• Local & Municipal Governments

Local government consulting that yields greater insights

Whether they are directly or indirectly using public funds, local governments are constantly under pressure to stay accountable, transparent and compliant, while adapting to new economic structures. The combination of increased infrastructure needs and limited funding have made it more difficult for municipalities to address growing demands, which can include everything from balanced budgets and aging infrastructure to technological disruption and demographic changes. In addition, developing ways of attracting and retaining labour, developing tourism and renewable economies are also top of mind.

Our professionals harness their extensive experience to offer valuable insight and essential services to meet these needs. From a municipal government consulting perspective, we help clients with various services ranging from operational analyses, long-term planning and economic development to technology solutions and procurement. Our audit teams provide a range of services to local governments, including annual financial statement audits, sales tax compliance and audit risk management services. We work with our clients to develop comprehensive plans that help municipalities maintain efficiency – and stay transparent.

With more than 100 offices in Canada, BDO is one of the country’s largest advisory and accounting firms. We combine our national resources and specialized industry experience with local knowledge to offer exceptional service to municipalities and local governments across the country.

• Administrations locales

Des services-conseils pour les administrations locales donnant un portrait plus juste de la situation 

Qu’elles utilisent directement ou indirectement les fonds publics, les administrations locales sont tenues de rendre des comptes, de faire preuve de transparence et de veiller à leur conformité tandis qu’elles s’adaptent aux nouvelles structures économiques. Les besoins accrus en matière d’infrastructure et la faible capacité de financement compliquent la mission des municipalités qui doivent faire face à des demandes croissantes, notamment en ce qui a trait aux infrastructures vieillissantes, aux bouleversements technologiques et aux changements démographiques. De plus, trouver de nouvelles manières d’attirer et de fidéliser la main-d’œuvre, de développer le tourisme et de renouveler l’économie demeurent des préoccupations centrales.

Pour répondre à ces besoins, nos professionnels mobilisent leur vaste expérience en leur offrant de précieux conseils et des services essentiels. Sur le plan des services-conseils auprès des administrations municipales, nous offrons des services variés comme l’analyse opérationnelle, la planification à long terme, le développement économique, les solutions technologiques et l’approvisionnement. Nos équipes d’audit offrent une gamme complète de services aux administrations locales, notamment l’audit des états financiers annuels, l’observation liée aux taxes de vente et la gestion de risque pour l’audit. Nous travaillons avec nos clients pour élaborer des plans détaillés qui permettent aux municipalités de maintenir leur efficacité et de continuer de faire preuve de transparence.

Avec 100 bureaux répartis à travers le Canada, BDO est l’un des plus grands cabinets de services en consultation et en fiscalité au pays. Nous combinons nos ressources nationales et notre expérience sectorielle à notre connaissance du marché local pour offrir un service exceptionnel aux municipalités et aux administrations locales à l’échelle du pays.