file en matière de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé, de la sécurité et de la qualité. Annoncée le 6 juin, l’acquisition de Intelex moyennant une contrepartie de 762 M$ CA (570 M$ US) constitue l’une des cinq sorties de sociétés de technologie au Canada les plus importantes des dix dernières années. Son prix d’achat représente le plus élevé parmi toutes les acquisitions de fournisseurs mondiaux de logiciels de gestion de l’environnement, de la santé, de la sécurité et de la qualité. Cette transaction pourrait métamorphoser les modèles d’affaires industriels grâce à son potentiel en matière d’infonuagique, d’appareils connectés à Internet ainsi que de systèmes TI et de systèmes de technologie opérationnelle. Elle pourrait également avoir une incidence similaire à celle que la robotique des entrepôts d’Amazon a entraînée pour le secteur du détail. De plus, elle fait ressortir l’évolution continue du Canada qui est en voie de devenir l’un des principaux chefs de file du secteur de la technologie.

Faits saillants relatifs aux transactions du secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie - T2 2019
Cible Acheteur Date Description de la transaction
Wave Financial Inc. Blue Fountains International, ULC (filiale de H&R Block) 6/11/2019 Wave Financial Inc. a fait l’objet d’une acquisition par H&R Block (NYSE : HRB) le 11 juin 2019, moyennant une contrepartie de 538 M$ CA. Établie à Toronto, en Ontario, Wave Financial Inc. offre aux petites entreprises des outils et des logiciels en infonuagique, notamment en ce qui a trait à la comptabilité, à la paie, aux paiements et à la gestion des encaissements. Le siège social de H&R Block, Inc. est situé à Kansas City, au Missouri. La société offre des services et des produits de production des déclarations de revenus, en ligne et en personne. Cette acquisition contribuera à la croissance de H&R Block en plus de renforcer la capacité de la société à conquérir le marché florissant des PME.
Intelex Technologies Inc. Industrial Scientific Corporation 6/6/2019 Industrial Scientific Corporation a fait l’acquisition de Intelex Technologies Inc. le 6 juin 2019 pour 762 M$ CA. Intelex Technologies Inc. est établie à Toronto, en Ontario, et développe des solutions logicielles pour le Web et les appareils mobiles en matière d’environnement, de santé, de sécurité et de qualité en Amérique du Nord. Située à Pittsburgh, en Pennsylvanie, Industrial Scientific Corporation conçoit et fabrique des accessoires et des produits de détection de gaz. Cette acquisition étoffe l’offre d’Industrial Scientific Corporation en lui permettant de se poser en guichet unique en matière de solutions d’automatisation touchant l’environnement, la santé, la sécurité et la qualité.
Chronogolf Inc. Industrial Scientific Corporation 5/30/2019 Chronogolf Inc. a fait l’objet d’une acquisition par Lightspeed POS Inc. le 30 mai 2019 en contrepartie d’une somme de 18 M$ CA. Chronogolf Inc. propose des logiciels de gestion des relations-clients en infonuagique à l’intention des propriétaires de terrains de golf qui leur permettent de cerner et comprendre leurs clients, d’attirer de nouveaux joueurs et d’optimiser leur feuille de départ au moyen de statistiques et d’analyse de données pertinentes. Lightspeed POS Inc. est un chef de file des solutions logicielles de points de vente en infonuagique destinées aux PME. Établie à Montréal, au Québec, la société compte des clients dans le monde entier. Grâce à cette acquisition, Lightspeed est en bonne posture pour accroître sa part du marché du golf puisqu’elle met la main sur une solution conçue spécialement pour ce secteur.
Technologies Smooch Inc. Lightspeed POS Inc. (TSX : LSPD) 5/22/2019 Zendesk, Inc. a fait l’acquisition de Technologies Smooch Inc. le 22 mai 2019. Technologies Smooch Inc. est située à Montréal, au Québec, et développe une plateforme de messagerie multicanal en infonuagique destinée aux PME et aux entreprises clientes. Établie à San Francisco, en Californie, Zendesk, Inc. propose des logiciels à la demande (SaaS) de service client à des organisations de toutes tailles. Cette acquisition permet à Zendesk d’accroître son soutien à la clientèle en tirant parti des solutions de messagerie multicanaux de Technologies Smooch.

Emplacement des acheteurs et des entreprises ciblées

Activités de fusion et acquisition

Transactions par trimestre des entreprises Canadiennes