5Ws and an H: Developing a successful crisis communication plan

March 27, 2020

During ordinary times, there are a lot of moving parts to a communication plan.

During a pandemic through which organizations are navigating the uncertainty and unpredictability of a novel coronavirus, it becomes even more complex.

Understandably, employees and clients are distracted as a result of the personal and wide-reaching impacts of COVID-19, and many ‘good-intent’ messages are not received, not understood, or not embraced.

Developing a coordinated communication plan that cuts through distractions, creates a dialogue between employees and leadership teams, and allows for increased productivity and continued performance isn’t easy—but it is very do-able.

5 Ws and an H: a to-do list for crisis communications

Focusing on key questions—the five Ws and an H—creates a to-do list for a thorough communication plan that will accomplish your employee, client, and external-stakeholder objectives.

Why

Your communications should align to a specific purpose—a result you want to achieve through your COVID-19-response communication plan. Initial communications should prioritize informing and reassuring your key stakeholders—and eventually expand to include directing objectives in the message mix.

What

Your communications need to be accurate, transparent, and empathetic. They need to include links to official, reputable sources for example, the Canadian government or World Health Organization).

Follow-up communications need to include your organizational response and actions that demonstrate your leadership in understanding the risks and impacts.

All communications need to include opportunities for employees to ask questions, voice concerns, and provide feedback. To best address employee concerns, organizations need to respond promptly and appropriately—even if it is to say “we do not know, but we will get back to you once we do.”

Who

Primary communications should be sent by your president, CEO, or other members of your leadership team and be targeted to your audiences, external or internal.

Secondary communications should include customized messages for people managers and select employee segments, so it is important that you establish appropriate distribution groups.

Where

Communication plans need to have a good balance of message formats, including virtual town halls or meetings, videos, emails, etc. The various channels used to distribute (and store) your communications are critical to ensure a lasting and meaningful impact. A dedicated, organization-wide communication channel needs to be established for employees as their first stop for official ‘sources of truth’, as a repository for company policy, and as an alternative location to ask questions.

Communications practices also need to be established to reach employees who are not at your physical offices (either because they are on leave or because they are isolated at home) and who do not have access to company networks.

When

A communication plan acts as a schedule that coordinates the distribution of messages, and the cadence used should be determined with the objective of providing employees and clients with a sense of comfort.

Message timing has to align to your employee and client needs at all times—otherwise, your message can result in misinterpretation or a negative reaction.

How often

Communications should start early, be timely, and be continuous—the concept of over-communication does not exist in a crisis.

Establishing multiple ways for employees to ask questions and voice concerns also has to be accomplished quickly and maintained constantly—communication has to be mutual for organizations to move forward together.

Realizing the benefits of crisis communication

Communication is critical to addressing employee and client questions, concerns, and fears during a crisis. It is the primary means to consistently provide accurate information, challenge incorrect or misinformation, and give employees necessary opportunities to ask questions and be heard on an ongoing basis.

When your employees have a clear sense that their company is responding and adapting to the crisis, and that their health and safety and the health and safety of their colleagues is a top priority, your communications have achieved their intended result—the workforce can regain lost productivity and achieve improved performance.

Contact us to learn how we can help

Tom Mawhinney, Partner, BDO Consulting

Jayson Rainone, Vice President, People Advisory, BDO Consulting

This site uses cookies to provide you with a more responsive and personalised service. By using this site you agree to our use of cookies. Please read our privacy statement for more information on the cookies we use and how to delete or block them.

La méthode QQOQCCP : Élaborer un plan de communication efficace en cas de crise

27 mars 2020

En temps normal, un plan de communication comprend déjà de nombreux éléments à prendre en compte.

La situation se complexifie toutefois encore davantage dans un contexte où les entreprises doivent composer avec l’incertitude et l’imprévisibilité causées par le nouveau coronavirus.

Naturellement, les employés et les clients sont plus distraits en raison des lourdes répercussions, souvent de nature personnelle, de la COVID-19. Les messages qu’ils reçoivent, pétris de bonnes intentions, n’arrivent pas forcément à être compris et adoptés.

Il n’est pas toujours facile d’élaborer un plan de communication coordonné qui parvienne à capter l’intérêt, à créer un dialogue entre les employés et les équipes de direction et à favoriser une productivité accrue et un rendement continu. Cependant, cela n’est pas impossible.

La méthode QQOQCCP : une liste de priorités communicationnelles en cas de crise

Une liste de priorités communicationnelles qui offre une réponse à des questions clés (quoi, qui, où, quand, comment, combien, pourquoi) permettra à vos employés, clients ou intervenants externes d’atteindre leurs objectifs.

Pourquoi

Vos communications doivent correspondre à un but précis, un résultat que vous souhaitez atteindre grâce à votre plan de communication lié à la COVID-19. Les premières communications doivent d’abord informer vos intervenants clés et les rassurer, puis les autres qui suivent peuvent comprendre certains objectifs recommandés dans le lot. 

Quoi

Les messages transmis doivent être exacts, transparents et empathiques. Ils doivent comprendre des hyperliens vers des sources fiables (par exemple, le gouvernement canadien ou l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé).

Les communications de suivi doivent comporter des renseignements sur les solutions organisationnelles adoptées et sur des mesures prises qui démontrent vos qualités de meneur en matière de compréhension des risques et des répercussions.

Toutes les communications doivent inviter les employés à poser des questions, à exprimer leurs préoccupations et à formuler des commentaires. Pour mieux répondre aux préoccupations des employés, les organisations doivent réagir rapidement et adéquatement, même si c’est pour dire « nous ne savons pas, mais nous vous reviendrons dès nous le saurons ».

Qui

Les premières communications doivent être envoyées par votre président-directeur général, votre chef de la direction ou d’autres membres de votre équipe de direction et cibler les auditoires adéquatement, qu’ils soient à l’externe ou à l’interne.

Les communications qui suivent devraient comprendre des messages personnalisés à l’intention des responsables du personnel et de certains segments du personnel. Il est donc important d’établir des groupes de diffusion appropriés.

Les plans de communication doivent trouver le bon équilibre entre les différents formats de message. Il peut s’agir notamment d’assemblées publiques ou de réunions virtuelles, de vidéos, de courriels, etc. Les divers canaux utilisés pour diffuser (et stocker) vos communications sont essentiels pour assurer des retombées durables et importantes. Un canal de communication dédié, à l’échelle de l’organisation, doit être mis en place pour les employés. Il s’agira de leur première source d’information véridique, d’un dépôt qui rassemble toutes les politiques de l’entreprise et d’un autre endroit pour poser des questions.

Il faut aussi établir des pratiques de communication pour joindre les employés qui ne sont pas dans vos bureaux (soit parce qu’ils sont en congé, soit parce qu’ils sont en isolement à la maison) et qui n’ont pas accès aux réseaux de l’entreprise.

Quand

Un plan de communication sert de calendrier, qui permet de coordonner la diffusion des messages. La fréquence d’envoi devrait être déterminée dans le but de fournir un sentiment de réconfort aux employés et aux clients.

Le moment du message doit toujours correspondre aux besoins de votre employé et de votre client, à défaut de quoi votre message peut entraîner des malentendus ou une réaction négative.

Combien

Il faut commencer très tôt à envoyer des communications et le faire d’une manière opportune et constante. Dans un contexte de crise, le concept de « surcommunication » n’existe pas.

Il faut rapidement et durablement établir divers moyens pour que les employés puissent poser des questions et exprimer leurs préoccupations. La communication est l’affaire de chacun et elle est nécessaire pour qu’une organisation continue d’avancer dans la même direction.

Tirer parti des avantages de la communication en cas de crise

La communication est essentielle pour répondre aux questions, aux préoccupations et aux craintes des employés et des clients pendant une crise. Il s’agit du principal moyen de fournir constamment des renseignements exacts, de contester les renseignements erronés et de donner aux employés l’occasion de poser des questions et de se faire entendre en permanence.

Lorsque vos employés ont la certitude que leur entreprise réagit et s’adapte à la crise, et que leur santé et leur sécurité ainsi que celles de leurs collègues sont une priorité absolue, vos communications ont atteint le résultat escompté : l’effectif peut retrouver sa productivité perdue et même améliorer son rendement.

Communiquez avec nous pour savoir comment nous pouvons vous aider

Tom Mawhinney, Associé, Services de consultation de BDO

Jayson Rainone, Vice-président, Services-conseils en ressources humaines, Services de consultation de BDO

Notre site utilise des témoins nous permettant de vous offrir un service plus réactif et personnalisé. En consultant notre site, vous acceptez l'utilisation des témoins. Veuillez lire notre déclaration de confidentialité pour en savoir plus sur les témoins que nous utilisons et sur la façon de les bloquer ou de les supprimer.