2019 Federal Budget: Gearing up for change in agriculture

March 21, 2019

Central_Hanover_20Mar19_Website_Fed-Budget-Impact-Agriculture_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Following the recent release of the 2019 Federal Budget, our agriculture team would like to share some details that will affect the agriculture industry. We focus on five areas in particular:

  • Small business deduction
  • Further support for supply-managed farmers
  • Better support for the transfer of farms to the next generation
  • Review of legislative and regulatory framework for Canadian grain farmers
  • The Canada Food Policy

Small business deduction

The Federal Budget eliminates the requirement that farming and fishing businesses’ sales must be to a farming or fishing cooperative to be excluded from the specified corporate income rules.

The specified corporate income rules, in general terms, disqualify certain income of a Canadian-Controlled Private Corporation (CCPC) from being eligible for the small business deduction. In particular, the exclusion will apply to a CCPC’s income from the sales of farming products or fishing catches of its farming or fishing business to any arm’s-length purchaser corporation.

However, consistent with current rules, amounts allocated to a CCPC as patronage payments from a purchaser corporation will not qualify for the exclusion. This measure applies to tax years that begin after March 21, 2016. Therefore, this opens up the possibility of amending previous corporate tax returns where it is beneficial to do so.

Let’s look at a simple example where this new provision would help:

  • A farm corporation owned by a farmer carries on a cash-crop farm business
  • It sells the majority of its crop to an elevator business, owned by a private corporation
  • The farmer’s sibling is a minority interest shareholder in the elevator corporation
  • The farmer is not related in any way to the majority owner of the elevator

Prior to this budget, the farm corporation’s net income from the crop sales to the elevator would not be eligible for the small business deduction. However, with this budget change, the net income of the farm corporation from the crop sales to the elevator will now be eligible for the small business deduction.

Further support for supply-managed farmers in Canada

The Federal Budget update also proposes up to $3.9 billion in support for supply-managed farmers. This is subsequent to the recent ratifications of CETA (Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement) and CPTPP (Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership). The following was taken directly from the Federal Budget, highlighting this support:

  • While $250 million has already been provided to support dairy farmers as a result of CETA, a further $2.15 billion will be available to eligible dairy, poultry, and egg farmers in coming years to deal with income losses associated with these trade agreements.
  • $1.5 billion has been earmarked for a Quota Value Guarantee Program. The program will protect against reduction in quota value when dairy, poultry, and egg quota is sold.

For the rest of this year, the Canadian government will be working with anyone involved in supply management to focus on how processing is affected. They will also be following any potential impact of the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement.

Farm transfer to next generations

Farm businesses have a significant family component. Transitioning a farm business to children and grandchildren is commonplace in the industry, which the Canadian government has recognized. Better proposals are being planned this year that adequately integrate transfers between family members and consider the implications of the tax system. Moreover, the government is looking to amend the Income Tax Act to make intergenerational transfers more tax efficient.

Grain farming in 2019

Supplementary to the Federal Budget updates, the Canada Grain Act, as well as the operations of the Canadian Grain Commission will be thoroughly reviewed to ensure an adequate update to the legislative and regulatory frameworks for Canadian grains. This includes addressing redundant inspections and issues with the grain classification process that restricts Canadian exporters.

Canada Food Policy

In addition, Budget 2019 proposes $134.4 million in new cash investments to support existing initiatives. Among these are helping Canadian schools and communities develop programs that nurture healthy eating; supporting food security in indigenous communities that protects hunting and harvesting activities; continued efforts for food waste reduction; and addressing food infrastructure and fraud issues. Further, there will be support for Canadian food processers in the initiative to eat and export locally grown and produced food.

Contacts

Mark Verwey - Partner, National Agriculture Leader

Kurt Oelschlagel – Partner, National Agriculture Tax Leader

Budget fédéral 2019 Un vent de changement en agriculture

21 mars 2019

Central_Hanover_20Mar19_Website_Fed-Budget-Impact-Agriculture_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Suite à la récente publication du Budget fédéral 2019, notre équipe spécialisée dans le secteur de l’agriculture souhaite aborder certains détails qui auront une incidence sur ce secteur. Nous traiterons de cinq aspects en particulier :

  • Déduction accordée aux petites entreprises
  • Aide supplémentaire pour les fermiers assujettis à la gestion de l’offre
  • Meilleur soutien lors du transfert de l’exploitation des fermes à la prochaine génération d’agriculteurs.
  • Mise à jour des cadres législatifs et réglementaires relatifs aux grains canadiens
  • Politique alimentaire pour le Canada

Déduction accordée aux petites entreprises

Le Budget fédéral élimine l’exigence voulant que les ventes d’entreprises agricoles ou de pêche doivent être effectuées à une société coopérative agricole ou de pêche pour être exclues du revenu de société déterminé.

Les règles relatives au revenu de société déterminé, de façon générale, rendent certaines sociétés privées sous contrôle canadien (SPCC) inadmissibles à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises. En particulier, cette exclusion s’appliquera au revenu d’une SPCC tiré des ventes de produits agricoles ou de pêche de son entreprise agricole ou de pêche à toute société acheteuse sans lien de dépendance.

Cependant, conformément aux règles actuelles, les montants alloués à une SPCC à titre de ristourne d’une société acheteuse ne seront pas admissibles à cette exclusion. Ces mesures s’appliquent aux années d’imposition commençant après le 21 mars 2016. Par conséquent, cette mesure donne la possibilité de modifier des déclarations de revenus de société lorsqu’il est avantageux de le faire.

Voyons un exemple de situation dans laquelle cette mesure est avantageuse :

  • Une société agricole détenue par un agriculteur exploite une entreprise agricole de culture commerciale.
  • La majeure partie des cultures de l’entreprise est vendue à une entreprise de silos, détenue par une société fermée.
  • Le frère de l’agriculteur est un actionnaire minoritaire de la société qui possède l’entreprise de silos.
  • L’agriculteur n’a aucun lien avec la propriétaire majoritaire.

Avant le dépôt du plus récent budget, le revenu net de la société agricole tiré de la vente de cultures à l’entreprise de silos n’aurait pas été admissible à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises. Grâce à la modification apportée dans le budget 2019, ce même revenu est maintenant admissible à la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises.

Aide supplémentaire pour les fermiers assujettis à la gestion de l’offre

Le Budget fédéral propose une aide allant jusqu’à 3,9 milliards de dollars pour les fermiers assujettis à la gestion de l’offre. Cette mesure suit la récente ratification de l’AECG (Accord économique et commercial global) et du PTPGP (Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste). Les éléments suivants expliquant cette aide supplémentaire sont tirés directement du Budget fédéral :

  • Bien que 250 millions de dollars ont déjà été fournis pour soutenir les producteurs laitiers en conséquence de l’AECG, un montant supplémentaire pouvant atteindre 2,15 milliards sera offert aux agriculteurs admissibles des secteurs des produits laitiers, de la volaille et des œufs au cours des années à venir pour les aider à compenser les pertes de revenu liées aux ententes.
  • Une enveloppe de 1,5 milliard de dollars a été allouée pour mettre en place le Programme de garantie de la valeur des quotas. Le programme offrira une protection contre la diminution de la valeur des quotas à la vente de produits laitiers, de la volaille et des œufs.

Pour le reste de l’exercice, le gouvernement canadien travaillera avec toutes les personnes impliquées dans la gestion de l’offre pour évaluer l’incidence sur le traitement. Les effets possibles de l’Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique seront également observés.

Transfert de l’exploitation des fermes à la prochaine génération d’agriculteurs

Les entreprises agricoles comportent une composante familiale importante. Le gouvernement canadien reconnaît que le transfert d’entreprise agricole aux enfants et petits-enfants est courant dans le secteur. De meilleures propositions intégrant les transferts entre les membres d’une même famille et tenant compte des implications du système fiscal sont prévues au cours de l’exercice. De plus, le gouvernement prévoit modifier la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu pour rendre les transferts intergénérationnels plus efficaces sur le plan fiscal.

Agriculture céréalière en 2019

Un examen de portée générale de la Loi sur les grains du Canada et des activités de la Commission canadienne des grains sera entrepris pour assurer une mise à jour adéquate des cadres législatifs et réglementaires relatifs aux grains canadiens. Les inspections redondantes et les questions liées au processus de classification des grains actuel qui restreignent inutilement les exportateurs de grains canadiens font partie des aspects qui seront abordés dans le cadre de cet examen.

Politique alimentaire pour le Canada

Le budget 2019 propose également d’investir 134,4 millions de dollars pour soutenir les initiatives actuelles. Parmi ces initiatives, notons l’aide aux écoles et collectivités canadiennes dans le développement de programmes qui font la promotion d’une saine alimentation, la protection des activités de chasse et de récolte pour favoriser la sécurité alimentaire dans les communautés autochtones, les efforts continus en matière de réduction du gaspillage alimentaire et le traitement des questions d’infrastructure des aliments et de fraude. De plus, les transformateurs d’aliments canadiens recevront de l’aide dans le cadre de l’initiative visant la consommation et l’exportation d’aliments cultivés et produits localement.

Personnes-ressources

Mark Verwey — Associé et chef national des Services au secteur de l’agriculture

Kurt Oelschlagel — Associé et chef national des Services en fiscalité au secteur de l’agriculture