5 common deal breakers for healthcare professionals

February 10, 2021

Selling your practice can take anywhere from six months to a year. But once you start the selling process, there may be a number of obstacles ahead.

You should be aware of the stumbling blocks that can occur if you’re considering selling your healthcare practice. Here are five potential deal breakers:

1. Unrealistic value expectations

Healthcare professionals, like many other business owners, can have unrealistic value expectations and believe their business is worth more than it truly is. The high-value expectations are driven by the significant amount of recent M&A activity in healthcare services. In particular, there has been a tremendous amount of consolidation in pharmacy, dental, veterinary, physiotherapy, and other healthcare practices.

Furthermore, some healthcare practice owners are looking to sell and retire. However, given healthcare services are relationship-driven, retiring immediately doesn’t allow for an appropriate amount of transition—which can lead to price deterioration and owners’ value expectations not being met.

2. Business performance

Selling your business can be quite time consuming and can distract business owners from focusing on their practice. Business owners who become distracted by a sale process spend less time focused on production and generating revenue. A decline in financial performance during a sale process can significantly impact your ability to successfully set yourself up for selling. This makes it imperative to have an advisor helping you with the sale process so you can keep your business running smoothly at the same time.

The effect of the COVID-19 pandemic on the sale of healthcare practices remains to be seen, but it’s likely that values for most practices continue to be consistent with pre-COVID levels.

3. Shareholder alignment

While some healthcare professionals work on their own, a number of them work together in a group setting. This can be a problem if you want to sell and the other practitioners plan to stay. In an ideal situation, it’s important to have a succession plan in place with all stakeholders aligned before exploring a sale.

4. Owner and management succession

People are creatures of habit. When it comes to their health, they value having the same doctor, dentist, therapist, etc. Given this is a people and relationship-driven business, a common deal breaker is not having the appropriate succession or transition plan in place; buyers view practices without a proper transition plan to be quite risky. It’s best to ensure you have a transitionary plan in place. Key personnel will stay on once you leave, which will help reassure a buyer that the same team will continue to serve patients. The right time to sell is when you still have the bandwidth to do so. Leaving quickly with no succession plan can lead to value deterioration. Having an associate practitioner in place to work by your side years in advance of a sale will give a buyer peace of mind.

5. Regulatory changes/risk

The Canadian healthcare market is largely publicly funded. As government regulations change, so will a practitioner’s revenue model. The impact can be significant—either negative or positive, depending on what changes. For doctors, this is a larger risk than it is for other healthcare professions who get paid by patients directly or through their private insurance.

How we can help

Our Transaction Advisory Services and Tax teams give healthcare professionals guidance when they want to sell. We provide you with the strategic advice you need before, during, and after the transaction process. Think of us as a one-stop shop. Contact us to find out how we can help you sell your healthcare practice.

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

Les 5 principaux facteurs rédhibitoires pour les professionnels de la santé

10 février 2021

La vente d'un cabinet médical peut prendre de six à douze mois. Une fois le processus de vente enclenché, un certain nombre d'obstacles peuvent se dresser sur le chemin.

Toute personne qui entend vendre son cabinet médical doit être au fait des écueils contre lesquels elle pourrait se heurter. Voici cinq principaux facteurs rédhibitoires :

1. Attentes irréalistes par rapport à la valeur

Les professionnels de la santé, à l'instar des propriétaires d'entreprise, peuvent avoir des attentes beaucoup trop élevées quant à la valeur réelle de leur cabinet. Le grand nombre de fusions-acquisitions dans le secteur des services de santé sont responsables de cette perspective faussée. En effet, il y a eu énormément de regroupements dans les domaines de la pharmacie, des soins dentaires, de la médecine vétérinaire, de la physiothérapie et d'autres soins de santé.

Certains propriétaires cherchent aussi à vendre leur cabinet médical pour prendre leur retraite. Toutefois, étant donné que les services de soins de santé sont axés sur les relations humaines, la retraite immédiate ne permet pas une période de transition adéquate et peut entraîner une baisse du prix et le non-respect des attentes des propriétaires en matière de valeur.

2. Rendement organisationnel

Comme la vente d'une entreprise est une tâche chronophage, l'attention du propriétaire pourrait être détournée de la pratique. Les propriétaires d'entreprise peuvent se laisser distraire par le processus de vente et consacrer moins de temps à être productif et à générer des revenus. Une diminution du rendement financier pendant le processus de vente peut sérieusement nuire à la préparation. D'où l'importance pour un propriétaire de pouvoir compter sur un conseiller pour prendre part au processus de vente et ainsi lui permettre d'assurer le bon fonctionnement de ses affaires.

Il reste à voir l'effet qu'aura la COVID-19 sur la vente des cabinets médicaux, mais il est fort probable que la valeur de ceux-ci soit demeurée la même.

3. Accord entre les actionnaires

Bien que certains professionnels de la santé travaillent seuls, un certain nombre d'entre eux travaillent en groupe. Voilà qui peut poser problème lorsqu'une personne veut vendre le cabinet alors que les autres souhaitent rester. Idéalement, il est important d'avoir un plan de relève et d'obtenir l'accord de tous les intervenants avant d'explorer la possibilité d'une vente.

4. Relève de la direction et du propriétaire

Les gens aiment bien leurs petites habitudes. Lorsqu'il est question de santé, ils préfèrent garder le même médecin, dentiste, thérapeute, etc. Étant donné qu'il s'agit d'une entreprise axée sur les gens et les relations, l'absence d'un plan de relève ou de transition approprié est une pierre d'achoppement; les acheteurs considèrent comme risqués les cabinets sans plan de transition adéquat. Il est donc préférable de mettre un plan de transition en place. Le personnel clé restera en poste après votre départ, ce qui aidera à rassurer l'acheteur que la même équipe continuera de servir les patients. Le bon moment pour vendre est celui où l'on a encore la marge de manœuvre pour le faire. Un départ rapide sans plan de relève peut entraîner une détérioration de la valeur. Le fait d'avoir un praticien associé sur place qui travaille à vos côtés des années avant la vente assurera la tranquillité d'esprit à l'acheteur.

5. Changements réglementaires ou risques

Le marché canadien des soins de santé est largement financé par l'État. Le modèle de rémunération des praticiens évolue au rythme des changements réglementaires des gouvernements. Les incidences, négatives ou positives selon le changement, peuvent être considérables. Pour les médecins, il s'agit d'un risque plus important que pour les autres professionnels de la santé qui sont payés par les patients directement ou par leur assurance privée.

Comment pouvons-nous vous aider?

Nos équipes des Services-conseils transactionnels et des Services en fiscalité épaulent les professionnels de la santé qui veulent vendre leur cabinet. Nous leur offrons des conseils stratégiques avant, pendant et après le processus de transaction. Nous vous offrons un guichet unique pour tous vos besoins. Communiquez avec nous pour savoir comment nous pouvons vous aider à vendre votre cabinet médical.

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.