M&A Summary: Q1 2019 - Manufacturing

May 14, 2019

M&A transaction volume involving Canadian manufacturing businesses experienced a moderate decline during the last four quarters through Q1-19 (L4Q19), with 65 deals announced or closed during the period. This represents a slight downtick from the 68 transactions announced or closed during 2018, but continues a multi-year decrease in Canadian Manufacturing M&A volume.

Recent declines in Canadian manufacturing transactions was likely impacted by factors and end-market drivers that increase the risk profile of manufacturing companies. Examples include rising debt levels in Canada, volatile equity markets, geopolitical uncertainty, changing cross-border trade dynamics and slowing economic growth.

Progressing through 2019, macro factors will continue to have an impact on the manufacturing M&A landscape, raising the threshold for due diligence and the strategic vision required to consummate a transaction. However, the growing number of business owners seeking succession transactions, and substantial debt and equity capital that must be deployed, are expected to support continued transaction opportunities. Business owners with reasonable value expectations should continue to see opportunities to transact with buyers despite an uncertain economic environment.

Select Manufacturing Transactions - Q1 2019
Target Buyer Date Transaction Description
Prepac Manufacturing Ltd. TorQuest Partners Inc. 03/14/2019 TorQuest Partners, Inc., a Canadian private equity firm announced that they will acquire Prepac Manufacturing Ltd. a Canadian manufacturer of home furniture.
Groupe Laperriere & Verrault Inc. Valmet Oyj 02/26/2019 Valmet Oyj, a Finnish manufacturer of pulp & paper products, acquired Groupe Laperriere & Verrault Inc.,
a Quebec-based manufacturer of water treatment and pulp & paper products, for $169M CAD
Dynex Power Inc. (TSXV:DNK) Zhuzhiu CRRC Times Electric (SHEK:3898) 01/18/2019 Zhuzhou CRRC Times Electric Co. (SHEK:3898), a
Chinese manufacturer of locomotive electrical components, acquired Dynex Power Inc., (TSXV: DNK) a Semiconductor manufacturer for $17.34M CAD.
Solacom Technologies Comtech (NasdaqGS:CMTL) 01/08/2019 Comtech (NasdaqgS:CMTL), a US provider of commercial communication systems, acquired Solacom Technologies, a Quebec-based safety communications manufacturer for $43.9M
Aeryon Labs FlIR Systems (NasdaqGS:FLIR) 01/02/2019 FLIR Systems (NasdaqGS:FLIR) a manufacturer of digital & thermal imaging systems acquired Aeryon Labs Inc., a manufacturer of aerial imaging systems for $265M CAD.

Buyer Target Geography

Deals announced

Deals involving Canadian-Business

For a global perspective, read our latest quarterly global mid-market M&A review where we offer a view of how the M&A market is evolving – and where it appears to be heading.

Horizon Issue

Résumé du T4 en fusion et acquisition : Fabrication et distribution

14 mai 2019

Le volume de fusions et acquisitions visant des entreprises canadiennes du secteur de la fabrication a moyennement diminué au cours des quatre derniers trimestres jusqu'au T1 2019 (4DT 2019), 65 transactions ayant été annoncées ou conclues au cours de la période. Il s'agit d'une légère baisse par rapport aux 68 transactions annoncées ou conclues en 2018 et d'une diminution sur plusieurs années.

Les facteurs et les catalyseurs du marché final qui haussent le profil de risque des sociétés du secteur de la fabrication ont probablement eu une incidence sur les baisses récentes des opérations du secteur de la fabrication canadien. Parmi ces facteurs, mentionnons le niveau d'endettement au Canada, la volatilité sur les marchés boursiers, l'incertitude géopolitique, les changements à l'égard de la dynamique des négociations commerciales transfrontalières et le ralentissement de la croissance économique.

À mesure que l'année 2019 progresse, les facteurs macroéconomiques continueront d'influer sur les fusions et acquisitions du secteur de la fabrication et relèveront le seuil à atteindre en matière de vérification diligente et de vision stratégique pour conclure une transaction. Toutefois, le nombre croissant de propriétaires d'entreprises qui cherchent à conclure des transactions pour assurer la relève de leur entreprise ainsi que les emprunts et les capitaux propres massifs importants qui doivent être déployés devraient favoriser les occasions de transactions. Les propriétaires d'entreprise qui ont des attentes raisonnables en matière de valeur devraient continuer de trouver des occasions malgré l'incertitude de la conjoncture.

Principales transactions au T1 2019

Cible Acheteur Date Description de la transaction
Prepac Manufacturing Ltd. TorQuest Partners Inc. 03/14/2019 TorQuest Partners, Inc., une société canadienne de capital-investissement, a annoncé qu'elle ferait l'acquisition de Prepac Manufacturing Ltd., un fabricant canadien de meubles.
Groupe Laperriere & Verrault Inc. Valmet Oyj 02/26/2019 Valmet Oyj, un fabricant finlandais de produits de pâtes et papiers, a fait l'acquisition de Groupe Laperrière & Verrault Inc., un fabricant québécois de produits de pâtes et papiers et de traitement des eaux, moyennant une contrepartie de 169 M$ CA.
Dynex Power Inc. (TSXV:DNK) Zhuzhiu CRRC Times Electric (SHEK:3898) 01/18/2019 Zhuzhou CRRC Times Electric Co. (SHEK:3898), un fabricant chinois de composants électriques pour locomotives, a fait l'acquisition de Dynex Power Inc., (TSXV : DNK), un fabricant de semi-conducteurs moyennant une contrepartie de 17,34 M$ CA.
Solacom Technologies Comtech (NasdaqGS:CMTL) 01/08/2019 Comtech (NasdaqgS:CMTL), un fournisseur américain de systèmes de communication commerciale, a fait l'acquisition de Solacom Technologies, un fabricant québécois de solutions de communication d'urgence moyennant une contrepartie de 43,9 M$.
Aeryon Labs FlIR Systems (NasdaqGS:FLIR) 01/02/2019 FLIR Systems (NasdaqGS:FLIR), un fabricant de systèmes d'imagerie thermique et numérique a fait l'acquisition de Aeryon Labs Inc., un fabricant de systèmes d'imagerie aérienne, moyennant une contrepartie de 265 M$ CA.

Géographie cible de l'acheteur

Offres annoncées

Transactions impliquant des entreprises canadiennes