Canadian Agricultural Partnership Provides $3 Billion in Funding

April 02, 2018

Central_Manotick_26Mar18_Online_Agriculture_679x220.jpg

The Canadian Agricultural Partnership (CAP) is the federal and provincial governments’ primary mechanism to support the Canadian agriculture, agri-food, and agri-products sector.

Launched in April 2018, CAP will run for five years and provide $3 billion to the sector. It replaces the Growing Forward 2 program, which had supported the sector for the previous five years with an identical investment.

While the government structured CAP like Growing Forward 2, it has also implemented changes designed to improve the program: simplified and streamlined programs and services that are easier to access, and enhancements to programs that help farmers manage significant risks to the viability of their farms.

For additional details on the CAP program, select the relevant province:


Watch our CAP Webinar On-Demand

Who can receive CAP funding?

Governments have made CAP funding available to a cross-section of Canadian organizations in the agricultural sector, including:

  • Farmers and growers
  • Food processors
  • Companies along the agri-supply chain, such as manufacturers of equipment for food processors, chemical fertilizer companies, relevant industry organizations, Indigenous communities and women-led businesses in the sector.

Who manages CAP?

CAP brings federal, provincial and territorial governments under one integrated policy framework. However, as a partnership, CAP enables jurisdictions to customize their offerings. The CAP program comprises:

  • Federal programs — $1 billion is available to companies across Canada on an ongoing basis until all funds have been allocated.
  • Federal-provincial cost-shared programs — $2 billion is available for strategic initiatives, administered by provincial agencies and varying according to the needs of each province. Application intake periods also vary, beginning in the spring or summer, depending on the province.

Which activities does CAP support?

The federal and provincial segments of CAP share similar visions that are not quite the same.

Federal CAP programs

As a group, federal programs under CAP focus on three main themes:

  • growing trade and expanding markets
  • innovative and sustainable growth of the agricultural sector
  • supporting diversity

These themes find expression in six specific programs administered by the federal government. For Canadian organizations interested in accessing funds, it is important to match their organizational profile and needs to the most suitable program:

  • AgriMarketing — Supports exports to international markets and market opportunities through industry-led promotional activities that differentiate Canadian products and producers, and aims to leverage Canada's reputation for high-quality and safe food. The program is for national industry associations and small and medium-sized enterprises.
  • AgriCompetitiveness — Assists industry-led efforts to help the agriculture and agri-food sector coordinate and build on existing capacity, enhance safety, adapt to changing commercial and regulatory environments, share best practices, and provide mentorship opportunities.
  • AgriScience — Designed to accelerate the pace of innovation by supporting pre-commercialization activities and investing in cutting-edge research to benefit the agricultural and agri-food sector.
  • AgriInnovate — Drives the commercialization and adoption of innovative agri-based products, technologies, processes, and services. The program supports agribusinesses to get their innovations into the market, or to adopt leading-edge technologies and processes.
  • AgriAssurance — Helps industry make meaningful and verifiable third-party claims about the health and safety of Canadian agricultural products. The program is for national industry associations and small and medium-sized enterprises.
  • AgriDiversity — Build the sector’s capacity by developing the entrepreneurial capacity and business skills of under-represented groups, such as Indigenous communities, youth, women, and persons with disabilities.

Federal-provincial CAP programs

Provincial programs and their areas of focus vary by province. However, funding is generally available for activities that address:
  • Economic development — such as marketing, new processing equipment, ERP and supply chain management implementation, new product or process development for new markets, and business planning or succession.
  • Environment — mostly aimed at farmers or growers. Eligible projects include those that improve soil health and water quality, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Protection and assurance — including food safety and traceability equipment, and contamination management.

When can organizations apply?

Federal CAP programs are now accepting applications from Canadian organizations. Deadlines vary based on the program.

Application windows for federal-provincial cost-shared CAP programs depend on the province.

Build a Strategic Plan for CAP Funding Today

The new CAP program provides valuable funding options for Canadian organizations in the agriculture and agri-food sector. To navigate these programs, companies need advisors who understand both their industry and the nuances of government investment. At BDO, our experience and relationships help us understand your business needs and challenges to build and execute a strategic plan around CAP funding programs.

For more information on how BDO’s Government Incentives team can help your business obtain the CAP funding you need, contact Paul Boucher.

Le Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture offre 3 G$ en financement

02 avril 2018

Central_Manotick_26Mar18_Online_Agriculture_679x220.jpg

Le Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture est le dispositif principal utilisé par les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral pour appuyer les secteurs de l’agriculture canadienne, de l’agro-alimentaire et des produits agricoles.
Lancé en avril 2018, le Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture s’étendra sur cinq ans et réalisera un investissement de 3 milliards de dollars dans le secteur. Ce programme remplace le programme Cultivons l’avenir 2, qui avait aussi soutenu le secteur pendant les cinq années précédentes à l’aide d’un investissement à même hauteur.

Si le gouvernement s’est appuyé sur le modèle de Cultivons l’avenir 2 pour le nouveau partenariat, il a tout de même apporté quelques changements visant à l’améliorer : les programmes et les services ont été simplifiés et rationalisés, leur accès a été facilité et les programmes qui aident les agriculteurs à gérer les risques importants à la viabilité de leurs fermes ont été bonifiés.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture, veuillez sélectionner la province de votre choix :

Qui peut recevoir du financement du partenariat?

Le gouvernement a mis des fonds à la disposition d’une vaste gamme d’entreprises canadiennes du secteur agricole, notamment :

  • agriculteurs et cultivateurs;
  • transformateurs d’aliments;
  • entreprises à toutes les étapes de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, dont fabricants d’équipement pour la transformation d’aliments, fabricants d’engrais et de produits chimiques, organisations sectorielles applicables, communautés autochtones les entreprises dirigées par des femmes du secteur.

Qui s’occupe du partenariat?

Le Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture rassemble les gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et fédéral au sein d’un même cadre stratégique. Toutefois, puisqu’il s’agit d’un partenariat, chaque compétence peut adapter son offre. Le partenariat comprend :
  • Programmes fédéraux — Des fonds de 1 milliard de dollars sont offerts aux entreprises canadiennes sur une base continue jusqu’à ce que tous les fonds ont été affectés.
  • Programmes fédéraux-provinciaux à coûts partagés — Les fonds de 2 milliards de dollars aux fins d’initiatives stratégiques seront administrés par des organismes provinciaux et varieront en fonction des besoins de chaque province. Le processus de réception des demandes pourrait avoir lieu au printemps ou à l’été, selon la province.

Quelles activités le partenariat finance-t-il?

Les portions fédérales et provinciales du partenariat partagent une vision plus ou moins similaire.

Programmes fédéraux

Les programmes fédéraux liés au Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture sont axés sur trois thèmes principaux :
  • Accroissement des échanges commerciaux et l’expansion des marchés;
  • Croissance saine et axée sur l’innovation dans le secteur agricole;
  • Promotion de la diversité.
Ces thèmes se concrétisent grâce à six programmes gérés par le gouvernement fédéral. Les entreprises canadiennes souhaitant obtenir des fonds doivent trouver le programme qui convient le mieux à leur profil organisationnel et leurs besoins :
  • Agri-marketing — Vise à accroître et à diversifier les exportations à l’étranger, et à saisir des débouchés sur le marché par l’entremise d’activités promotionnelles dirigées par le secteur qui distinguent les produits et producteurs canadiens et misent sur la réputation du Canada comme producteur d’aliments sains et de grande qualité. Le programme s’adresse aux associations nationales du secteur et aux petites et moyennes entreprises.
  • Agri-compétitivité Appuie les efforts déployés par le secteur pour aider les secteurs agricole et agroalimentaire à coordonner les capacités existantes et à en tirer profit, à améliorer la salubrité des aliments, à suivre l’évolution des contextes commercial et réglementaire, à échanger des pratiques exemplaires et à offrir des possibilités de mentorat.
  • Agri-science — Vise à accélérer le rythme des innovations en appuyant les investissements et les activités, au stade précommercial, dans la recherche de pointe favorable au secteur de l’agriculture et de l’agroalimentaire.
  • Agri-innover — Facilite la commercialisation et l’adoption de produits, de technologies, de procédés et de services agro-industriels novateurs. Le programme soutiendra les agro-entreprises pour qu’elles puissent commercialiser leurs innovations ou pour qu’elles adoptent des technologies et processus de pointe.
  • Agri-assurance — Permet au secteur de formuler des allégations pertinentes et vérifiables sur la santé et la salubrité des produits agricoles canadiens. Le programme s’adresse aux associations nationales du secteur et aux petites et moyennes entreprises.
  • Agri-diversité — Aide à accroître les capacités et compétences en entrepreneuriat et en commerce des groupes sous-représentés, notamment les communautés autochtones, les jeunes, les femmes et les personnes handicapées.

Programmes fédéraux-provinciaux

Les programmes provinciaux et leurs secteurs prioritaires varient d’une province à l’autre. Toutefois, les activités qui touchent aux domaines suivants ont généralement droit à du financement :
  • Développement économique — Notamment, le marketing, les nouveaux équipements de transformation, la mise en œuvre de la gestion de la chaîne d’approvisionnement et de l’ERP, le développement de nouveaux produits ou processus destinés à de nouveaux marchés et la planification d’entreprise ou de la relève.
  • Environnement — Destiné aux agriculteurs et aux cultivateurs. Les projets admissibles sont notamment ceux qui améliorent la santé du sol et la qualité de l’eau ou qui réduisent les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.
  • Protection ou certification — Notamment, la salubrité des aliments, l’équipement de traçabilité et la gestion de la contamination.

Quand les organisations peuvent-elles présenter une demande?

Les programmes fédéraux acceptent actuellement les demandes de la part des organisations canadiennes. Les dates limites varient en fonction du programme.
Le créneau pour les demandes faites aux programmes fédéraux-provinciaux varie d’une province à l’autre.

Établissez un plan stratégique pour obtenir du financement dès aujourd’hui

Le nouveau programme de Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture offre d’importantes possibilités de financement dans le secteur agricole et agroalimentaire. Pour les aider à s’orienter dans le dédale des programmes, les entreprises ont besoin de conseillers qui comprennent aussi bien le secteur que les subtilités de l’investissement public. Chez BDO, notre vaste expérience et notre réseau nous permettent de comprendre les besoins de votre entreprise et les défis inhérents à la mise en œuvre d’un plan stratégique selon les programmes de financement du Partenariat canadien pour l’agriculture.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la manière dont l’équipe des incitatifs gouvernementaux de BDO peut vous aider à obtenir un tel financement, communiquez avec Paul Boucher.