When Corporations Make Improvements to Farms Owned by Shareholders

October 04, 2018

AG_Tips_Web_July_Corporate-Owned-Buildings_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

It is not uncommon for a farm corporation to construct a new building or invest in capital improvement (i.e. land clearing and drainage) on land that is owned by the shareholders outside of the corporate structure.

The Income Tax Act has rules about using corporate funds for the benefit of shareholders. When corporate funds are being used to make an improvement to property owned by the shareholder, the shareholder or related party could be taxed on the actual cost of the addition or improvement to the property as a shareholder benefit.

This risk can be mitigated if the corporation enters into a formal lease agreement to rent the property from the shareholder. The length of the lease should be negotiated to match the useful life of the building or improvement. For example, if a corporation is building a new dairy barn on a personally owned farm, the length of the lease should approximate the expected life of the barn.

The lease should also include a clause that states if the shareholder sells the land prior to the end of the term of the lease, the shareholder has an obligation to buy the improvement from the corporation for its fair market value at that time. Since the improvements to the property are used during the term of the lease or will be acquired by the shareholder from the corporation for fair market value, it can be argued that there is no taxable benefit.

The complexity of the Income Tax Act rules around shareholder benefits and the dollar value of the capital improvements made to the shareholder property make this a risky area, as the costs of the Canada Revenue Agency assessing a taxable benefit could be substantial.

Améliorations apportées par des sociétés à des exploitations agricoles détenues par des actionnaires

04 octobre 2018

AG_Tips_Web_July_Corporate-Owned-Buildings_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Il n’est pas rare que des sociétés d’exploitation agricole construisent un nouveau bâtiment ou investissent dans des améliorations des immobilisations (p. ex., défrichage et drainage des sols) sur des terrains détenus par des actionnaires à l’extérieur de la structure de la société.

La Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu contient des règles touchant à l’utilisation de fonds de la société au bénéfice des actionnaires. Lorsque des fonds de la société sont utilisés pour améliorer le bien détenu par l’actionnaire, celui-ci ou un tiers pourrait être imposé sur le coût réel de l’ajout ou de l’amélioration du bien à titre d’avantage consenti à l’actionnaire.

La société peut réduire le risque si elle conclut un contrat de location officiel pour louer le bien de l’actionnaire. La durée du contrat de location devrait être négociée afin de correspondre à la durée de vie utile du bâtiment ou de l’amélioration. Par exemple, si une société construit une nouvelle étable à vaches laitières sur une ferme détenue à titre personnel, la durée du contrat de location devrait se rapprocher de la durée prévue de l’étable.

Le contrat de location devrait également être assorti d’une disposition prévoyant que si l’actionnaire vend le terrain avant la fin de la durée du contrat de location, il a l’obligation de faire l’acquisition de l’amélioration de la société à sa juste valeur marchande à ce moment-là. Comme les améliorations du bien sont utilisées pendant la durée du contrat de location ou seront acquises par l’actionnaire de la société à la juste valeur marchande, on peut faire valoir qu’il n’existe pas d’avantage imposable.

La complexité de la Loi de l’impôt sur le revenu à l’égard des avantages consentis à l’actionnaire et de la valeur des améliorations des immobilisations apportées au bien de l’actionnaire fait en sorte qu’il s’agit d’une question épineuse, car le coût de l’évaluation d’un avantage imposable par l’Agence du revenu du Canada pourrait être élevé.