Raising Capital in Agriculture – Innovation is Power

June 25, 2018

AG_19Oct17_Website-Image-Assets_Innovation-is-Power_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Though raising capital in today’s financial landscape is no easy task for farmers and producers, there are several strategies to consider. One strategy centres on innovation. Business owners have made investing in innovation a priority, and agriculture producers have been among the most active, investing in advanced machinery and equipment that provides faster processing times. Understanding the need for assistance, various governmental agencies have earmarked substantial dollars to aid growers in making innovative investments in their operations, including non-repayable grants and noninterest loans. Most of these loans are structured with deferred repayment terms for one year and designed to assist with managing cash flow. In today’s financial landscape, businesses who are able to tap into this kind of financing have a significant advantage.

Raising Capital in Agriculture – Buyer Beware

The forms of security sought after by lenders are fairly common in the current marketplace. These typically include corporate and personal guarantees and general security agreements over some or all assets of the business. However, the inclusion or exclusion of the personal guarantee requirement, and the dollar value of the guarantee, are often areas of review. A careful review by a lawyer and accountant is a worthwhile practice before signing off. Often, security clauses can be altered or removed altogether through negotiation.

Raising Capital in Agriculture – Shop Around

Whether looking to expand, refinance or acquire a farming business, it’s common to look for financing from an existing lender or bank. The commercial lending marketplace is extremely competitive and lenders are constantly looking for good investments to place their capital. A customer is well served to seek the best deal from three or four lenders. The benefit is three-fold: 1) Going to multiple lenders ensures the best rate as healthy competition typically results in a better bargaining position. 2) Competition promotes greater urgency and a faster close of the transaction. 3) Some lenders are willing to invest more than others.

Raising Capital in Agriculture – Think Outside the Box

Many entrepreneurs have tapped into new and interesting ways to raise capital for start-ups, expansion and various projects. Ventures such as crowdfunding are currently being used to help raise capital for farm start-ups and expansions. The concept of crowdfunding involves the funding of a goal or project through leveraging small contributions from many people. It is widely used in support of charitable causes and disaster relief, however it also lends itself well to business uses. Whether the funding provides an investor reward (financial or non-financial) or donative, the possibilities are endless in attracting investors.

Raising Capital in Agriculture – Five Common Pitfalls to Avoid

There are a number of factors and pitfalls that should be considered before starting to invest and commit dollars into your agricultural business venture.

1) Applying for a loan costs money – banks charge a fee to process a loan which can run from a few hundred to a few thousand dollars depending on the size of the loan. Some lenders have an upfront, non-refundable fee which is owed even if the loan is not obtained.

2) Most lenders require a significant amount of due diligence prior to loan approval. This typically involves having a set of pro-forma financial projections prepared, producing appraisals, providing personal net worth statements, etc. All of this requires upfront investment from the borrowers before the loan is processed.

3) Very few loans are approved locally. Most banks send loans to their credit department to make the final decision. Generally, this structure results in longer processing times for loans and business owners have to be prepared to wait it out.

4) Lenders have a number of different metrics they use to assess credit risk and decide which businesses make good candidates for a loan. The most important criteria used by lenders is the value of the underlying assets and how much cash flow the business generates or EBITDA (Earnings before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation and Amortization). Lenders can loan up to a percentage of the assets they are funding; however, they also evaluate the level of EBITDA generated by the business to determine if the business can service the debt.

5) Other benchmarks exist on an industry by industry basis which may be unknown to many. For example, some commercial lenders are operating with restrictive guidelines when lending to dairy farms. Producers that are leveraged above the lenders’ benchmark are at high risk for meeting their debt service obligations in the view of lender. As a result, anyone looking to purchase an existing dairy farm will require a significant amount of equity in order to meet the demands of the bank to partner on the deal.

Mobilisation de capitaux en agriculture : l’innovation est une force

25 juin 2018

AG_19Oct17_Website-Image-Assets_Innovation-is-Power_LandingPage_679x220.jpg


Compte tenu du contexte financier actuel, la mobilisation de capitaux n’est pas chose facile pour les agriculteurs et les producteurs, mais il existe plusieurs stratégies qui valent la peine d’être considérées. L’une d’entre elles est axée sur l’innovation. Les propriétaires d’entreprises mettent l’accent sur les investissements en innovation. C’est notamment le cas chez les producteurs agricoles, qui investissent dans de la machinerie et de l’équipement de pointe pour accélérer leurs délais de traitement. Soucieuses d’aider les producteurs à réaliser des investissements novateurs dans leurs activités, diverses agences gouvernementales affectent des sommes importantes au soutien financier et accordent des subventions non remboursables et des prêts sans intérêt. La plupart des emprunts ainsi consentis permettent de différer les versements pendant un an et sont conçus pour faciliter la gestion des flux de trésorerie. Dans le contexte financier actuel, ce type de financement procure un net avantage aux entreprises admissibles.

Mobilisation de capitaux en agriculture : la sûreté se négocie

Certains types de sûreté sont monnaie courante chez les prêteurs. Il peut s’agir de garanties personnelles ou de société et de contrats de sûreté générale sur une partie ou la totalité des actifs de l’entreprise. Toutefois, il est possible de remettre en question l’obligation ou non de fournir une garantie personnelle, ainsi que la valeur de cette garantie. Avant de signer un document, demandez à un avocat et à un comptable de l’examiner attentivement. La négociation permet souvent de modifier, voire d’éliminer certaines clauses relatives à la sûreté.

Mobilisation de capitaux en agriculture : magasinez votre prêteur

Que ce soit pour une expansion, un refinancement ou une acquisition, les entreprises vont généralement s’adresser à leur banquier ou prêteur actuel. Toutefois, le marché du crédit aux entreprises est très concurrentiel et les prêteurs restent toujours à l’affût de débouchés intéressants pour investir des capitaux. C’est pourquoi les clients avertis magasinent auprès de trois ou quatre prêteurs pour choisir la meilleure offre. La saine concurrence comporte trois avantages : 1) elle permet d’obtenir le meilleur taux grâce à un pouvoir de négociation accru; 2) elle suscite l’empressement et la conclusion rapide de la transaction; et 3) elle permet de trouver un prêteur plus enclin à investir que les autres.

Mobilisation de capitaux en agriculture : sortez des sentiers battus

De nombreux entrepreneurs sont ouverts aux nouvelles solutions pour trouver les capitaux nécessaires à un démarrage, à une expansion ou à divers projets. Par exemple, pour démarrer ou étendre leurs activités, certaines entreprises agricoles ont recours au sociofinancement, qui consiste à réunir les apports modestes de nombreuses personnes pour réaliser un objectif ou un projet. Cette forme de financement est souvent employée dans le domaine de la charité et de l’aide humanitaire, mais se prête bien à un usage commercial. De plus, elle comporte des possibilités infinies pour attirer les investisseurs, qu’ils veuillent obtenir une récompense (financière ou non) ou simplement faire un don.

Mobilisation de capitaux en agriculture : cinq pièges courants à éviter

Avant d’investir de l’argent dans votre entreprise agricole, vous devez tenir compte de nombreux facteurs et pièges possibles.

1) Demander un prêt peut coûter cher. Les banques exigent des frais de dossier de quelques centaines à quelques milliers de dollars, selon le montant du prêt. Dans certains cas, ces frais sont payables d’avance et ne sont pas remboursables, même si le prêt est refusé.

2) Avant de donner leur approbation, la plupart des prêteurs exercent une vérification diligente très poussée. L’emprunteur doit alors produire des états financiers pro forma prévisionnels, des évaluations, des états de l’avoir net personnel, etc. Tous ces documents nécessitent un investissement initial, et ce, avant même que la demande de crédit soit traitée.

3) Il est très rare qu’une demande de crédit soit approuvée par un bureau local. Dans la plupart des banques, la décision finale revient à un service de crédit centralisé. Cette structure par niveaux entraîne généralement des délais de traitement plus longs. Les propriétaires d’entreprise doivent donc s’armer de patience.

4) Les prêteurs utilisent diverses mesures pour évaluer le risque de crédit d’un client et déterminer s’il est un bon candidat pour un prêt. Le critère le plus important est la valeur des actifs sous-jacents et le flux de trésorerie généré par l’entreprise ou BAIIA (bénéfice avant intérêts, impôts et amortissements). Bien que les prêteurs puissent déterminer le montant du prêt selon un pourcentage des actifs financés, c’est à partir du BAIIA qu’ils déterminent si l’entreprise a les moyens de rembourser sa dette.

5) Il existe des points de référence parfois méconnus pour chaque secteur d’activité. Par exemple, chez certains prêteurs commerciaux, le crédit aux fermes laitières est soumis à des critères très serrés. Aux yeux du prêteur, tout producteur qui dépasse le point de référence est jugé à risque élevé de ne pas rembourser sa dette. Dans ce contexte, toute personne qui désire financer l’achat d’une ferme laitière doit prévoit une somme importante en capitaux pour répondre aux exigences de la banque.