M&A Summary: Q4 2018 – Food & Beverage

February 20, 2019

FB-TLS_M-A-Q418-Images_LandingPage_679x220.png

There was significant activity in the Canadian food and beverage space in Q4 2018, with 23 deals involving a Canadian party either announced or closed during the period. This represents a decrease from 37 transactions in Q4 2017. Canadian food and beverage businesses continue to be active buyers of both domestic and international companies, as well as attractive acquisition targets for foreign buyers.

Despite challenging macroeconomic factors such as volatile equity markets, geopolitical uncertainty, and trade disputes, cross-border deal activity remains high as companies continue to prioritize the addition of scale regardless of geographical location and regulatory risk. Entering 2019, these macroeconomic factors will continue to have an impact on the food and beverage M&A landscape. Businesses will look to focus on identifying buyers who have an appetite to transact despite a certain level of market uncertainty.

The food and beverage industry continues to offer attractive opportunities for growth, but companies must find ways to invest proactively and respond to dynamic consumer preferences to remain competitive.
 

M-A-Activity_FB_Deals-involving-Cdn-Biz.pngM-A-Activity_FB_Buyer-and-target-geography.pngM-A-Activity_FB_M-A-including-deals-announced.png
 

TLS_M-A-Q418-Highlights_FB.png
To learn more, please contact us or:

Bob McMahon
National Leader, Retail and Consumer Business

Melissa Krakar
National Leader, Food and Beverage

Ryan Farkas
Partner, National Corporate Finance Leader

Résumé du T4 en fusion et acquisition : Aliments et boissons

20 février 2019

FB-TLS_M-A-Q418-Images_LandingPage_679x220.png

Le secteur canadien des aliments et boissons débordait d’activités au T4 2018 : 23 transactions visant une partie prenante canadienne ont été soit annoncées, soit conclues pendant la période. Il s’agit d’une diminution par rapport aux 37 transactions au T4 de 2017. Les entreprises du secteur des aliments et des boissons continuent d’être des acheteurs actifs de grandes sociétés nationales et internationales, ainsi que des cibles d’acquisition intéressantes pour les acheteurs étrangers.

Malgré certains facteurs macroéconomiques difficiles comme la volatilité du marché des actions, l’incertitude géopolitique et les différends commerciaux, le nombre de transactions transfrontalières demeure élevé, car les entreprises continuent de privilégier une approche à grande échelle, peu importe leur emplacement géographique et les risques réglementaires. À l’aube de 2019, ces facteurs macroéconomiques continueront d’avoir une incidence sur les fusions et acquisitions au sein du secteur des aliments et boissons. Les entreprises chercheront à cibler les acheteurs qui ont cette soif de transactions en dépit d’un certain degré d’incertitude sur les marchés. 

Le secteur des aliments et boissons continue d’offrir des perspectives de croissance intéressantes, mais les entreprises doivent trouver de nouvelles manières d’investir en amont et réagir aux préférences changeantes des consommateurs afin de demeurer concurrentielles.
 


 



Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau local de bdo ou :

Bob McMahon
Associé, chef national des Services aux secteurs du commerce de détail et de la grande distribution

Melissa Krakar
Directrice principale, Certification et comptabilité

Ryan Farkas
Chef national de services finance d'entreprise et Associé