Managing surplus in your not-for-profit organization

March 20, 2019

Central_6Mar2019_Website-Image-Assets_NPO-Surpluses_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Our not-for-profit clients often ask how much surplus they can maintain while still being viewed as a not-for-profit. This is a very common concern within the industry. In short, a surplus refers to when a not-for-profit organization reaches a point where it’s making profit. And that, simply, defeats its purpose.

Generally, there are three key stakeholder groups interested in the level of surplus held by not-for-profits. These groups include the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA), current and prospective donors, and the general community.

Let’s take a look at how surpluses are relevant to each of these groups.

Canada Revenue Agency (CRA)

Members of a not-for-profit’s Board of Directors tend to ask how surplus relates to their status with the CRA. What kind of scrutiny could an organization potentially face from having a large surplus?

The CRA addressed this question specifically in 2001 when it released IT 496-R. Sections 8 and 9 dealt with the topic directly and can be referenced here.

According to the CRA, the grounds for surplus accumulation are determined by a case-to-case basis. If there are valid reasons for accumulating a surplus, like an upcoming capital project or the start of a new operating program, then the CRA deems it appropriate. However, if an organization is simply “rolling over” funds into a GIC each year, they may encounter issues.

Current and prospective donors

Donor perception is crucial to a Board of Directors when making decisions on surplus management. Donors are significant contributors to a not-for-profit’s cash flow. If donors feel that an organization already has strong financial resources, they may decide to donate elsewhere. In an effort to prevent this, a not-for-profit needs to clearly allocate its desired purpose or use for surplus funds. A large pool of unrestricted funds will typically deter donors from allotting their resources to an organization.

Public perception

The community’s view of a not-for-profit is another important factor to consider when a Board manages surplus. Negative word of mouth and/or media coverage of an organization’s financial status can have long-lasting, or sometimes permanent, impressions. Again, a clearly defined purpose for the surplus is imperative. The purpose should also be relevant and understandable to the general public. Being clear and transparent when it comes to the need for the accumulated funds helps keep community and public perception in your favour.

Managing surplus

Both management and the Board of Directors need to assess the individual circumstances of the not-for-profit organization. As a general rule, it is recommended that an organization carry 6-12 months of their current operating expenditures as their surplus.

For example, if an organization has $1,000,000 in annual expenditures, it should have a surplus between $500,000 and $1,000,000 accumulated. This prudent amount would allow it to carry on activities in the event of an unexpected disruption to cash flows.

For special projects, the surplus should match the budgeted amount of the project. Another important step is for registered charities to seek permission from the CRA to accumulate funds for special projects. To do this, they can send a letter to the CRA with the following information:

  • the specific purpose for which the funds will be used
  • the amount required
  • the length of time needed to accumulate the funds (minimum 3 years and maximum 10 years)
  • the signature of a director/trustee or other authorized representative of the charity
  • the name and the registration number of the charity
  • the effective date (starting date)

Surplus management is vital in today’s not-for-profit landscape. Managing surpluses appropriately is crucial for Boards to ensure that the organization doesn’t encounter unnecessary political or regulatory risk.

Get in touch

BDO’s not-for-profit team provides a full range of tailored services to help organizations address their changing needs and identify new opportunities. Our professionals have extensive experience working with clients at the local, provincial, and/or national levels, enabling us to apply practical knowledge and insight to advise on various challenges. If you have questions or would like to learn more, our team would be happy to help.

Tim Sothern, Partner
FCPA, FCA, MBA
Jean Prichard, Partner
CPA, CA, CFP

Gérer le surplus de votre organisme sans but lucratif

14 juillet 2022

Nos clients d’OSBL nous demandent souvent combien de surplus ils peuvent maintenir tout en étant toujours considérés sans but lucratif. C’est une préoccupation courante dans le secteur. Bref, le surplus s’entend du moment à partir duquel l’organisme sans but lucratif fait des profits. Ce qui, bien sûr, contrevient à sa raison d’être.

En général, trois groupes de parties prenantes s’intéressent au niveau de surplus que possèdent les OSBL : l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC), les donateurs actuels et éventuels, et la collectivité.

Voyons comment les surplus concernent chacun de ces groupes.

L’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC)

Les membres de conseils d’OSBL ont tendance à demander comment les surplus touchent leur statut auprès de l’ARC. À quel genre d’examen l’organisation pourrait-elle être soumise si elle possède un surplus important?

L’ARC a traité de cette question de manière précise en 2001 quand elle a publié le bulletin IT 496-R. Les chapitres 8 et 9 traitaient directement du sujet et sont accessibles ici.

Selon l’ARC, les motifs pour accumuler des surplus sont déterminés au cas par cas. S’il y a des raisons valables d’accumuler un surplus, comme un important projet ou le début d’un nouveau programme d’exploitation, alors l’ARC considère le surplus approprié. Toutefois, si l’organisation ne fait qu’investir des fonds dans un CPG chaque année, ça pourrait causer problème.

Les donateurs actuels et éventuels

La perception des donateurs est vitale pour le conseil d’administration lors de la prise de décisions sur la gestion des surplus. Les donateurs sont d’importants contributeurs au flux de trésorerie de l’OSBL. Si les donateurs trouvent que l’organisation a déjà de solides ressources financières, ils pourraient décider de donner ailleurs. Dans un effort pour prévenir cela, l’OSBL doit énoncer clairement l’objectif visé ou l’utilisation des fonds de surplus. Une importante réserve de fonds non affectés va dissuader les donateurs d’affecter leurs ressources à l’organisation.

La perception du public

L’opinion que se fait la collectivité au sujet de l’OSBL est un autre facteur important à considérer pour le conseil qui gère un surplus. Le bouche-à-oreille négatif et (ou) des reportages dans les médias au sujet de la situation financière de l’organisation pourrait avoir des répercussions durables, voire permanentes. Ici encore, un objectif clairement défini pour le surplus est impératif. Cet objectif doit aussi être pertinent et compréhensible pour le public. La clarté et la transparence quant au besoin d’accumulation de fonds aide à garder en votre faveur la perception de la collectivité et du public.

La gestion du surplus

La direction et le conseil d’administration doivent tous deux évaluer les circonstances propres à l’organisme sans but lucratif. En règle générale, il est recommandé que l’organisation ait un surplus de 6 à 12 mois de ses frais d’exploitation courants.

Par exemple, l’organisation qui a des frais annuels de 1 000 000 $ doit avoir un surplus accumulé de 500 000 $ à 1 000 000 $. Cette somme prudente permettrait de poursuivre les activités en cas de perturbation soudaine de l’encaisse.

Quant aux projets spéciaux, le surplus doit correspondre au montant prévu au budget pour le projet. Une autre étape importante pour les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés consiste à demander à l’ARC la permission d’accumuler des fonds pour des projets spéciaux. Pour ce faire, ils peuvent envoyer une lettre à l’ARC avec ces renseignements :

  • le but précis pour lequel les fonds seront utilisés
  • le montant nécessaire
  • le temps voulu pour accumuler les fonds (minimum 3 ans et maximum 10 ans)
  • la signature d’un membre du conseil/fiduciaire ou d’un autre représentant de l’organisme
  • le nom et le numéro d’enregistrement de l’organisme de bienfaisance
  • la date de prise d’effet (date du début)

La gestion des surplus est vitale dans le paysage actuel des OSBL. Gérer les surplus de manière appropriée est essentiel pour que les conseils assurent que l’organisme ne court aucun risque inutile ou réglementaire.

Communiquez avec nous

L’équipe du secteur des OSBL de BDO offre un éventail complet de services personnalisés pour aider les organisations à combler leurs besoins changeants et à trouver de nouveaux débouchés. Nos professionnels ont une grande expérience de travail avec leurs clients aux paliers local, provincial et (ou) national. Ils peuvent donc mettre à profit leurs connaissances pratiques et leur intuition pour donner des conseils d’experts peu importe les défis. Vous avez des questions? Vous voulez en savoir plus? Notre équipe se fera un plaisir de vous aider.

Tim Sothern, associé, FCPA, FCA, MBA

Jean Prichard, associée, CPA, CA, CFP

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.