• Life Sciences

Breathing life into new markets

More and more, life sciences organizations are exploring the benefits of mergers and acquisitions. Whether they’re looking to grow their portfolio of existing products or want to expand operations to new markets overseas, a well-executed merger or acquisition can be a beneficial strategy for many organizations. But many M&A transactions are complex and multi-faceted, with the potential to create significant uncertainty in financial reporting. To navigate these issues, organizations need advisors with the experience and insight to help face the challenges – and opportunities – that come with M&A arrangements. 

BDO provides guidance to pharmaceutical, biotech, and medical device manufacturers at every stage of development. From understanding the complexities of research and development tax credits and Health Canada and FDA regulations, to licensing agreements and due diligence, our professionals have the experience and insight necessary to navigate the world of life sciences.

Most importantly, BDO advises clients on how best to access capital, which is key to fuelling innovation, research, and development efforts. Our professionals also provide a holistic perspective, helping our clients structure their operations to be as tax-efficient as possible and identifying opportunities to drive additional value.

• Sciences de la vie

Un souffle de vie sur les nouveaux marchés

De plus en plus d’organisations des sciences de la vie découvrent les avantages des fusions et acquisitions. Qu'il s'agisse d'élargir leur portefeuille de produits existants ou d'étendre leurs activités sur les marchés étrangers, une fusion ou acquisition bien rodée peut être une stratégie avantageuse pour bien des organisations. Cela dit, les fusions et acquisitions sont des transactions complexes qui comportant de multiples facettes pouvant engendrer une grande incertitude en matière d’information financière. Une organisation doit donc s’entourer de conseillers ayant l’expérience et la connaissance nécessaires pour surmonter les obstacles et saisir les occasions qui accompagnent les fusions et acquisitions. 

BDO peut orienter les sociétés pharmaceutiques et de biotechnologie ainsi que les fabricants d’appareils médicaux à chaque étape de leur développement. Nos professionnels ont l’expérience et les connaissances nécessaires pour aider les entreprises à s’y retrouver dans le monde complexe des sciences de la vie, notamment en ce qui concerne les crédits en recherche et développement, la réglementation de Santé Canada et de la FDA, les contrats de licence et les vérifications diligentes.

Plus important encore, BDO peut conseiller ses clients sur les meilleurs moyens d’obtenir les fonds indispensables à leurs démarches en innovation, recherche et développement. Grâce à leur point de vue tous azimuts, nos professionnels peuvent aider nos clients à structurer leurs transactions pour qu’elles soient le plus efficaces possible sur le plan fiscal et à repérer les occasions d’ajouter de la valeur.