• Pensions & Benefit Plans

Trusted advice in an evolving industry

The regulations and issues surrounding pension and other employee benefit plans, such as health and welfare trusts, can be complex. With evolving financial reporting, regulatory, and tax filing requirements — including GST/HST – it’s essential to stay up-to-date. At BDO, we apply our experience with accounting, tax and regulatory requirements to offer valuable advice and guidance on financial reporting, tax compliance, internal control best practices and governance issues.

Maintaining a deep understanding of this sector, the BDO team recognizes the complex issues that pension and other benefit plans face today, especially those related to:

  • CPA Canada standards
  • Changing regulatory reporting requirements
  • Adhering to income and other tax rules applicable to the respective plan type
  • Establishing effective processes and controls
  • Implementing effective plan governance
  • Addressing plan restructuring

Our professionals have experience with a wide range of plan sizes, in various sectors. In the multi-employer sector, BDO provides services to plans affiliated with the largest private sector Unions, in industries ranging from construction to the service industry. In the single-employer sector, we provide services to plans for some of the country’s largest manufacturers, retailers, construction companies, and service providers.

BDO is also actively involved with key regulatory bodies and industry organizations relating to the pension and employee benefit plan sectors. We’ve authored multiple articles in leading industry publications, focusing on accounting and taxation issues facing pension and other employee benefit plans. Our professionals are also sought after speakers at key industry educational conferences.

• Régimes de retraite et d’avantages

Des conseils fiables pour un secteur en pleine mutation

La réglementation et les questions touchant aux régimes de retraite et autres régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (par exemple les fiducies de santé et de mieux-être) sont parfois complexes. Il est donc indispensable de suivre l’évolution des exigences relatives à l’information financière, à la réglementation et aux déclarations fiscales (TPS/TVH). Chez BDO, nous mettons à profit notre expérience au chapitre des exigences comptables, fiscales et réglementaires pour vous offrir de précieux conseils sur l’information financière, la conformité fiscale et les pratiques exemplaires et questions de gouvernance sur les contrôles internes.

Forte d’une excellente connaissance du secteur, l’équipe BDO est consciente des questions complexes qui touchent les régimes de retraite et d’avantages complémentaires aujourd’hui, notamment les suivantes :

  • Normes de CPA Canada
  • Évolution des exigences réglementaires de déclaration
  • Réglementation fiscale (revenu et autres) applicable à chaque type de régime
  • Mise en place de processus et de contrôles efficaces
  • Mise en place d’une gouvernance efficace
  • Restructuration de régimes

Nos professionnels cumulent de l’expérience auprès d’une vaste gamme de régimes dans différents secteurs. Au chapitre des régimes à employeurs multiples, BDO compte parmi ses clients les régimes affiliés aux grands syndicats du secteur privé dans différents secteurs, de la construction jusqu’aux services. Du côté des régimes à employeur unique, le cabinet sert les plus importantes sociétés au pays dans les secteurs de la fabrication, du commerce de détail, de la construction et des services.

De plus, BDO participe activement aux travaux des principaux organismes de réglementation et sectoriels sur les régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux. Le cabinet a d’ailleurs écrit plusieurs articles dans d’importantes publications sectorielles portant sur les questions comptables et fiscales touchant les régimes de retraite et d’avantages sociaux. Nos professionnels sont des conférenciers privés dans les grands événements de formation au sein du secteur.