Turning sceptics into changemakers: Attracting Gen Z to the natural resources sector in Canada

March 18, 2022

The continual rise of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) practices, including decarbonization, is disrupting the natural resources sector. Countries around the world have committed to limit global warming to 1.5°and achieving net-zero carbon emissions by 2050. To reach these goals, all areas of society will face significant transformation, affecting every part of the economy.

In addition, the natural resources industry is facing recruitment and talent pipeline challenges. With the ‘Great Resignation’ trend, we’re seeing employees leaving their jobs for opportunities that better meet their needs and expectations—including roles with more flexibility, work-life-balance, and that better align with their values.

The sector has an opportunity to lead the transition towards a net-zero carbon economy. However, shifting attitudes, particularly with younger generations, is undermining the industry’s ability to succeed in a rapidly changing world. In response, BDO Global commissioned research across five major markets for natural resources—including Canada—to understand why Generation Z (Gen Z) is sceptical about a career in the industry, and to learn from the natural resources companies that have been most successful in navigating the challenging recruitment market. Download the full report: Bridging the Gap with Gen Z – Turning Sceptics into Changemakers, here.

Who is Gen Z?

Gen Z can be categorized as individuals born in the late 1990s or the first decade of the 21st century. According to BDOs research, Gen Z hold employers to high ethical standards, favouring factors such as work-life balance, diversity in the workplace, and positive social and environmental impact in their career decision-making.

Canadian companies underestimate the importance of purpose to Gen Z

The Canadian and global research highlights a gap between the career attributes perceived as most important to Gen Z and what natural resources companies believe are most important to this generation.

See below the key highlights from our Canadian research:




BDOs natural resources research in Canada spans 28 corporate respondents and 148 Gen Z (school and university) respondents.

How can the natural resources sector attract Gen Z talent?

Climate change is one of the most important issues facing the natural resources sector. At a time when younger generations are looking for more from their employers, how can the industry attract and retain talent to help meet the challenges ahead?

“In order to bridge the talent gap, natural resources organizations will need to not only align more closely with ESG and sustainable objectives, but develop an achievable roadmap that extends beyond compliance,” said Stephen Payne, Advisory Partner, Energy and Natural Resources Leader at BDO Canada.

“Organizations that embrace technology to enable them to articulate the meaning behind KPIs find themselves in a better position to tackle ESG challenges and obtain buy-in from stakeholders, including future talent,” he added.

To attract Gen Z workers, the natural resources industry must dispel the misconceptions that are turning students away and highlight how Gen Z can help build foundations for more sustainable energy future.

Download the report now

Get in touch with a BDO Advisor:

Stephen Payne, Advisory Partner, Energy and Natural Resources Leader, BDO Canada

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Aider les sceptiques à devenir des agents de changement : Intéresser la génération Z au secteur des ressources

18 mars 2022

L’adoption croissante de pratiques en matière environnementale, sociale et de gouvernance (« ESG »), dont la décarbonisation, a des retombées sur le secteur des ressources naturelles. De nombreux pays se mobilisent pour limiter le réchauffement climatique à 1,5 °C et atteindre la carboneutralité d’ici 2050. Pour y parvenir, l’ensemble de la société devra faire face à une importante transformation qui touchera chaque aspect de l’économie.  

Le secteur des ressources naturelles est actuellement aux prises avec des difficultés relatives au recrutement et aux bassins de candidats. Avec la vague actuelle de « grande démission », de nombreux employés quittent leur emploi pour des postes qui répondent mieux à leurs besoins et à leurs attentes en matière de flexibilité, de conciliation travail-vie personnelle et de valeurs, entre autres.  

Le secteur a l’occasion de se positionner en tête de la transition économique carboneutre. Cependant, les changements de mentalité, particulièrement chez les jeunes générations, nuisent à sa capacité d’y parvenir dans un monde en constante évolution. Dans ce contexte, BDO Global a commandé une étude à l’échelle de cinq principaux marchés des ressources naturelles, dont le Canada, afin de comprendre les raisons pour lesquelles la génération Z est sceptique à l’idée d’entamer une carrière dans le secteur ainsi que d’apprendre des entreprises du secteur des ressources naturelles ayant le mieux réussi à surmonter les défis posés par le marché du recrutement. Téléchargez le rapport complet ici : Bridging the Gap with Gen Z – Turning Sceptics into Changemakers

Qui est la génération Z?  

La génération Z est composée des personnes nées entre la fin des années 1990 et la première décennie des années 2000. Selon l’étude menée par BDO, la génération Z s’attend à ce que les employeurs respectent des normes élevées en matière d’éthique et privilégie des éléments comme la conciliation travail-vie personnelle, la diversité en milieu de travail et les retombées environnementales et sociales positives pour ses choix de carrière.   

Les entreprises canadiennes sous-estiment l’importance de l’objectif derrière le choix de carrière pour la génération Z 

Les études canadiennes et internationales soulignent un écart entre les caractéristiques les plus recherchées d’un poste par la génération Z et celles que les entreprises du secteur des ressources naturelles estiment être les plus recherchées par celle-ci.  

Voici les faits saillants de notre étude canadienne : 




L’étude de BDO sur le secteur des ressources naturelles au Canada comprend 28 répondants issus d’entreprises et 148 répondants issus de la génération Z (des milieux scolaire et universitaire).

Comment le secteur des ressources naturelles peut-il attirer des talents de la génération Z?

Les changements climatiques sont l’un des enjeux les plus importants auxquels fait face le secteur des ressources naturelles. Dans le contexte actuel, où les jeunes générations s’attendent à un engagement accru de leurs employeurs, comment ce secteur peut-il attirer et retenir les talents en prévision de l’avenir?

« Afin de combler le fossé en matière de talents, les organisations du secteur des ressources naturelles devront mieux harmoniser leurs activités avec les objectifs d’ESG et de durabilité et élaborer une feuille de route réalisable qui dépasse les simples limites de la conformité », affirme Stephen Payne, associé au sein des Services-conseils et chef des Services au secteur de l’énergie et des ressources naturelles chez BDO Canada.

« Les organisations qui adoptent la technologie de façon à pouvoir déterminer le sens précis derrière les indicateurs de rendement se trouvent en meilleure position pour relever les défis en matière d’ESG et obtenir l’adhésion des parties intéressées, dont les futurs talents », ajoute-t-il.

Pour attirer des talents issus de la génération Z, le secteur des ressources naturelles doit corriger les idées fausses qui repoussent les étudiants et souligner les façons dont la génération Z peut contribuer à un avenir écoénergétique durable.

Téléchargez le rapport dès maintenant
(le rapport est disponible en anglais seulement)

Communiquez avec un conseiller de BDO :

Pierre Taillefer, Associé, CPA auditeur, BDO Canada 

Stephen Payne, associé, Services-conseils et chef des Services au secteur de l’énergie et des ressources naturelles, BDO Canada 

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.