M&A Summary: Q1 2019 - Technology & Life Science

May 17, 2019

M&A transaction volume involving Canadian technology businesses declined slightly during Q1-2019, with 81 closed or announced transactions during the quarter. This brings the transaction count over the trailing four quarters to 301, down from 328 deals that were closed or announced during 2018. Macroeconomic factors such as rising debt levels, volatile equity markets, geopolitical uncertainty and slowing economic growth and world trade have likely had an impact on business performance as well as transaction completion.

Several forces are continuing to drive transaction interest and completion, however. The growth and attractiveness of specially developed business and financial management software to service niche industry verticals stands as a great example. These businesses garner a lot of attention due to their sticky revenue base, courtesy of the tailored approached of developers and industry expertise of sales people and account managers. Outlined below are five vertical market software deals from Q1-19.

Select Technology Transactions - Q1 2019

Target Buyer Date Transaction Description
IntelliFarms LLC Ag Growth International Inc. (TSX:AFN) 03/05/2019 Ag Growth International Inc. (TSX:AFN) acquired IntelliFarms LLC. IntelliFarms develops grain bin and yield management solutions which will be integrated into the products of Ag Growth International, a manufacturer of grain storage equipment.
Every Inc. Wave Financial Inc. 03/04/2019 Wave Financial Inc. agreed to acquire Every Inc. Wave Financial, a provider of cloud-based small business specific software will integrate the features of Every Inc. into their product offering. Every, Inc. develops and markets software specific to the banking function of small businesses.
GGGolf Inc Valsoft Corp 02/25/2019 Valsoft Corp acquired GGGolf. Valsoft Corp is an investment firm who looks to acquire and grow niche-vertical market software businesses. GGGolf Inc. provides management assisting software for golf courses.
Virtual Claims
Adjuster Inc.
JV Venture
Partners Ltd.
02/09/2019 JV Venture Partners Ltd. acquired Virtual Claims Adjuster Inc. JV Venture Partners Ltd. is an investment firm focused on making minority and majority equity investments in software businesses. Virtual Claims Adjuster Inc. is a niche workflow software servicing the insurance industry.
Distillery Solutions,
Inc.
Volaris Group Inc. 01/25/2019 Volaris Group Inc. completed the acquisition of Distillery Solutions, Inc. Volaris Group Inc., a subsidiary of Constellation Software (TSE:CSU) is a public investment firm looking to acquire and grow software businesses targeting niche verticals. Distillery Solutions, Inc. designs software targeting the craft beverage space.

Buyer Target Geography

Deals announced

Deals involving Canadian-Business

For a global perspective, read our latest quarterly global mid-market M&A review where we offer a view of how the M&A market is evolving – and where it appears to be heading.

Horizon Issue

Résumé du T1 en fusion et acquisition : Technologies et sciences de la vie

17 mai 2019

Le volume de fusions et acquisitions visant des entreprises canadiennes du secteur de la technologie a légèrement diminué au T1 2019, 81 transactions ayant été annoncées ou conclues pendant le trimestre. Au cours des quatre derniers trimestres, 301 transactions ont été réalisées, une baisse par rapport aux 328 transactions conclues ou annoncées en 2018. Le rendement des affaires et la conclusion des transactions sont probablement attribuables à des facteurs macroéconomiques tels que la hausse du niveau d'endettement, la volatilité sur les marchés boursiers, l'incertitude géopolitique et le ralentissement de la croissance économique et du commerce mondial.

Toutefois, plusieurs forces continuent de susciter de l'intérêt à l'égard des transactions et de favoriser leur conclusion. La croissance et l'attrait pour des logiciels de gestion financière et des affaires conçus spécialement pour des secteurs verticaux constituent un excellent exemple. Ces entreprises captent beaucoup l'intérêt en raison de leur revenu de base constant découlant de l'approche sur mesure des développeurs et de l'expertise sectorielle du personnel de vente et des directeurs de compte. Cinq transactions visant des sociétés de logiciels du marché vertical du T1 2019 sont présentées ci-dessous.

Principales transactions au T1 2019

Cible Acheteur Date Description de la transaction
IntelliFarms LLC Ag Growth International Inc. (TSX:AFN) 03/05/2019 Ag Growth International Inc. (TSX :AFN) a fait l'acquisition d'IntelliFarms LLC. IntelliFarms conçoit des cellules à grain et des solutions de gestion de la production qui seront intégrées aux produits de Ag Growth International, un fabricant d'équipement de stockage de grains.
Every Inc. Wave Financial Inc. 03/04/2019 Wave Financial Inc. a fait l'acquisition de Every Inc. Wave Financial, un fournisseur de logiciels en infonuagique destinés aux petites entreprises intégrera les fonctionnalités de Every Inc. dans ses produits. Every, Inc. développe des logiciels adaptés spécifiquement aux fonctions bancaires des petites entreprises et en assure la mise en marché.
GGGolf Inc Valsoft Corp 02/25/2019 Valsoft Corp a acquis GGGolf. Valsoft Corp est une société d'investissement qui cherche à faire l'acquisition de fabricants de logiciels dans des secteurs verticaux et à les faire croître. GGGolf Inc. offre des logiciels d'aide à la gestion à des terrains de golf.
Virtual Claims Adjuster Inc. JV Venture Partners Ltd. 02/09/2019 JV Venture Partners Ltd. a fait l'acquisition de Virtual Claims Adjuster Inc. JV Venture Partners Ltd. est une société de placement qui acquiert des participations minoritaires et majoritaires principalement dans des sociétés de logiciels. Virtual Claims Adjuster Inc. est un fabricant de logiciels de flux de travail de niche axée sur le secteur de l'assurance
Distillery Solutions, Inc. Volaris Group Inc. 01/25/2019 Volaris Group Inc. a réalisé l'acquisition de Distillery Solutions, Inc. Volaris Group Inc., une filiale de Constellation Software (TSE : CSU), est une société ouverte d'investissement qui cherche à acquérir des sociétés de logiciels axées sur les marchés verticaux et à assurer leur croissance. Distillery Solutions, Inc. assure la conception de logiciels destinés au secteur des boissons artisanales.

Géographie cible de l'acheteur

Offres annoncées

Transactions impliquant des entreprises canadiennes