Accounting for going green: How businesses are achieving net zero emissions and the financial reporting implications

April 07, 2022

Governments around the world, including Canada, have signed on to the Paris Agreement to limit global warming to 1.5⁰ and to achieve net-zero emissions by 2050 or earlier. Businesses have also set similar targets in order to contribute to the fight against climate change.

These commitments (and other environment, social, and governance (ESG) targets) are driven by the growing physical risks of climate change in the form of droughts, wildfires, and high temperatures as well as transitional risks as new regulations and expectations emerge from governments, investors, and consumers.

These types of pledges are rapidly becoming the norm and should be a wake-up call for businesses that are not yet on the path to fighting climate change or implementing ESG priorities.

Stakeholders are pressuring companies to move beyond setting targets and goals; they expect tangible progress toward those goals with transparent reporting and accountability from corporate leadership.

In this article, we look at how businesses are ‘going green’ and the resulting accounting and financial reporting implications.

What does achieving net zero mean?

In a business context, reaching net zero means that the amount of carbon that goes into the environment, due to activities in the value chain, is equal to the amount being sequestered. This can be achieved by tree planting, employing carbon capture technologies, or even buying carbon credits, where applicable, through programs like cap-and-trade systems or voluntary markets.

How can businesses achieve net zero?

The net-zero concept represents many value-creation opportunities, while building a more sustainable economy. However, moving from goal setting to an actionable strategy can be difficult. Achieving net zero or other ESG-related goals can be a daunting task and there is no one-size-fits-all approach.

“There are many ways that businesses can lower carbon emissions, everything from changing a product mix to switching to electric vehicles to updating facilities,” said Armand Capisciolto, National Accounting Standards Partner at BDO Canada. “But we’re also seeing more and more financial solutions being developed that actually create market incentives for companies to reach their lower-carbon targets,” he added.

For example:

  • Cap and trade
  • Virtual power purchase agreements (VPPAs)
  • Carbon offset credits
  • Sustainability-linked bonds

Are emerging solutions that have been effective in incentivizing companies to lower emissions. See below for a summary of each:

Cap and trade

  • Under cap-and-trade systems, regulators place caps on the amount of greenhouse gasses businesses can emit. If a business exceeds those, it can buy allowances from other companies that came under their own limits. The cap is reduced over time so that total emissions fall 
  • Here are two examples of some of the largest cap-and-trade systems in the world:
    • The European Union ETS: Emitters covered under the ETS reduced emissions by about 35% between 2005 and 2019
    • California & Quebec: These cap-and-trade programs became linked in 2014 creating the largest carbon market in North America 

VPPAs

  • VPPAs have emerged as an effective means of rapidly decarbonizing corporate energy consumption at scale
  • A VPPA is a long-term contract—typically 10 to 20 years—between a developer of renewable energy project and an interested energy buyer
  • VPPAs secure large amounts of carbon-free electricity at scale and help insulate companies against rising electricity costs over time by locking in a fixed price, while providing the developer with long term fixed cash flows, which reduces the risk of developing such projects

Carbon offset credits

  • Carbon offset credits can be purchased by polluters (individuals or businesses) from carbon-reduction projects such as wind farms in order to offset their own emissions
  • These are typically purchased to offset emissions that cannot be eliminated
  • Renewable Energy Certificates (RECs) certify that one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electricity was generated from a renewable energy source and was fed into the grid. The RECs earned may be sold to other entities that are polluting as a carbon credit to offset their emissions.

Sustainability-linked bonds

  • Sustainability-linked bonds require a company to meet an overall ESG target, such as reducing emissions
  • Generally speaking, the bond terms offer companies lower interest rates for meeting goals, but rates increase if the target is not achieved

The need for transparency and accounting standards

The carbon-reducing solutions outlined above are relatively new or ground-breaking and, consequently, there is no specific accounting standard that addresses all the issues that can arise from these arrangements. Because of increasing public calls for greater transparency around sustainability initiatives, companies must be able to communicate clearly about their emissions-cutting efforts and the impact such actions have on their bottom lines. However, a lack of accounting standards creates an uneven playing field and opens the door for potential green washing.

“How these programs are accounted for in financial statements can vary from contract to contract, if you’re the buyer or seller, or if a program is mandated by the government or initiated by the business,” said Braham Moondi, Partner at BDO Canada. “Currently, no clear guidance exists and judgements will need to be made. In fact, the best practice for getting the accounting right is reaching out to an accounting advisor who has expertise in this area.”

The ability to measure for carbon emissions and reduce their impact has become a key factor in business decision-making. Not only would standardization help businesses communicate more effectively with stakeholders, it would also help them evaluate their efforts against others in the industry and identify opportunities to make an even greater impact.

Getting the accounting right is important for transparency and measuring success, but it’s also important for improving access to capital, building trust with stakeholders, accessing government incentives, and attracting and retaining talent. talent. Learn more about how to activate ESG initiatives and the impact to your bottom line here.

Standardization is coming

Globally accepted sustainability standards are being developed. On Nov. 3 2021, at COP26, the UN global summit to address climate change, the International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (IFRS Foundation) announced the formation of the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).

The IFRS Foundation has created accounting standards used in more than 140 jurisdictions, through the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB). With the creation of the ISSB, the Foundation is aiming to bring a much needed, globally comparable standard for reporting on ESG matters to the financial markets. In addition, the IASB recently undertook an agenda consultation and they received feedback that they should undertake projects on climate related risks and pollutant pricing mechanisms. Learn more about incorporating ESG into your financial reporting here.

How BDO can help

ESG progress depends in part on the development and implementation of better, more transparent information.

BDO’s team of experts understand the best practices in your industry and will work with you to identify opportunities to implement, measure, and account for your ESG initiatives. If your business is setting ESG targets and is entering into financial transactions to achieve lower carbon emissions, reach out to a BDO advisor today.

Armand Capisciolto
National Accounting Standards Partner
BDO Canada
 
Braham Moondi
Partner, Accounting & Assurance
BDO Canada
 
Mary Mathews
Partner, Accounting Advisory Service
BDO Canada

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Virage vert et comptabilité : Carboneutralité des entreprises et répercussions connexes sur la présentation de l’information...

07 avril 2022

Plusieurs pays, dont le Canada, ont signé l'accord de Paris, qui vise à limiter le réchauffement planétaire à 1,5 ⁰C et à atteindre la carboneutralité d'ici 2050.

Les entreprises se sont fixé des objectifs similaires afin de contribuer à la lutte contre les changements climatiques.

Ces engagements (et d'autres cibles environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance [ESG]) sont motivés par les risques physiques grandissants liés aux changements climatiques, comme les sécheresses, les feux de forêt et les vagues de chaleur, ainsi que les risques liés à la transition écologique, comme de nouvelles réglementations et attentes des gouvernements, des investisseurs et des consommateurs.

Les engagements de ce type étant de plus en plus courants, ils devraient favoriser une prise de conscience chez les entreprises qui n'ont pas encore pris de mesures pour combattre les changements climatiques ou défini de priorités en matière d'ESG.

Les parties prenantes exhortent les sociétés à ne pas se contenter de se fixer des objectifs; elles veulent voir de réels progrès et s'attendent à ce que les dirigeants rendent des comptes et fassent preuve de transparence.

Dans cet article, nous examinons la manière dont les entreprises opèrent leur virage vert et ce que cela entraîne en matière de comptabilité et de présentation de l'information financière.

En quoi consiste la carboneutralité?

Pour une entreprise, la carboneutralité (zéro émission nette) signifie que la quantité de carbone qu'elle émet dans l'atmosphère dans le cadre de ses activités liées à la chaîne de valeur est égale à la quantité du carbone capturé. On peut parvenir à la carboneutralité de diverses façons, notamment en plantant des arbres, en déployant des technologies de captage du carbone et, éventuellement, en achetant des crédits carbone, par exemple, par l'entremise de systèmes de plafonnement et d'échange de droits d'émission ou de marchés volontaires.

Comment les entreprises peuvent-elles devenir carboneutres?

Le cheminement vers la carboneutralité offre une foule d'occasions de créer de la valeur, tout en contribuant à la durabilité de l'économie. Cependant, passer de l'établissement d'objectifs à l'élaboration d'une stratégie réalisable est complexe. Atteindre la carboneutralité et d'autres cibles en matière d'ESG représente une tâche colossale et il n'existe pas d'approche universelle pour s'y prendre.

« Les entreprises peuvent réduire leurs émissions de carbone de bien des manières. Elles peuvent, entre autres, modifier leur gamme de produits, passer aux véhicules électriques ou moderniser leurs installations », explique Armand Capisciolto, associé du Service national des normes comptables de BDO Canada. « Toutefois, de plus en plus de solutions financières sont mises au point sur le marché pour encourager les entreprises à réaliser leurs objectifs de réduction des émissions de carbone. »

Parmi les exemples, citons les suivants :

Systèmes de plafonnement et d'échange de droits d'émission

  • Accords d'achat d'énergie virtuels
  • Crédits de carbone compensatoires
  • Obligations liées au développement durable

Ces toutes nouvelles solutions se sont révélées efficaces pour encourager les entreprises à réduire leurs émissions. Voici brièvement en quoi chacune d'elles consiste :

Systèmes de plafonnement et d'échange de droits d'émission

  • Dans le cadre des systèmes de plafonnement et d'échange de droits d'émission, les organismes de réglementation décident de la quantité maximale de gaz à effet de serre que les entreprises peuvent émettre. Si une entreprise dépasse ce plafond, elle doit acheter des droits auprès d'entreprises qui ont des droits inutilisés. Le plafond est abaissé au fil du temps afin que les émissions totales diminuent.
  • Les deux systèmes de plafonnement et d'échange suivants figurent parmi les plus importants au monde :
    • Système d'échange de droits d'émission de l'Union européenne — Les émetteurs visés par ce système ont réduit leurs émissions de 35 % environ entre 2005 et 2019.
    • Californie et Québec — Les deux systèmes ont été liés en 2014 pour former le plus grand marché du carbone en Amérique du Nord.

Accords d'achat d'énergie virtuels

  • Ces accords sont apparus dans le but de décarboner rapidement la consommation d'énergie des entreprises, et ce, à grande échelle.
  • Un accord d'achat d'énergie virtuel est un contrat à long terme, généralement de dix à 2vingt ans, conclu entre le promoteur d'un projet d'énergie renouvelable et un acheteur d'énergie potentiel.
  • Les accords d'achat d'énergie virtuels garantissent d'importantes quantités d'électricité sans carbone. D'un côté, ils protègent les entreprises contre les hausses du prix de l'électricité en fixant un prix, de l'autre, ils permettent au promoteur de bénéficier de flux de trésorerie fixes à long terme, ce qui atténue les risques liés aux projets de ce type.

Crédits de carbone compensatoires

  • Les pollueurs (particuliers et entreprises) peuvent acheter des crédits de carbone compensatoires auprès de projets de réduction des émissions, comme les parcs éoliens, afin de compenser leurs émissions.
  • En général, les crédits permettent de compenser les émissions qui ne peuvent tout simplement pas être éliminées.
  • Un certificat d'énergie renouvelable (« CER ») atteste qu'un mégawatt-heure (« MWh ») d'électricité a été produit à partir d'une source d'énergie renouvelable et a été distribué sur le réseau. Les CER obtenus peuvent être vendus à d'autres pollueurs en tant quw crédit carbone en vue de compenser leurs émissions.

Obligations liées au développement durable

  • Aux termes d'une obligation liée au développement durable, une entreprise doit atteindre une cible globale en matière d'ESG, comme la réduction des émissions.
  • Si elle y parvient, le taux d'intérêt au titre de l'obligation est habituellement plus avantageux. Dans le cas contraire, le taux augmente.

Transparence et normes comptables

Les solutions de réduction des émissions de carbone décrites ci-dessus constituent des innovations relativement récentes. Par conséquent, il n'existe pas encore de normes comptables pour répondre aux enjeux qui peuvent en découler. Comme le public exige plus de transparence à propos des initiatives de durabilité, les entreprises doivent être en mesure de présenter clairement leurs efforts de réduction des émissions et les effets connexes sur leurs résultats financiers. Toutefois, l'absence de normes comptables crée des inégalités et accroît le risque d'écoblanchiment.

« La manière dont les états financiers rendent compte de ces programmes varie selon les contrats, le statut d'acheteur ou de vendeur de l'entité et la mise en place du programme par le gouvernement ou l'entreprise », explique Braham Moondi, associée chez BDO Canada. « À l'heure actuelle, il n'existe pas de lignes directrices précises et il faut exercer son jugement. Idéalement, pour que la comptabilisation soit bien faite, il est préférable de faire appel à un conseiller comptable spécialisé dans ce domaine. »

La capacité de mesurer les émissions de carbone et d'en réduire les effets est devenue un élément clé de la prise de décision au sein des entreprises. L'instauration de normes aiderait celles-ci à communiquer plus efficacement avec les parties prenantes, mais aussi à évaluer leurs efforts par rapport à ceux de leurs pairs et à repérer les occasions d'accroître les retombées de leurs actions.

Une bonne comptabilisation est essentielle pour assurer la transparence et mesurer la réussite. Elle est aussi importante pour améliorer l'accès au capital, bâtir un lien de confiance avec les parties prenantes, profiter des mesures incitatives des gouvernements ainsi qu'attirer et retenir les talents. Découvrez ici comment mettre en œuvre des initiatives en matière d'ESG et les retombées connexes sur vos résultats financiers.

Normalisation en vue

Des normes de développement durable mondialement reconnues sont en cours d'élaboration. Le 3 novembre 2021, à l'occasion de la conférence des Nations Unies sur les changements climatiques, l'International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation (« IFRS Foundation ») a annoncé la création de l'International Sustainability Standards Board (« ISSB »).

L'IFRS Foundation a défini, par l'entremise de l'International Accounting Standards Board (« IASB , des normes comptables qui sont utilisées dans plus de 140 territoires. En mettant sur pied l'ISSB, l'IFRS Foundation entend établir des normes indispensables et comparables aux autres normes mondiales en la matière pour faire état des enjeux en matière d'ESG auprès des marchés financiers. En outre, l'IASB a récemment tenu une consultation publique sur ses activités et son plan de travail. Les commentaires obtenus montrent qu'il devrait entreprendre des projets sur les risques liés aux changements climatiques et les mécanismes de tarification de la pollution. Découvrez ici comment intégrer les facteurs ESG à la présentation de votre information financière.

BDO peut vous aider

Les progrès au chapitre des facteurs ESG dépendent en partie de l'élaboration et de la présentation d'une information plus pertinente et plus transparente.

L'équipe d'experts de BDO comprend les pratiques exemplaires de votre secteur et collaborera avec vous pour repérer les occasions de mettre en œuvre des initiatives en matière d'ESG, les évaluer et en rendre compte. Si votre entreprise se fixe des cibles ESG et effectue des opérations financières dans le but d'abaisser ses émissions de carbone, communiquez avec un conseiller BDO dès aujourd'hui.

Armand Capisciolto
Associé, Service national des normes comptables
BDO Canada

Braham Moondi
Associée, Certification et comptabilité
BDO Canada

Mary Mathews
Associée, Services-conseils en comptabilité
BDO Canada

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.