Canada’s Fall Economic Statement: Next Steps For Manufacturers

January 30, 2019

NTL_Firm_30Jan18_Website_Manufacturing-Fiscal-Update_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

The federal government’s Fall Economic Statement brought good news to the manufacturing industry in Canada.

At a time when companies are struggling with recent tariffs and uncertainty over the new USMCA agreement, the Statement introduced new and enhanced programs that can help manufacturers stay competitive on the global stage. Key initiatives include:

  • Immediate tax write-offs for the full cost of manufacturing and processing equipment and machinery.
  • Creation of the Export Diversification Strategy, which includes funding for domestic infrastructure upgrades, expanded Trade Commissioner Services in new export markets, and CanExport programs.
  • Removal of inter-provincial trade barriers and improvements to regulatory systems to help simplify and accelerate business processes.
  • Additional investment in the Strategic Innovation Fund over the next five years, with specific funds for the forestry sector and an emphasis on promoting clean technology.

What this means for manufacturers

Compared to historic levels, the manufacturing industry has suffered a decline over the past few years in terms of net investment in technology and production capacity. A favourable tax rate once provided a solid competitive edge, but recent U.S. tax reforms and the high cost of doing business in Canada have eliminated that advantage.

The initiatives laid out in the Economic Statement will help companies make more strategic investments and facilitate greater advancements in technology. With the ability to put money back into the business more quickly, Canadian manufacturers can reduce the risk to their bottom line and accelerate their productivity.

The new programs also give companies the tools to develop export relationships outside of North America, which can help diversify their customer base and reduce dependence on the U.S. market.

Next steps for business owners

The federal Economic Statement is a high-level blueprint of things to come for the manufacturing industry. While detailed spending plans are to come with the 2019 Budget, business owners can begin to take first steps towards growth.

1. Build (or revise) your strategic plan

First and foremost, business owners must decide if they will invest or divest. Low interest rates and strong transaction values indicate a market with opportunities for both buyers and sellers. Manufacturers who plan to invest should assess their company’s current state and identify any gaps in their technology, processes, and services to start mapping out a clear strategic vision.

2. Invest in Industry 4.0 initiatives

The path to digital transformation will vary from company to company. Focus on a specific business or operational problem to solve, such as productivity gaps or the need for centralized data, and take incremental steps that will build to a larger solution. Prepare and engage your employees with a clear communications and change management plan.

3. Develop your export markets

It’s a risky time for import/export relations between Canada and the U.S. Greater diversification of business relationships can help strengthen your company’s financial security. Identify stakeholders within your company to drive new opportunities.

4. Consult third-party professionals

To grow and expand into new markets, manufacturers need strong partners who understand the industry. Third-party professionals like BDO can help manufacturers develop a plan, secure funding, optimize government tools and programs, expand globally, and implement digital transformation projects.

The time to act is now

Manufacturing business owners must begin to make investments now in order to stay competitive, or risk being left behind. BDO’s team of manufacturing professionals have a comprehensive range of services to assist manufacturers with business transformation and growth. Contact us today to start the conversation.

Énoncé économique de l’automne du gouvernement fédéral : prochaines étapes pour les fabricants

30 janvier 2019

NTL_Firm_30Jan18_Website_Manufacturing-Fiscal-Update_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

L’Énoncé économique de l’automne du gouvernement fédéral a réjoui le secteur de la fabrication au Canada.

Alors que les sociétés sont aux prises avec des tarifs supplémentaires et doivent composer avec l’incertitude liée à l’Accord États-Unis–Mexique–Canada (AEUMC), l’Énoncé économique annonçait des programmes, nouveaux ou améliorés, pour les aider à demeurer concurrentiels sur la scène internationale. Parmi les principales initiatives, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • Déduction immédiate pour la totalité du coût de la machinerie et de l’équipement de fabrication et de transformation.
  • Création de la Stratégie de diversification des exportations, qui prévoit du financement pour la modernisation des infrastructures au pays, pour l’élargissement du Service des délégués commerciaux dans les nouveaux marchés d’exportation et pour le programme CanExport.
  • Élimination des obstacles au commerce interprovincial et améliorations des systèmes de réglementation pour simplifier et accélérer les échanges commerciaux.
  • D’autres investissements dans le Fonds stratégique pour l’innovation au cours des cinq prochaines années, incluant des sommes spécifiquement pour le secteur forestier et la promotion accrue des technologies propres.

Retombées pour les fabricants

Une consultation des données historiques met en lumière une réduction des investissements nets dans la technologie et la capacité de production depuis quelques années dans le secteur de la fabrication. Un taux d’imposition favorable a permis, par le passé, de jouir d’un solide avantage concurrentiel, qui n’existe plus aujourd’hui en raison des récentes réformes fiscales américaines et des coûts d’exploitation élevés au Canada.

Les initiatives présentées dans l’Énoncé économique aideront les entreprises à faire des investissements plus stratégiques et stimuleront les progrès technologiques. Puisqu’ils seront en mesure de réinvestir plus rapidement dans leurs entreprises, les fabricants canadiens seront en mesure de protéger leur résultat net et d’accroître leur productivité.

De plus, les nouveaux programmes permettront aux entreprises de percer des marchés à l’extérieur de l’Amérique du Nord, ce qui pourrait mener à une diversification de la clientèle et à une réduction de la dépendance envers le marché américain.

Prochaines étapes pour les propriétaires d’entreprise

L’Énoncé économique du gouvernement fédéral détaille le plan d’action prévu pour le secteur de la fabrication. Même si des plans de dépenses détaillés ne seront connus qu’au dépôt du budget de 2019, les propriétaires d’entreprise peuvent déjà prendre des mesures pour favoriser la croissance.

1. Créer (ou mettre à jour) un plan stratégique

Tout d’abord, les propriétaires d’entreprise doivent décider s’ils empruntent la voie de l’investissement ou celle du désinvestissement. Les faibles taux d’intérêt et les valeurs transactionnelles élevées laissent croire à un marché où acheteurs et vendeurs peuvent y trouver leur compte. Les fabricants qui prévoient de se tourner vers les investissements doivent évaluer la situation actuelle de leur entreprise et cerner toute lacune quant à leur technologie, leurs processus et leurs services afin de pouvoir élaborer une vision stratégique claire.

2. Prendre le virage de l’industrie 4.0

Le chemin de la transformation numérique sera différent d’une société à l’autre. Mettez l’accent sur un problème commercial ou opérationnel précis à régler, comme les écarts de productivité ou le besoin de centraliser les données, et prenez des mesures graduelles qui mèneront à une solution plus globale. Préparez et mobilisez vos employés grâce à des communications claires et un plan de gestion du changement.

3. Élargir les marchés d’exportation

Les importations et exportations entre le Canada et les États-Unis sont actuellement marquées par la tourmente. Une meilleure diversification des relations commerciales peut contribuer à renforcer la sécurité financière de votre entreprise. Ciblez les intervenants au sein de votre entreprise qui sauront trouver de nouveaux débouchés.

4. Consulter des professionnels externes

Pour croître et percer de nouveaux marchés, les fabricants doivent pouvoir compter sur de solides partenaires qui comprennent le secteur. Des professionnels externes, dont BDO, peuvent aider les fabricants à créer un plan, trouver du financement, tirer le maximum des outils et programmes du gouvernement, prendre de l’expansion à l’international et à mettre en œuvre des projets de transformation numérique.

Agir, maintenant

Les propriétaires d’entreprises du secteur de la fabrication doivent commencer à investir dès maintenant pour demeurer concurrentiels ou risquer d’être laissés derrière. L’équipe de professionnels du secteur de la fabrication de BDO propose une vaste gamme de services pour épauler les fabricants en matière de croissance et de transformation des activités. Communiquez avec nous dès aujourd’hui pour amorcer la discussion.