M&A Summary Q2 2019 - Food & Beverage

August 07, 2019

M-A_Q219-Website_FB_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

M&A activity in the food and beverage (“F&B”) industry for the second quarter of 2019 remained strong, as a total of 31 deals involving a Canadian party were announced or closed during the period. While this volume represents a slight decrease from the 37 deals undertaken in Q1 of 2019, the industry has seen continued increases in year-to-date activity, as only 22 deals were announced or closed during Q2 of the prior year. Driven in part by the opportunity to generate economies of scale through vertical integration, strategic buyers represented the vast majority of purchasers during Q2.

Consistent with the prior quarter, the primary driver of increased F&B transaction activity during Q2 relates to continued interest in the fast-growing cannabis market, as industry participants seek to acquire land, production capabilities and intellectual property located both in Canada and abroad. The expectation is that activity will continue into Q3 of 2019 and several quarters to follow, driven partially by market participants who wish to establish an industry footing in anticipation of continued state medicinal and recreational marijuana reform in the US, as well as the possibility of US federal legalization in the near future.

The ongoing culture shift toward healthier, organic food and beverage products is another factor contributing to increased M&A activity in the sector, as companies seek to diversify away from traditional F&B product offerings into more differentiated niche markets.

Ongoing trade disputes between China and the US have continued to take a toll on global financial markets, pushing 2019 and 2020 growth expectations lower and unemployment higher. To cushion the resulting economic slowdown, both the European Central Bank and Federal Reserve have signalled that they will inject fiscal stimulus by the end of 2019, with the possibility of interest rate cuts as soon as this month. While Canada is not immune to the political tension, economic growth was moderate in Q2 of 2019, and as such there is no expectation that the Bank of Canada will decrease the key lending rate in the short term. Although there continues to be a lot of uncertainty surrounding the macroeconomic landscape, continued social and cultural shifts, inexpensive debt financing, continued ownership succession needs and favourable foreign exchange rates result in a Canadian F&B market that remains conducive to M&A activity in Q3 and beyond.

Select Food & Beverage Transactions - Q2 2019
Target Buyer Date Transaction Description
HyLife Ltd. Charoen Pokphand Foods Public Company Limited (SET:CPF) 4/22/2019 Charoen Pokphand Foods Public Company Limited, an agro-industrial and food conglomerate headquartered in Thailand annouced their acquisition of HyLife Limited, Canada's leading producer and global exporter of pork products. The transaction will propel HyLife's growth into the Asian, North American and industrial markets while showcasing Manitoba's locally grown and produced pork.
Raw Chocolate Alchemy, LLC Gabriella's Kitchen Inc. (CNSX:GABY) 5/16/2019 Gabriella's Kitchen Inc. (CNSX:GABY), a US-focused, consumer packaged goods company operating a house of brands in the cannabis industry and in the mainstream grocery channel announced its acquisition of Raw Chocolate Alchemy LLC. Raw Chocolate Alchemy LLC, doing business as Lulu's Chocolates, produces 100% organic, raw, vegan chocolate. The transaction will form the foundation upon which Gariella's Kitchen will build their CBD and THC chocolate and confectionary business.
The Kiju Brand of Nothing But Nature Inc. Zurban Beverages Inc. 5/21/2019 Zurban Beverages Inc., a Quebec producer of organic juice and iced tea entered into an agreement to acquire the assets of The Kiju Brand of organic juice and iced tea from Nothing but Nature Inc., a subsidiary of GreenSpace Brands. GreenSpace will be using the proceeds from the transaction towards general working capital purposes, and to pay down debt, which is estimated to be $13 to $15 million post-closing.
Spring Oaks Greenhouses, Inc. Green Growth Brands Inc. (CNSX:GGB) 6/4/2019 Green Growth Brands Inc. (CNSX:GGB) entered into a definitive agreement to acquire Spring Oaks Greenhouses, Inc., which holds a medical marijuana dispensary license and authorization to operate as a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center in the state of Florida. The medical marijuana dispensary license authorizes Spring Oaks to initiate production, processing, and dispensing of medical marijuana and marijuana products.
Mabel's Bakery & Specialty Foods Inc. Fresh City Farms, Inc. 4/9/2019 Toronto's Fresh City Farms, Inc., an award-winning urban farm and omni-channel retailer, announced that it has acquired Mabel's Bakery & Specialty Foods, specializing in homestyle baked goods, prepared foods, ready meals and artisan breads and cheeses. The acquisition will enable Fresh City to continue to improve their organic and local sourcing, be able to add to their current offerings, and make more of their products available to more customers.

Graph of Buyer Target Geography

Graph of Deals announced

Graph of Deals involving Cadnadian Business

Please contact our Corporate Finance team to learn more about these transactions.

Résumé en fusion et acquisition T2 2019 - Aliments et boissons

09 septembre 2019

M-A_Q219-Website_FB_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2019, le nombre de fusions et d’acquisitions dans le secteur des aliments et boissons est demeuré élevé : 31 transactions visant des parties prenantes canadiennes ont été soit annoncées, soit conclues pendant la période. Le nombre de transactions est légèrement en baisse par rapport aux 37 conclues au premier trimestre de 2019, mais il demeure à la hausse sur 12 mois alors que seulement 22 transactions avaient été annoncées ou réalisées au deuxième trimestre de 2018. Motivés en partie par la possibilité de réaliser des économies d’échelle grâce à une intégration verticale, les acheteurs stratégiques représentent la vaste majorité des acquéreurs au deuxième trimestre.

Tout comme au premier trimestre, le principal vecteur de l’augmentation des transactions dans le secteur des aliments et boissons est l’intérêt soutenu pour le marché en pleine effervescence du cannabis. En effet, les membres du secteur cherchent à acquérir des terrains, des installations de production et de la propriété intellectuelle liés à ce marché, autant au Canada qu’à l’étranger. Cette tendance devrait se poursuivre au troisième trimestre de 2019 et aux suivants. Les intervenants chercheront notamment à se tailler une place sur le marché alors que la question de la marijuana thérapeutique et récréative continue d’évoluer dans les États américains et que le gouvernement fédéral des États-Unis pourrait légaliser le cannabis sous peu.

Le changement de culture qui s’opère à la faveur d’aliments et de boissons sains et biologiques représente un autre facteur qui stimule les activités de fusions et acquisitions dans ce secteur. Les entreprises veulent diversifier leur offre au-delà des aliments et boissons habituels afin de développer un créneau qui leur permettra de se différencier de leurs concurrents.

Les marchés financiers mondiaux continuent de pâtir du conflit commercial entre la Chine et les États-Unis. Il en découle une révision des prévisions : à la hausse pour le taux de chômage et à la baisse pour la croissance en 2019 et 2020. Afin d’atténuer le ralentissement économique connexe, la Banque centrale européenne et la Réserve fédérale ont indiqué qu’elles mettraient en place des mesures de stimulation budgétaire d’ici la fin de 2019. Elles pourraient même diminuer le taux d’intérêt dès ce mois-ci. Le Canada n’échappe pas aux tensions politiques, mais le pays affiche tout de même une croissance économique modérée au deuxième trimestre de 2019 et la Banque du Canada n’entend pas réduire le taux d’escompte à court terme. De nombreuses incertitudes subsistent quant au contexte macroéconomique. Toutefois, les changements sociaux et de culture, le financement par emprunt à faibles taux, les besoins en matière de succession d’entreprise et les taux de change favorables font en sorte que le marché canadien des aliments et boissons demeure propice aux fusions et acquisitions au troisième trimestre et par la suite.

Faits saillants relatifs aux transactions du secteur des aliments et des boissons - T2 2019
Cible Acheteur Date Description de la transaction
HyLife Ltd. Charoen Pokphand Foods Public Company Limited (SET : CPF) 22/04/2019 Charoen Pokphand Foods Public Company Limited, un conglomérat du secteur alimentaire et agroindustriel dont le siège social est situé en Thaïlande, a annoncé l'acquisition de HyLife Limited, le principal producteur et exportateur mondial de produits de porcs du Canada. La transaction accélérera la croissance de HyLife sur les marchés asiatiques, nord-américains et industriels tout en offrant une vitrine aux produits de porcs élevés au Manitoba.
Raw Chocolate Alchemy, LLC Gabriella's Kitchen Inc. (CNSX : GABY) 16/05/2019 Gabriella's Kitchen Inc. (CNSX : GABY), une société de produits de consommation courante axée sur le marché américain qui exploite plusieurs marques dans le secteur du cannabis en plus d'être présente dans les épiceries traditionnelles, a annoncé l'acquisition de Raw Chocolate Alchemy LLC. Cette dernière, qui exploite ses activités sous le nom de Lulu's Chocolates, produit du chocolat entièrement végétalien, biologique et cru. La transaction permettra à Gariella's Kitchen de jeter les bases pour amorcer ses activités de fabrication de chocolat et de confiserie à base de CBD et de THC.
The Kiju Brand de Nothing But Nature Inc. Breuvages Zurban Inc. 21/05/2019 Breuvages Zurban inc., un producteur de jus biologiques et de thés glacés établi au Québec, a conclu une entente visant l'acquisition des actifs de la société The Kiju Brand en ce qui a trait aux jus biologiques et aux thés glacés de Nothing but Nature Inc., une filiale de GreenSpace Brands. GreenSpace consacrera le produit de la transaction au fonds de roulement général ainsi qu'au remboursement d'une partie de la dette, qui devrait s'établir entre 13 et 15 M$ une fois la transaction réalisée.
Spring Oaks Greenhouses, Inc. Green Growth Brands Inc. (CNSX : GGB) 04/05/2019 Green Growth Brands Inc. (CNSX : GGB) a conclu une entente définitive visant l'acquisition de Spring Oaks Greenhouses, Inc. Cette dernière détient un permis de magasin de cannabis médicinal et est autorisée à exploiter un centre offrant des traitements à base de cannabis médicinal dans l'État de la Floride. Le permis de magasin de cannabis médicinal autorise Spring Oaks à commencer la production, la transformation et la distribution de produits de cannabis et de cannabis médicinal.
Mabel's Bakery & Specialty Foods Inc. Fresh City Farms, Inc. 09/04/2019 Détaillant omnicanal et ferme urbaine, la société torontoise primée Fresh City Farms, Inc. a annoncé l'acquisition de Mabel's Bakery & Specialty Foods. Cette dernière est spécialisée dans les produits de boulangerie et pâtisseries maison, les mets préparés, les plats cuisinés ainsi que les pains et fromages artisanaux. L'acquisition permettra à Fresh City de continuer à améliorer son approvisionnement en produits biologiques et locaux, de diversifier son offre actuelle et de rendre une plus grande partie de sa gamme de produits accessible à un plus grand nombre de clients.

Emplacement des acheteurs et des entreprises ciblées

Activités de fusion et acquisition

Transactions par trimestre des entreprises Canadiennes