Getting the message: the next step to become cyber resilient

October 08, 2019

03Oct19_Capital-One-Hack_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Millions of Canadians got a message from Capital One after a reported hack: their personally identifiable information (PII) was breached when a cyber criminal accessed bank servers through a third-party vulnerability.

Canadian financial-services companies need to get a message after the Capital One hack, too: they are vulnerable. They will be hacked. Cyber-resilience is critical. It’s the next step.

Ninety-five percent of all businesses had a cybersecurity program in place in 2017, according to Statistics Canada.

Forty-seven percent of banking institutions in Canada have been breached, according to the same dataset from Canada’s national statistical agency.

“Financial services is an industry that gets the importance of cybersecurity,” says Sam Khoury, National Financial Services Leader at BDO. “The majority of businesses in the financial-services industry have made some kind of investment—but is their cybersecurity mature enough? Is it evolving on a day-to-day basis?”

“In our day-to-day work, almost all businesses operate with products from third-party providers… all it takes one small vulnerability for a hacker to get in,” notes Vivek Gupta, National Cybersecurity Leader at BDO.

“Are you doing everything in your control to protect your customers? Are your strategic partners, third-party providers, and vendors part of your cybersecurity framework? Are you able to respond effectively to a breach? Is your company cyber-resilient?”

Cyber-resilience

“Cyber-resilience is having the capability to deliver and provide an intended outcome despite unforeseen adverse cyber events,” explains Vivek. “Organizations are currently focused on strengthening their information security, cybersecurity, and business continuity-management policies. During a cyber attack the impact is on availability, confidentiality, and integrity of information, in turn affecting the systems, operations, infrastructure, network, and processes of the organizations. The cyber-resilient business continues operations and delivers intended outcomes―despite the breach.

Cyber resilience strengthens your company’s abilities to resist attacks and enables it to continue to function if―or when―an incident takes place.

To become cyber resilient, you need to identify and eradicate vulnerabilities that hackers could use, following seven steps.

7 steps toward cyber resilience

1. Preparation

The first step is to develop and implement IT security policies, risk assessments, company processes, and company-critical systems. IT teams then decide how to configure solutions that bolster resilience and ensure regulatory compliance.

2. Identification

A current-state cybersecurity assessment helps organizations understand their current security posture. A vulnerability scan determines weak points in the infrastructure and where they differ from the new configuration specifications. Any outdated information leaves systems vulnerable to the latest attacks.

3. Classification  

Information should be classified based on policies and procedures defined in the organization.

4. Prioritisation

Identified vulnerabilities should be prioritised, with critical gaps closed first.

5. Remediation  

This is the process of eliminating the vulnerability. The procedure should specify who should be notified once a vulnerability is discovered, how quickly they should be notified, who is responsible for any next steps, and what those steps should be.

6. Monitoring  

Continuous monitoring should be performed to ensure that vulnerabilities are closed, and potential risks and threats are covered.

7. Learn  

A playbook should be maintained and all vulnerabilities identified should be listed in it—the document is helpful in the analysis of security incidents and provides evidence of compliance with company processes and sector-wide regulations.

From current-state cybersecurity assessments to cybersecurity crisis management, BDO can help financial-services organizations take the next step to become cyber resilient. Contact us.

Vivek Gupta
National Cybersecurity Leader
 
Sam Khoury
National Financial Services Leader

Compréhension de l’état de la situation : la prochaine étape en vue de la cyberrésilience

08 octobre 2019

03Oct19_Capital-One-Hack_LandingPage_679x220.jpg

Des millions de Canadiens ont reçu une communication de Capital One pour les informer d’une cyberattaque perpétrée à l’endroit de la société, au cours de laquelle un cybercriminel s’est infiltré dans les serveurs de la banque en exploitant la vulnérabilité d’un tiers et a réussi à accéder à leurs données nominatives.

Cette attaque contre Capital One doit servir d’avertissement aux sociétés canadiennes de services financiers : elles sont vulnérables. Elles seront victimes d’attaques. La cyberrésilience est maintenant un enjeu primordial.

Selon Statistique Canada, 95 % des entreprises avaient mis en place un programme de cybersécurité en 2017.

Selon les mêmes données de l’organisme de statistique canadien, 47 % des établissements bancaires au Canada ont été victimes de cyberincidents.

« Le secteur des services financiers comprend l’importance de la cybersécurité, explique Sam Khoury, chef national des Services financiers de BDO. La majorité des entreprises de ce secteur ont réalisé des investissements à cet égard. Toutefois, leur cybersécurité est-elle optimale? Évolue-t-elle sur une base quotidienne? »

« Chaque jour, presque toutes les entreprises utilisent les services de fournisseurs tiers pour leurs activités. Il suffit d’une seule vulnérabilité, aussi minime soit-elle, pour qu’un pirate en profite et exploite leur système, affirme Vivek Gupta, chef national des Services en cybersécurité de BDO.

Déployez-vous tous les efforts possibles pour protéger vos clients? Votre cadre de cybersécurité s’étend-il à vos partenaires stratégiques et fournisseurs tiers? Êtes-vous en mesure de réagir efficacement en cas d’intrusion? Votre société est-elle cyberrésiliente? »

Cyberrésilience

« La cyberrésilience correspond à la capacité à produire les résultats escomptés malgré des incidents informatiques défavorables, explique Vivek Gupta. À l’heure actuelle, les organisations cherchent à améliorer la sécurité de leurs données et se concentrent sur la cybersécurité ainsi que les politiques de gestion de la continuité des activités. Lors d’une cyberattaque, la disponibilité, la confidentialité et l’intégrité de l’information sont compromises, ce qui a une incidence sur les systèmes, l’exploitation, l’infrastructure, le réseau et les processus de l’organisation. Si l’entreprise est cyberrésiliente, elle peut poursuivre ses activités et produire les résultats attendus, malgré l’intrusion. »

La cyberrésilience permet à une société de mieux résister aux attaques et de continuer à fonctionner lorsqu’un incident se produit.

Pour acquérir cette capacité, vous devez détecter et éliminer les vulnérabilités que les pirates pourraient exploiter. Pour ce faire, vous pouvez suivre les sept étapes ci-dessous.

La cyberrésilience en sept étapes

1. Préparation

La première étape consiste à établir et mettre en œuvre des politiques relatives à la sécurité des TI, à évaluer les risques ainsi qu’à se doter de processus opérationnels et de systèmes indispensables. Les équipes des TI décident ensuite comment mettre en place des solutions pour accroître la résilience et assurer la conformité réglementaire.

2. Détermination

Une évaluation de l’état actuel de la cybersécurité aide une organisation à comprendre où elle se situe en matière de sécurité. Une analyse des vulnérabilités lui permet de déterminer les points faibles de son infrastructure et les écarts par rapport à la nouvelle configuration. L’information périmée rend les systèmes vulnérables aux plus récents types d’attaques.

3. Classement

L’information doit être classée en fonction des politiques et procédures définies par l’organisation.

4. Établissement des priorités

Il est nécessaire de hiérarchiser les vulnérabilités afin de pouvoir corriger les plus graves en premier.

5. Rétablissement

Il s’agit d’éliminer la vulnérabilité. La procédure doit préciser à qui il convient de signaler la vulnérabilité détectée et à quel moment le faire, de même que les prochaines étapes et les personnes qui en sont responsables.

6. Surveillance

Une surveillance continue est nécessaire pour pallier les vulnérabilités ainsi que pour prévenir les risques et les menaces possibles.

7. Apprentissage

Il faut tenir un registre des vulnérabilités décelées. Un tel document s’avère utile pour analyser les incidents de sécurité et constitue une preuve que l’entreprise applique ses processus et se conforme à la réglementation du secteur.

Que ce soit pour évaluer l’état actuel de la cybersécurité ou pour gérer une crise en cybersécurité, BDO peut aider les organisations de services financiers à passer à la prochaine étape pour devenir cyberrésilientes. Communiquez avec nous.

Vivek Gupta
Chef national des Services en cybersécurité
 
Sam Khoury
Chef national des Services financiers