• Investment / REITs

Investing in a changing landscape

The ability to complete a deal depends on several essential factors: rate considerations, quality of the underlying investment properties, cap rates and overall market conditions. Organizations are facing the need to create yield, as well as the ongoing challenges of raising capital. Competition is becoming increasingly fierce, as organizations now compete not only against other REITs, but also against pension funds, insurance companies and PE firms, and an increasing number of foreign investors.

Within this complicated landscape, there is significant opportunity as investors have the ability to diversify, an attractive feature provided by REITs.  Geographic diversification in similar properties, intensification opportunities with existing properties or development projects have been popular.  Recent investment in mixed-use properties has been occurring in some urban markets which has the potential to yield strong returns. And with private companies continuing to invest in the market, there is confidence that the real estate and construction industry remains a viable option for significant and long-term investment.

At BDO, we help our Investment and REIT clients take advantage of these opportunities and tackle the issues they’re facing, every day. Along with traditional audit and tax services, which include financial reporting and compliance support, we also offer tax planning, valuation and internal control support services – helping our clients in countless way better understand, grow, and protect their assets.

• Placements et FPI

Pour investir dans un monde en pleine mutation

La conclusion d’une transaction dépend de plusieurs facteurs clés : les taux de capitalisation et autres taux, la qualité des immeubles de placement sous-jacents et les conditions générales du marché. Les organisations doivent générer des rendements tout en surmontant les obstacles liés à l’obtention de capitaux. Sur un marché de plus en plus concurrentiel, les organisations doivent non seulement rivaliser avec d’autres FPI, mais également avec des fonds de retraite, des compagnies d’assurance, des sociétés d'investissement en capital et des investisseurs étrangers de plus en plus nombreux.

Malgré la complexité du marché, les investisseurs qui optent pour les FPI disposent d’un atout intéressant : la diversification.  Les approches privilégiées sont la diversification géographique pour des immeubles semblables, la revitalisation dans des immeubles existants ou les projets d’aménagement.  Sur les marchés urbains, on a vu récemment des placements dans des immeubles à usage mixte qui procurent un potentiel de rendement élevé. Comme les sociétés d'investissement en capital continuent d’investir sur le marché, force est de constater que le secteur de l’immobilier et de la construction demeure une option viable pour des placements importants à long terme.

Chez BDO, nous aidons nos clients des secteurs des placements et des FPI à profiter de ces occasions et à régler leurs problèmes courants. En plus de nos services traditionnels en audit et en fiscalité, qui comprennent le soutien en matière de présentation de l’information financière et de conformité, nous offrons à nos clients des services en matière de planification fiscale, d’évaluation et de contrôle interne pour les aider à connaître, à faire croître et à protéger leurs actifs de multiples façons.