Co-op Tax Credit

June 07, 2017


Employers who hire students enrolled in a co-operative (Co-op) education program at an Ontario university or college are eligible to apply for the Co-operative Education Tax Credit. The Co-op tax credit is a refundable tax credit that creates a reciprocal relationship in which the student and employer can both benefit greatly.

The government seeks to connect companies with ambitious and diligent students from across Ontario through the Co-op Tax Credit. In doing so, students have the opportunity to gain valuable work experience that can contribute to a more successful undergrad and future. Employers will also benefit from having a fresh perspective supporting their business. 

The Co-op Tax Credit’s funding is based on the wage and salary that the student in the co-op education work placement would receive. Corporations can claim 25% of eligible expenditures and small businesses can claim 30% of eligible expenditures. Each qualifying work placement can receive a maximum credit of $3,000. The employment period for most work placements is a minimum of ten weeks up to a maximum of four months. 

This funding program accepts applications throughout the year.

Who is eligible?

Eligibility is outlined by the following details; a work placement must consist of a student who is enrolled at a qualified educational institution, who executes duties that fall in line with their school’s co-op program specifications and do so for an eligible employer. 

The work placement is required to have the following:

  • The placement has been developed or approved by an eligible educational institution
  • The student must engage in productive work and not just be an observer
  • For qualifying internship programs the placement is no less than eight months but no more than sixteen months
  • For all other qualifying co-op education programs, the placement must be at least ten weeks
  • Student must be paid for duties
  • The employer is obligated to supervise and evaluate the student’s job performance

How can BDO help?

BDO’s Advisory Services group can help prepare you for the Co-op Tax Credit and application process. BDO is available to assist with activity scoping to determine eligibility and technical and financial application preparation. As well, we can provide a strategic approach in determining how government grants and incentives, including the Co-op Tax Credit, fit into your company’s future growth plans. For more information, contact your local BDO office.

Crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative

juin 2017

LandingBanner_679x220_YoungPeople_CasualMeeting_ThinkstockPhotos-494374653.jpg

Tout employeur qui engage un étudiant dans le cadre d’un programme d’enseignement coopératif (coop) d’une université ou d’un collège ontarien peut demander le crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative. Ce crédit d’impôt remboursable permet de créer une relation réciproque et avantageuse à la fois pour l’étudiant et son employeur. 

Le gouvernement a instauré le crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative afin de mettre les entreprises en contact avec des étudiants ambitieux et appliqués des quatre coins de l’Ontario. Ainsi, les étudiants peuvent acquérir une expérience de travail qui leur sera utile pour terminer leurs études en beauté et construire un avenir prometteur, et les employeurs peuvent s’ouvrir à de nouvelles perspectives pour leur entreprise. 

Le montant du crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative est fondé sur le salaire auquel aurait droit l’étudiant coop durant son stage. Le pourcentage du montant de dépenses admissibles est de 25 % pour les sociétés et de 30 % pour les petites entreprises. Le crédit maximal pour chaque stage admissible est de 3 000 $. Pour la plupart des stages, la période d’emploi doit être d’un minimum de dix semaines et d’un maximum de quatre mois. 

Les demandes pour ce programme de financement sont acceptées en tout temps.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissible, un stage doit concerner un étudiant qui est inscrit dans un établissement d’enseignement admissible et qui remplit des fonctions pour un employeur admissible dans le cadre d’un programme d’éducation coopérative autorisé. 

Le stage doit respecter les conditions suivantes :

  • Le stage a été conçu et approuvé par l’établissement d’enseignement autorisé.
  • L’étudiant doit participer à un travail productif pendant le stage et ne pas simplement être un observateur. 
  • Dans le cas d’un programme de stage admissible, la durée est d’au moins 8 mois et pas plus de 16 mois.
  • Dans le cas de tout autre programme d’enseignement coopératif autorisé, la durée est d’au moins 10 semaines. 
  • L’étudiant est rémunéré pour le travail effectué pendant le stage.
  • L’employeur supervise et évalue le travail de l’étudiant.

Comment BDO peut vous aider

Le groupe de services-conseils de BDO peut vous aider à préparer votre demande de crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative. BDO peut vous aider à déterminer les activités admissibles et à préparer les volets techniques et financiers de votre demande. De plus, nous pouvons vous proposer une approche stratégique pour intégrer les subventions et mesures incitatives gouvernementales à vos projets de croissance, notamment le crédit d’impôt pour l’éducation coopérative.