M&A Summary: Q3 2019 - Technology & Life Sciences

November 07, 2019

Deal volumes involving Canadian technology businesses were up during the last four quarters and ended Q3-19 (L4Q19) with 389 deals announced or closed during the period (127 of which came during Q3-19). This represents an 18% increase from the 329 transactions announced or closed in 2018. There has been an increase in the L4Q19 period with the past three quarters being quite strong relative to historical periods.

An interesting observation is the decreasing percentage of foreign companies acquiring Canadian tech businesses. During the first three quarters of 2019, we noted that only 25% of transactions included a buyer domiciled outside of Canada, whereas in the past two years that percentage has been closer to 35%. Meanwhile, the technology sector has ranked higher than in previous years in terms deal volume and size relative to other Canadian industries. In Q3 of 2019, technology ranked 4th and 5th respectively in both the number of M&A transactions and total dollar values of transactions. M&A activity in technology has remained stable or grown during recent quarters, whereas industries such as manufacturing and food & beverage have recently slowed. This points to the continuing development of Canada into one of the global leaders in technology holding a number of attractive, growing acquisition targets.

One of the most interesting deals in this sector is the acquisition of 6 River Systems, Inc. (“6 River”) by Shopify Inc. (“Shopify”) as part of Shopify’s fulfillment network initiative. 6 River is a leader in the robotics industry that offers a product which uses mobile robots and cloud-based enterprise software to improve warehouse staff productivity and simplify training. Shopify expects this acquisition to have "no material impact" on its top line for the current fiscal year, but it will increase its expenses by about USD$25 million. Despite the negative short-term impact, Shopify sees this initiative as a necessity to maintain its competitive advantage and help attract more merchants to its platform. Clearly, this move will put Shopify further in direct competition with Amazon, but it will also give the e-commerce giant a leg up on Square and other companies looking to enter this lucrative space.

Q319_M-A-Graphs_TLS_679x700__Deals-announced-(1).png
Q319_M-A-Graphs_TLS_679x700__Buyer-Target-Geography.png
Q319_M-A-Graphs_TLS_679x700__Deals-involving-Cdn-Biz.png

Select Technology Transactions - Q3 2019
Date Target Buyer Deal Description
09/09/2019 6 River Systems, Inc. Shopify Inc. (NYSE:SHOP) Shopify Inc. (NYSE:SHOP) entered into an agreement to acquire 6 River Systems, Inc. from Eclipse Ventures, LLC and others on September 9, 2019. Under the terms of consideration, Shopify agreed to a transaction value of approximately $450 million payable in cash and stock. The acquisition is expected to close in the fourth quarter of 2019. Shopify will maintain the 6 River Systems brand and headquarters in Waltham, MA. 6 River Systems' team of more than 130 employees will be retained by Shopify.
07/18/2019 HighQ Solutions Limited Thomson Reuters Corporation (TSX:TRI) Thomson Reuters announced on July 2018, 2019 that it has acquired HighQ, a leading collaboration platform for the legal and regulatory market. Based in London with offices in the United States, Germany, the Netherlands, Australia and India, HighQ offers a secure cloud-based platform for business collaboration, workflow automation and client engagement.
08/03/2019 Cryptologic Corp. (CNSX:CRY) Canadian Business of Wayland Group Corp. The Canadian Business of Wayland Group Corp. (CNSX:WAYL) (‘Wayland’) entered into a non-binding letter of intent to acquire Cryptologic Corp. (CNSX:CRY) in a reverse merger transaction on August 2, 2019. It is expected that, prior to closing, Cryptologic will sell the business and assets comprising its existing cryptocurrency mining and other operations and that it will be a single-purpose cannabis company.
07/17/2019 IKentoo Lightspeed POS Inc. (TSX:LSPD) Lightspeed POS Inc. a leading provider of software, solutions and support systems to more than 49,000 small and medium-sized retail and restaurant locations worldwide, announced that it has completed the acquisition of Switzerland-based iKentoo, a POS solutions provider to small and medium-sized businesses operating within the hospitality industry.

Résumé en fusion et acquisition T3 2019 - Technologies et sciences de la vie

07 novembre 2019

Les volumes des transactions ciblant des entreprises canadiennes du secteur de la technologie ont augmenté au cours de la période des quatre derniers trimestres terminée au T3 2019 (4DT 2019), 389 transactions ayant été annoncées ou conclues pendant la période (dont 127 au T3 2019). Il s'agit d'une augmentation de 18 % par rapport aux 329 transactions annoncées ou conclues en 2018. Une augmentation a eu lieu au cours de la période 4DT 2019, les trois derniers trimestres ayant été particulièrement robustes par rapport aux périodes antérieures.

Il est intéressant de noter que le pourcentage d'entreprises étrangères qui ont fait l'acquisition d'entreprises de technologie canadiennes a diminué. Au cours des trois premiers trimestres de 2019, nous avons relevé que seulement 25 % des transactions concernent des acheteurs se trouvant à l'extérieur du Canada; ce pourcentage s'approchait de 35 % au cours des deux dernières années. Parallèlement, le secteur de la technologie a obtenu de meilleurs résultats qu'au cours des années précédentes en ce qui a trait au volume et la taille des transactions par rapport aux autres secteurs canadiens. Au T3 de 2019, le secteur de la technologie s'est classé au quatrième et au cinquième rang en ce qui a trait au nombre de fusions-acquisitions et à la valeur totale en dollars des transactions, respectivement. Les fusions-acquisitions dans le secteur de la technologie sont demeurées stables ou ont augmenté au cours des derniers trimestres, tandis qu'elles sont à la baisse ces derniers temps dans des secteurs comme la fabrication et les aliments et boissons. Cela met en évidence que le Canada continue de se développer pour devenir l'un des chefs de file mondiaux en technologie et présente des cibles d'acquisition attrayantes et en pleine croissance.

L'une des transactions les plus intéressantes dans ce secteur est l'acquisition de 6 River Systems, Inc. (« 6 River ») par Shopify Inc. (« Shopify »), qui s'inscrit dans sa stratégie d'exécution des commandes. Chef de file du secteur de la robotique, 6 River propose un produit utilisant des robots mobiles et des logiciels d'entreprise en infonuagique pour améliorer le rendement du personnel d'entrepôt et simplifier la formation. Selon Shopify, cette acquisition n'aura « aucune incidence importante » sur son chiffre d'affaires pour l'exercice en cours, mais entraînera une augmentation des dépenses d'environ 25 millions de dollars américains. Malgré l'incidence négative à court terme, Shopify considère qu'il s'agit d'une mesure nécessaire pour maintenir son avantage concurrentiel et attirer plus de commerçants sur sa plateforme. Il est clair que cette décision mettra Shopify en concurrence directe avec Amazon, mais elle donnera aussi au géant du commerce électronique une longueur d'avance sur Square et sur d'autres entreprises qui cherchent à pénétrer ce marché lucratif.



Faits saillants relatifs aux transactions du secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie - T3 2019
Date Cible Acheteur Description de la transaction
09-09-2019 6 River Systems, Inc. Shopify Inc. (NYSE :SHOP) Shopify Inc. (NYSE :SHOP) Shopify Inc. (NYSE : SHOP) a conclu une entente en vue d'acquérir 6 River Systems, Inc. d'Eclipse Ventures, LLC et autres le 9 septembre 2019. Aux termes de la contrepartie, Shopify a convenu d'une valeur de transaction d'environ 450 millions de dollars payable en espèces et en actions. La transaction devrait être conclue au cours du quatrième semestre de 2019. Shopify conservera la marque 6 River Systems et le siège social à Waltham (Massachusetts). Shopify compte maintenir en poste les 130 employés de 6 River Systems.
18-07-2019 HighQ Solutions Limited Thomson Reuters Corporation (TSX : TRI) Thomson Reuters a annoncé le 18 juillet 2019 l'acquisition de HighQ, une plateforme de collaboration de premier plan sur le marché juridique et réglementaire. Située à Londres et ayant des bureaux aux États-Unis, en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Australie et en Inde, HighQ offre une plateforme sécurisée fondée sur la technologie infonuagique qui permet une collaboration entre professionnels, l'automatisation des flux de travail et la mobilisation des clients.
03-08-2019 Cryptologic Corp. (CNSX :CRY) Canadian Business of Wayland Group Corp. La société canadienne Wayland Group Corp. (CNSX:WAYL) (« Wayland ») a conclu une lettre d'intention non contraignante visant l'acquisition de Cryptologic Corp. (CNSX :CRY) dans le cadre d'une opération de fusion inversée le 2 août 2019. Avant la conclusion du marché, Cryptologic devrait vendre l'entreprise et ses actifs comprenant ses activités existantes d'extraction de monnaie cryptographique et d'autres opérations; elle deviendra alors une société de cannabis à but unique.
17-07-2019 IKentoo Lightspeed POS Inc. (TSX : LSPD) Lightspeed POS Inc., un grand fournisseur de logiciels, de solutions et de systèmes d'assistance auprès de plus de 49 000 petites et moyennes entreprises de vente au détail et de restauration dans le monde, a annoncé qu'il avait conclu l'acquisition d'iKentoo, un fournisseur suisse de solutions logicielles de points de vente pour les petites et moyennes entreprises actives dans le secteur hôtelier.