The importance of advisory boards

October 19, 2016

A new business will go a long way with a great idea, some cash, strong passion and plenty of sweat equity. But it will never go the distance without sound judgment and sage advice.

Constructed properly, advisory boards offer valuable knowledge and perspective to entrepreneurs and small management teams at private companies. With the right advisors, they provide a competitive edge, helping small businesses stay focused on their strategy as they innovate, grow and become more productive.

Advisory boards differ from a board of directors, which have a legal responsibility to the shareholders which they serve. They are smaller and more informal, and their members frequently weigh in on operational issues in addition to giving strategic guidance. Some advisory boards do not compensate their members, others may pay with cash or equity. Regardless, advisory board members do not face the legislated responsibilities, fiduciary duties or other liability concerns that their counterparts serving on governance boards do.

The value proposition

Within small businesses, most entrepreneurs and management teams are preoccupied with operations. They direct their attention to keeping the business afloat and retain little bandwidth to consider the bigger strategic picture. An advisory board can help management through difficult operational moments and oversee the fundamental vision of the company. That function is particularly important in today’s economy, where technology and globalization create an accelerated market place.

A board, whether formal or advisory, represents a formal oversight process that can add discipline to a business, forcing management to look objectively at the company, at the appropriateness of its business model and at the state of the market.

The benefits of well-assembled advisory boards are indisputable. A survey by the Business Development Bank of Canada in 2014 found that they improve both sales and productivity. The bank compared two groups of small businesses between 2001 and 2011. Those using an advisory board reported sales growth that was on average 24 percent more than that of the companies without advisory boards. Similarly, productivity—as measured by the ratio of sales to the number of employees—for the first group outpaced that of the second by 18 percent.

Unfortunately, BDC also found that only 6 percent of Canadian entrepreneurs use an advisory board. The figure is particularly low when compared with the 80-percent satisfaction level these boards recorded in the survey Advisory Boards: An Untapped Resource for Businesses, March 2016.

The trade off

A good board will ensure that the company is set on the right strategic course and it will help identify and mitigate risk. Advisory boards are often precursors to a full established board of directors. They provide structure for an early-stage business and show investors that the founder is serious about building the company.

In return for the wisdom and support of an advisory board, founders have to be prepared to share information and operate with a new level of transparency. Board members need to be able to get up to speed on issues quickly, and that requires the founders to adopt a more disciplined style of communication than the casual conversations to which they may be accustomed.

The management team of a small business doesn’t have to accept the advice of an advisory board, however, it should be respected and considered. Management and the board members need to be aligned in their strategic vision. The purpose of the advice is to support the long-term goals of the company, which may involve differing opinions from management.

Construction

Entrepreneurs are by nature usually self-driven and self-reliant. Some may find the idea of sharing intimate details of their company difficult. That is why it is important entrepreneurs choose advisory board members with whom they respect, feel comfortable, but aren’t necessarily old friends. Entrepreneurs should be looking for values aligned with their own, remembering that their business will benefit most from unbiased advisors with valuable expertise.

It is a good idea to build a skills matrix for the board, similar to what a company will build for its own management team. Legal and financial expertise are often important skillsets a small business will need to add, however, industry expertise and knowledge are instrumental in the early stages of a company.

Prospective members may be former entrepreneurs themselves who still thrive on the excitement of creating new businesses, well-established business people looking to leave a legacy, or veteran directors of public companies who want a hands-on role in a fast-paced environment. The members need to have a good understanding of the relevant industry, and by definition the group is unlikely to be as diversified as a board of directors, which deals with a wider swath of issues.

Each new board member should participate in an established onboarding process that is explained during recruitment. The purpose is to ensure members are aligned with the vision and mandate and should include information about the stakeholders, the company’s history, perceived risks, projects and plans as well as a clear outline of management’s expectations of board members.

An advisory board should be large enough to offer a diversity of insights and experience, but small enough that issues can be dealt with quickly.Terms on an advisory board tend to be more flexible than a formal board, lasting on average three years or less. When it is established correctly, an advisory board will add significant value to a business, and leave the founders in control while also feeling some accountability to the board.


To learn more, please contact your local BDO office or:

Peter Matutat, CPA, CA
Partner, National Technology and Life Sciences Leader
905 946 5470
pmatutat@bdo.ca

Brion Hendry
Partner, CPA, CA
905 946 5419
bhendry@bdo.ca

About BDO

One of the nation’s leading accounting firms, BDO Canada provides assurance, accounting, tax, and advisory services. As a member of the BDO international network, which spans more than 150 countries and 1,400 offices, BDO provides seamless and consistent cross-border services to clients with international needs.

About BDO’s Technology & Life Sciences Practice

BDO’s dedicated team of professionals serving the Technology and Life Sciences sectors brings you broad-based experience, in-depth knowledge and business savvy that can be critical to your success. Our professionals propose solutions to your challenges and support every phase of your growth from start-up to listed public company. The BDO T&LS team, comprised of leaders in key markets across Canada, brings together the resources of our global network of over 1,400 offices in more than 150 countries around the world. We are entrepreneurial, we understand your issues, and we are focused on providing you with exceptional client service.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Importance des comités consultatifs

octobre 2016

Pour toute nouvelle entreprise, il faut une bonne idée, de l’argent, une grande passion et de l’huile de coude pour se tailler un bel avenir. Toutefois, pour franchir le cap, celle-ci devra également faire appel à un bon jugement et des conseils judicieux.

S’ils sont bien constitués, les comités consultatifs représentent une précieuse source de connaissances et de perspectives pour les entrepreneurs et les petites équipes de direction de sociétés privées. Avec les bons conseillers, ces comités fournissent aux petites entreprises une solide capacité concurrentielle stratégique, les aident à axer leurs efforts sur leurs objectifs tout en innovant et les poussent vers la croissance tout en devenant de plus en plus productives.

Les comités consultatifs se distinguent des conseils d’administration dont le mandat couvre la responsabilité juridique de servir les actionnaires. Plus petits et moins formels, leurs membres participent fréquemment aux conversations touchant les activités quotidiennes tout en dispensant des conseils stratégiques.

Certains comités consultatifs n’offrent pas de rémunération à leurs membres, d’autres peuvent les indemniser par des versements en espèces ou des paiements en capitaux propres. En principe, les membres d’un comité consultatif n’assument pas les mêmes responsabilités juridiques, obligations fiduciaires ou autres charges que leurs homologues du conseil d’administration.

Proposition de valeur

Au sein de petites entreprises, l’exploitation demeure la préoccupation de la plupart des entrepreneurs et des équipes de direction. Ils consacrent tous leurs efforts pour maintenir l’entreprise à flot, ce qui leur laisse peu de temps pour développer une approche stratégique globale. Aussi, un comité consultatif vient aider une équipe de direction lorsque les activités s’avèrent plus compliquées et qu’il faut dans la foulée contrôler la vision fondamentale de l’entreprise. Cette fonction est particulièrement importante dans le paysage économique actuel puisque la technologie et la globalisation engendre une accélération sur le marché.

Qu’il s’agisse d’un conseil d’administration ou d’un comité consultatif, le but est de mettre en place une procédure formelle de supervision qui apportera à une entreprise la discipline nécessaire en forçant l’équipe de direction à observer l’organisation de manière objective, à décider de l’adéquation du modèle commercial et à suivre l’état du marché.

Les avantages d’un comité consultatif bien composé sont incontestables. D’après un sondage de la Banque du développement du Canada réalisé en 2014, ce type de comité améliore à la fois les ventes et la productivité. La banque a comparé deux groupes de petites entreprises des années 2001 à 2011. Les entreprises ayant fait appel à des comités consultatifs ont déclaré une hausse moyenne des ventes de 24 % sur les organisations qui s’en sont abstenues. De la même manière, en termes de productivité, le premier groupe, calculé à l’aide du taux de vente par rapport au nombre d’employés, devançait de 18 %) en termes de productivité le second.

Malheureusement, la BDC a également conclu que seulement 6 % des entrepreneurs canadiens faisaient appel à un comité consultatif. Ce chiffre est particulièrement faible lorsqu’on le compare au taux de satisfaction (80 %) que ces comités ont enregistré dans le cadre du sondage Les comités consultatifs: un atout incontestable pour les PME canadiennes, mars 2016.

Compromis

Un bon comité permettra de s’assurer que l’entreprise suit sa trajectoire stratégique et l’aider à identifier et atténuer les risques. Les comités consultatifs sont souvent les prédécesseurs des conseils d’administration pleinement établis. Lors de la constitution d’une entreprise, ils mettent en place la structure et permettent de démontrer aux investisseurs que l’essor de l’entreprise est au centre des préoccupations des fondateurs.

En contrepartie des conseils et de l’appui du comité, les fondateurs doivent être prêts à partager les informations et faire preuve d’un niveau inédit de transparence. Les membres du comité doivent être aussi rapidement que possible mis au courant des problèmes de l’entreprise. Cela exige des fondateurs qu’ils adoptent un régime de communication plus formel que les conversations ponctuelles auxquelles ils sont habitués.

L’équipe de direction d’une petite entreprise n’est pas tenue d’accepter les conseils du comité consultatif. Toutefois, le comité consultatif doit être respecté et reconnu. La direction et les membres du comité doivent être sur la même longueur d’onde quant à la vision stratégique. Le but du comité est de soutenir les objectifs à long-terme de l’entreprise, ce qui peut produire des divergences d’opinion avec la direction.

Composition

De par leur nature, les entrepreneurs sont des personnes motivées et autonomes. Certains d’entre eux peuvent trouver difficile de devoir partager des renseignements confidentiels sur l’entreprise. Par conséquent, pour siéger à leur comité consultatif, les entrepreneurs doivent choisir des personnes qu’ils respectent et avec lesquelles ils sont à l’aise, sans pour autant que ce soit de vieux amis. Les entrepreneurs doivent être à l’affût de valeurs qui correspondent aux leurs, sans oublier que leur entreprise tirera de plus grands avantages de conseillers impartiaux dotés d’une précieuse expertise.

Il serait bon d’élaborer une grille de compétences pour le comité, de la même manière qu’une entreprise produirait une grille pour sa propre équipe de direction. Parmi les compétences importantes, une petite entreprise devrait ajouter la maîtrise du secteur financier et l’expertise dans le domaine juridique. Néanmoins, elle ne doit pas oublier que les connaissances sectorielles et l’expertise industrielle jouent un rôle clé lors des premières étapes du développement de l’entreprise.

Les futurs membres peuvent être d’anciens entrepreneurs pour qui l’effervescence suscitée par la création d’une nouvelle entreprise est une source d’épanouissements, des hommes d’affaires établis qui cherchent à laisser leur marque, voire des administrateurs de sociétés ouvertes expérimentés qui cherchent à jouer un rôle pratique dans un environnement dynamique.Néanmoins, les membres du comité doivent avoir une connaissance raisonnable du secteur concerné, mais le groupe sera, par définition, probablement moins diversifié que le conseil d’administration dont l’étendue des enjeux est plus vaste.

Un comité consultatif devrait avoir un horizon assez vaste pour offrir des points de vue différents et des expériences diversifiées, tout en étant d’une taille réduite pour pouvoir régler chaque question rapidement. Le mandat d’un comité consultatif tend à être plus souple que celui d’un conseil d’administration. La durée moyenne de ce mandat est de trois ans, voire moins.

La marche à suivre devrait être présentée et expliquée à chaque nouveau membre du comité lors du recrutement. L’objectif est de s’assurer que chaque membre ait la même connaissance de la vision et du mandat de l’entreprise. En outre, chacun doit avoir obtenu les renseignements sur les parties prenantes, l’historique de l’entreprise, les risques perçus, les projets et la stratégie ainsi qu’un plan détaillé des attentes de l’équipe de direction vis-à-vis des membres du comité.

Lorsqu’il est bien établi, le comité consultatif apporte à l’entreprise une forte valeur ajoutée et permet aux fondateurs d’en assurer le contrôle tout en sachant que le comité partagera certaines responsabilités.


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau
local de BDO
ou :

Peter Matutat, CPA, CA
Associé, Chef nationale en technologies et sciences
de la vie
905 946 5470
pmatutat@bdo.ca

Brion Hendry
Associé, CPA, CA
905 946 5419
bhendry@bdo.ca

À propos de BDO

BDO, un des cabinets comptables de premier plan au Canada, offre des services en matière de certification, de comptabilité, de fiscalité et de conseils. En tant que membre du réseau de BDO International, qui est présent dans plus de 150 pays et 1 400 bureaux, BDO fournit des services transfrontaliers de façon uniforme et sans heurt à des clients dont les besoins dépassent leurs propres frontières.

Au sujet des l’équipe des secteurs de la technologie et des sciences de la vie de BDO

Chez BDO, nous disposons d’une équipe spécialisée dans le secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie. Dotés d’une grande expertise, de solides connaissances de l’industrie et d’un sens des affaires hors pair, nous pouvons contribuer au succès de votre entreprise. Peu importe où vous en êtes dans votre croissance, nos professionnels sont là pour vous aider et trouver des solutions à vos problèmes, que votre entreprise soit en démarrage ou qu’elle aspire à être cotée en bourse. Notre équipe du secteur des technologies et des sciences de la vie est présente sur les marchés clés au Canada et réunit les ressources internationales de notre réseau BDO, qui compte plus de 1 300 bureaux répartis dans plus de 150 pays partout dans le monde. Nous avons le sens de l’entrepreneuriat, nous connaissons bien les enjeux auxquels vous faites face, et nous nous engageons à vous fournir un service exceptionnel.